We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #23 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Felt a little jaded after constant travel for about 6 weeks, so were really looking forward to relaxing for a few days before long trip home. Found just what we needed at Sofitel Chain Bridge. Mid morning check-in was really appreciated, room on 3rd level looking accross to Castle and Bridge, great views, clean functional room, good sized bathroom, table and two chairs. (Perhaps lacked really comfortable lounge chairs, would be only criticism). Large windows enhanced views, but window furnishings kept out light and noise out when required. Staff were courteous and helpful, and concierge excellent. Facilities at hotel of very high standard......pool, gym, bar wi-fi, food all excellent. Would have no hesitation recommending this hotel. Located walking distance to city centre and sights. Provided wake up call as requested on final morning, check out process very easy.

Room Tip: Request rooom with a river view, on non-smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind comment of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.
We were more than glad that you have had such a nice stay in our lovely hotel, thank you for your kind words.
We are happy to read that your beutiful room and the stunning view has exceeded your expectations and I hope that everything was arranged for your highest convenience.
Thank you for your kind words about our attentive Concierge staff and about our hardworking Receptionist Ambassadors, it is a nice encouragement for them to continue to provide a magnifique and smoothful service.

We hope you had a pleasant journey home and have a nice day.

Sincerely yours,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,068 - 2,074 of 5,562 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife & stayed for three nights May 11-13 at the end of a 2-week river cruise. We had had an excellent experience with the Sofitel Grand in Amsterdam at the start of the cruise & were wondering if Budapest could live up to the high standards we had experienced.

Well, the Sofitel Chain Bridge exceeded our expectations! We were upgraded to a top[8th]-floor corner suite with four windows & a stunning river view. PERFECT! Included were access to the lovely Executive Lounge on the same floor & an excellent buffet breakfast each morning. The Executive Lounge had its own light breakfast & supper with wine, champagne, & beer in the evenings, plus its own river view; we lingered several times while admiring the Danube & the city.

Our room had a wonderful, comfortable bed, good climate control, & attractive furnishings. If I were going to quibble, I'd say that (1) for as much space as our suite had, it had surprisingly little storage space in the closet & chests, & (2) the nicely done bathroom was sorely lacking for counter space.

The staff was uniformly courteous, helpful, & efficient. In particular, the Concierges provided us with excellent assistance on several occasions & the personnel in the Executive Lounge were always more than pleasant & responsive.

The hotel's location on the Danube is also ideal for sightseeing in both the Buda & Pest parts of the city, with lovely views at night when the major landmarks of the city are beautifully illuminated!

We had an outstanding, memorable hotel stay at a much more attractive price than we have ever paid anywhere for a luxury hotel of this caliber - much less than the virtually next-door Four Seasons Gresham Palace (with smaller rooms).

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: Request a riverfront room as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RalphSchmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review about our hotel, it was our great pleasure to welcome you in the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.
We are absolutely delighted to hear that our beautiful Executive Lounge with its wide offer of sncaks and drinks has exceeded your expectations and that you find the Staff ettentive and helpful as well as at the Concierge and in the Club.
We are more than glad that you were satisfied with your room and our professional MyBed bedding has made your nights even more special and restful.
We are happy that our outstanding location has made your holiday more comfortable and we hope that our beautiful capital was really enjoablye for you.

We hope that we can welcome you back soon in the future and thank you again for your kind review about our magnifique hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Our stay at the Sofitel Chain Bridge Hotel in Budapest was superb. The staff are efficient - though a little formal and reserved - but efficiency beats chumminess!! The facilities are faultless and the view over the Danube is superb. At night you are spoilt for views - the best view of the palace lights on the other side of the river is a must see. Watch the lights go off at the palace at 2am if you can stay awake. Be sure to book a room facing the river.

Wifi was free - a great bonus.

The breakfast was a French triumph and very much enjoyed.

Room Tip: Book a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwijd102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. All we strive is your comfort and well-being therefore we are delighted to read that the attitude of our colleagues and the service provided by them was nothing but professional and attentive. It is a pleasure to know that you you were fascinated by the stunning view of the illuminated castle a night.

We hope to welcome you back to Budapest in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in May in a standard room on club level. 5 star no way, queen bed, small room, no power socket for hair straightner or anything else in the bathroom out dated furniture. I noticed a for sale sign on the building so I suppose no money will be spent on this Hotel now.
On the upside the club lounge was fantastic I have never seen so much food and choice in a club lounge before and free drinks to. The Hotel breakfast was also the best I have ever seen. The staff were helpful. There is a Casino next door attached to the Hotel but was surprised that you have to pay to enter. Hotels in a great position everything handy, we would stay again if the price was right but it needs to be graded 4.5 star no more.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kerriejh50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Everything was fantastic! When I booked the hotel I filled out if I had any special requests. I asked if we could have a room with a view on a high floor. The hotel gave us a room on the 7th floor, with a great view over the Chain Bridge. The staff was really helpful if we needed anything, and the location is P-E-R-F-E-C-T!!! We did not eat at the hotel, neither dinner or breakfast. The breakfast is quite expensive, 27€ pr person. I would stay at the same hotel if I ever went back to Budapest, and I will recommend this for couples, friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It is always a pleasure to read such a positive and detailed feedback. We kindly thank you for your kind words regarding the service that our colleagues provided for you during your stay. We are delighted to know that you could not have been able to choose a more perfect location for your journey than our hotel.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future..

Sincerely yours,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We decided to stay an extra night in Budapest after our Danube River Cruise. We booked the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge in a Luxury Room with view of the Danube River and Royal Castle hill. We could have been more happy of our choice! The view was incredible, breathtaking!

It's very well located, the hotel was 2 minutes from the dock where our ships was. It is located very close to the Vörösmarty Square, which was perfect as we traveled in December and the Christmas market was held at this square. It is also close to the Andrássy út (Street) which has a nice ambiance with lots of nice stores.

The room was very spacious and well appointed (Keurig coffee machine, Bose Radio, 40 inch led TV). The bed was very comfy and the bathroom was large and clean (Funny thing; but by pressing a button some classic music would play automatically in the bathroom ...) The lobby is also very beautiful, it is an open air concept.

Like I said, the view of the Danube River at night was stunning, it worth every extra penny we've paid for the upgrade.

I recommend this hotel and I will go back next time.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Luxury Room with view of the Danube River and Royal Castle hill, the view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Guest,

It was our pleasure to read through your precise and positive review of your previous stay at Budapest. We are absolutely delighted to know that the equipment of the room was to your liking and you were mesmerized by the stunning view at night. We are glad to hear that you did not regret the extension of your cruise and took this opportunity to discover our stunning capital.

We hope to welcome you back to Budapest in the future.

We hope you had a pleasant journey home and have a nice day.

Sincerely yours,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed at the Sofitel the second week of June. I would not recommend paying extra for the club level. It offers snacks and wine/champagne. The hotel staff is very strict about removing any items from this small warm room. For instance if you returned from a day of sightseeing and wanted a soda, you were not allowed to take a bottle of soda or water to your room. This became an aggravation rather than an benefit. Also the upper level hallways were hot in the hotel. Would recommend staying 5th. floor or lower.

Otherwise we found the hotel to be in a great location. Our room overlooking the river was very comfortable and had a beautiful view. The breakfast is exceptional and the wait staff in the breakfast area were very attentive.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Budapest chain Bridge and for sharing your review about your stay.

We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not entirely pleasant. All we strive is your comfort and we always on to provide the highest level of service possible therefore we are following our standards closely. I am sure that it was not my colleagues intention to cause you any discomfort and therefore I would like to apologize for it.

Apart from the inconveniences you have experienced we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and we hope that everything will be prepared for your highest convenience.

Until then we wish all the best!

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 334 in Budapest
3,482 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#30 of 334 in Budapest
3,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#15 of 334 in Budapest
7,387 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#16 of 334 in Budapest
4,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#20 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £113 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travelbag, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing