We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #23 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We arrived a day early for a Danube River cruise, and stayed at the Sofitel. We found the hotel to be very comfortable, extremely well-located, well-appointed, and offered an excellent breakfast (included in room price). The staff was friendly and helpful.

I think it would be hard to find a better value in Budapest, and would happily stay here again if our travels bring us back to this beautiful city.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us a feedback about your previous stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We are proud to have been chosen as a first station of your river cruise. Reading through your review we are delighted to know that you have had a great time and we are glad that service did not disappoint you.

We wish you a pleasant cruise further on and would love to welcome you back to Budapest any time in the future.


Sincerely yours,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,617
    1,326
    277
    71
    46
See reviews for
784
2,672
251
728
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,153)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed for a romantic long weekend to celebrate my wife’s 40th birthday. Thank you to all the hotel staff for making our stay amazing from start to finish, especially Sztella for making us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. The room provided had breathtaking views of the chain bridge and Budapest. Staff were very attentive, professional and friendly. We absolutely loved every moment of our stay and although the weekend had to come to an end, we will cherish the memories forever, the romantic view from our hotel room, the plane suspended in the atrium, the champagne, the meal, the birthday cake, the breakfast and the comfy bed. Thank you to all at Sofitel for making our stay in Budapest so special.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

It was to my utmost pleasure to read your elaborate and kindly written review. We are all glad to hear about the wonderful weekend you have had with us. What is more, I am sure it will make Sztella's day when she hears that her work was more than appreciated.

I hope you had a smooth and safe trip back home, and I wish your wife and you many more amazing birthdays on the behalf of the entire Sofitel team.


Sincerely yours,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Spent an extra night after a two week river cruise. Beautiful views of the Danube River lit up at night. Nice daytime view also. Service was the best. Even sent me an email before arriving to ask me what time of day I would be arriving so they could try to prepare our room for us. Room was ready at 9:00 AM. Location was next to the docks where the River Cruises tied up. No taxi required.

Room Tip: Request one with Danube River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 202202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. It is always a pleasure to read such a positive feedback. Regarding your arrival in the early hours we are delighted that we were able to prepare your room on time. We always strive to make the arrival for our guest as smooth as possible therefore we would kindly thank you for your appreciation. It will be a nice encouragement for our colleagues to continue to provide an excellent service with renewed energy and effort.

We hope you had a pleasant journey home and have a nice day.

Sincerely yours,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed: May 28 to June 1, 2014
My wife and I spent 3 days in Budapest at the Sofitel leading up to a Danube river cruise. We booked the 3 day pre-cruise ourselves, as opposed to booking through the cruise line. We got an awesome deal by booking through their website (go to the very bottom of the room booking page) that gave us a 4 room suite (huge!) with a 7th floor view of the Danube and access to the Executive Lounge on top floor (8th).

The hotel was fantastic – very high end in the heart of downtown Budapest. The staff were nice and helpful. The room was made up perfectly each day, and there was turn down service. The pool/spa area was really beautiful. Only 3 things were of any concern, but certainly not enough to make us wish we had gone elsewhere.
The breakfast buffet, although vast, is European style. Meat and cheese mostly, and the hot items most often were not hot - which was especially annoying when you are looking for a hot coffee for breakfast. Again, not a deal breaker, but worth mentioning.

It was often that the free WIFI would not connect. Everyone around us complained of the same thing. You would try and try to connect, but keep getting errors. This lasted for the entire visit. The staff were unable to do anything about it. I suspect their network does not have the capacity required to feed the demand. Very frustrating.

Then there was the Executive Lounge. Now THAT was disappointing. (Keep in mind, this is an extra attached to the room, so if you don’t actually go there it won’t be disappointing to you). There was rarely enough room for the number of people that had access. The ladies running it could not (or were not capable) keep up with keeping things moving. Vacated tables were left uncleared for long periods of time. There was wine and beer – but the white wine was served warm and you had to ask for beer instead of it being available in the fridge. Not necessarily a big deal except, as I mentioned, the staff could not keep up so you waited forever to get their attention of be served. Further, given that a significant number of the guests were English speaking tourists, it would have made sense to have staff with strong(er) English skills – nope. This went on for the entire stay, so I suspect it is not a one-off.
Some of these things may seem like little issues – but I am a strong believer that if you are going to offer a high end service, and charge accordingly, the service should be provided as promised.

Overall, the hotel was beautiful and the location was awesome. I would certainly have no problem recommending it – just note the items of concern I mentioned

Room Tip: The Danube side for the view and as high up as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.
It was our great pleasure to welcome you in our hotel and we are more than glad that your spacious room with the spectacular view has absolutely amazed you.
It is a pleasure to us to read that you were satisfied with the cleaning you received every day of your vacation, your kind review is a big encouragement for the House Keeping Ambassadors to provide the excellent work with renewed energy.
On the other hand we would like to apologize about the inconveniences you experienced during your holiday. Please be assured that we will discuss your occurent problems with the Management to avoid these problems in the future.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay in our beautiful capital and parted with great memories. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel in Budapest, located on the newest side of the city and right on the Danube so a fantastic view from my room! Great location with easy access to both sides of the city.

The rooms were of a good standard and my bed was absolutely amazing, always had a good nights' sleep across the 5 nights stayed

The food everywhere was really lovely and had no complaints

The service here is excellent and the staff cannot do enough to help!!!

An excellent overall experience and I would definitely recommend!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotterCDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback about Sofitel Budapest Chain Brdige. It is always a delight for us to read that one of our guest had a marvellous time in our hotel. We are pleased to know that you liked your room and were able to sleep undisturbed, thanks to our special MyBed system, after a long day full of exploration and new experiences.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

I visited Sofitel Budapest as a part of a corporate conference. I was highly taken up with the interior of the hotel. The Bell Vue room had a really nice view of the river and castle. The staff were very corporative, pleasant and well conversed. The hotel is very much centrally located and getting there was very easy on public transport. It is however a challenge to find parking space unless agreed with the hotel prior.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Randezvous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you your kind words and precise review. It is our great pleasure to hear that you had an overall enjoyable stay and that the quality of service lived up to your expectations. We have also taken note of your valuable notice regarding our parking opportunities, and will endeavour to improve every aspect of our institution to the utmost.

We wish you a lot of further success and smooth journey.

Sincerely yours,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great hotel, luxury atmosphere. Rooms are very comfortable, even though decoration is a bit old-fashioned. Fantastic view over the river, Chain Bridget and Castle (ask for a room with a view). Spa facilities are 1st class (swimming pool is great, sauna facilities and spa treatments are great as well). Breakfast buffet is terrific, the best I know in central & eastern Europe.
Price is affordable for that level of comfort and service.

Room Tip: If you can afford the difference, the view over the bridge and castle at night is fantastic. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean_Mi_le_Caribou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We are always grateful to receive such an eloquent and exhaustive feedback. However, nothing can possibly be of greater pleasure than hearing that our guests had a peaceful and enjoyable stay. We are in particular happy to know your high opinion on our spa facilities and prices. I would like to thank you for choosing us on the behalf of the entire Sofitel team.

We hope to be able to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Sincerely yours,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,352 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 334 in Budapest
2,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#17 of 334 in Budapest
320 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#18 of 334 in Budapest
4,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Property: Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#20 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Jet2Holidays , Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing