We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Great Location Great Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #26 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed for three nights for a short solo break. This hotel is fantastically positioned if you wish to be near the river and most of the sites that must be seen when in Budapest. I found the hotel clearly in very good conditions and very well run. My room had a great view over the Chain bridge and it was spacious and very well maintained. The staff were very courteous and helpful throughout my stay. The icing on the cake for me, however, was the Restaurant. I dined every night for the length of my stay. The food was delicious and well thought. The service was excellent, the restaurant manager always made a point to come and have a chat with me, and he was a really pleasant chap. In terms of prices it is not cheaper than you would pay in a good London hotel but well worth it . Thank you Sofitel...and see you again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view over the River are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penelope1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to provide us a feedback about your stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We are delighted to read that you were able to enjoy the Sofitel experience because of our well trained Chef and his amazing dishes. There is no greater pleasure for us than the acknowledge of our service and skills Please allow me to transfer your kind words to our restaurant team. It will be a great encouragement for them to continue with providing an excellent service to each of our guest.

Thank you once again taking your time to provide us such a positive review and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,776)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,202 - 2,208 of 5,776 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

I was very impressed by this Sofitel! Tasteful decor, amazing art, proffessional and very efficient staff, clean rooms and spacious bathrooms!
The location was perfect, and the views lovely. We walked over the bridge to the castle and around, and had our first orange mocha at Starbucks and have been addicted since! This must've been the Starbuck's with the best view ever, above the clouds, in open air and overlooking the castle hill!
Definitly recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azeebazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us a review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and for the kind words you used to describe our colleagues and our hotel. We are absolutely pleased to know that the service of our colleagues and the stunning view has succeeded your expectations.

We wish you a safe journey home and hope to see you back at Sofitel Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The Sofitel in Budapest is wonderfully located. Just at the end of the chain bridge. we could see the Danube and major buildings from our room. The room itself was very comfortable with great sleep quality. A seperate shower and bath in the bathroom was really appreciated. The breakfast buffet was extensive and there was more than enough seating. Freshly squeezed orange juice was delicious.

This is a great hotel and a wonderful option for seeing the sights of this lovely city. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debubhatnagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to provide us such a positive review about our hotel.
We are amazed to hear, that everything was arranged for your highest convenience and your beautiful room has succeeded your expectations.
We are more than happy that you were satisfied with the wide selection and good quality of breakfast which we served to you during your stay.
We hope that your holiday in our beautiful country and in our unique capital was memorable for you and we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Felt a little jaded after constant travel for about 6 weeks, so were really looking forward to relaxing for a few days before long trip home. Found just what we needed at Sofitel Chain Bridge. Mid morning check-in was really appreciated, room on 3rd level looking accross to Castle and Bridge, great views, clean functional room, good sized bathroom, table and two chairs. (Perhaps lacked really comfortable lounge chairs, would be only criticism). Large windows enhanced views, but window furnishings kept out light and noise out when required. Staff were courteous and helpful, and concierge excellent. Facilities at hotel of very high standard......pool, gym, bar wi-fi, food all excellent. Would have no hesitation recommending this hotel. Located walking distance to city centre and sights. Provided wake up call as requested on final morning, check out process very easy.

Room Tip: Request rooom with a river view, on non-smoking floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind comment of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.
We were more than glad that you have had such a nice stay in our lovely hotel, thank you for your kind words.
We are happy to read that your beutiful room and the stunning view has exceeded your expectations and I hope that everything was arranged for your highest convenience.
Thank you for your kind words about our attentive Concierge staff and about our hardworking Receptionist Ambassadors, it is a nice encouragement for them to continue to provide a magnifique and smoothful service.

We hope you had a pleasant journey home and have a nice day.

Sincerely yours,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife & stayed for three nights May 11-13 at the end of a 2-week river cruise. We had had an excellent experience with the Sofitel Grand in Amsterdam at the start of the cruise & were wondering if Budapest could live up to the high standards we had experienced.

Well, the Sofitel Chain Bridge exceeded our expectations! We were upgraded to a top[8th]-floor corner suite with four windows & a stunning river view. PERFECT! Included were access to the lovely Executive Lounge on the same floor & an excellent buffet breakfast each morning. The Executive Lounge had its own light breakfast & supper with wine, champagne, & beer in the evenings, plus its own river view; we lingered several times while admiring the Danube & the city.

Our room had a wonderful, comfortable bed, good climate control, & attractive furnishings. If I were going to quibble, I'd say that (1) for as much space as our suite had, it had surprisingly little storage space in the closet & chests, & (2) the nicely done bathroom was sorely lacking for counter space.

The staff was uniformly courteous, helpful, & efficient. In particular, the Concierges provided us with excellent assistance on several occasions & the personnel in the Executive Lounge were always more than pleasant & responsive.

The hotel's location on the Danube is also ideal for sightseeing in both the Buda & Pest parts of the city, with lovely views at night when the major landmarks of the city are beautifully illuminated!

We had an outstanding, memorable hotel stay at a much more attractive price than we have ever paid anywhere for a luxury hotel of this caliber - much less than the virtually next-door Four Seasons Gresham Palace (with smaller rooms).

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: Request a riverfront room as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RalphSchmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review about our hotel, it was our great pleasure to welcome you in the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.
We are absolutely delighted to hear that our beautiful Executive Lounge with its wide offer of sncaks and drinks has exceeded your expectations and that you find the Staff ettentive and helpful as well as at the Concierge and in the Club.
We are more than glad that you were satisfied with your room and our professional MyBed bedding has made your nights even more special and restful.
We are happy that our outstanding location has made your holiday more comfortable and we hope that our beautiful capital was really enjoablye for you.

We hope that we can welcome you back soon in the future and thank you again for your kind review about our magnifique hotel.

Sincerely yours,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Our stay at the Sofitel Chain Bridge Hotel in Budapest was superb. The staff are efficient - though a little formal and reserved - but efficiency beats chumminess!! The facilities are faultless and the view over the Danube is superb. At night you are spoilt for views - the best view of the palace lights on the other side of the river is a must see. Watch the lights go off at the palace at 2am if you can stay awake. Be sure to book a room facing the river.

Wifi was free - a great bonus.

The breakfast was a French triumph and very much enjoyed.

Room Tip: Book a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwijd102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. All we strive is your comfort and well-being therefore we are delighted to read that the attitude of our colleagues and the service provided by them was nothing but professional and attentive. It is a pleasure to know that you you were fascinated by the stunning view of the illuminated castle a night.

We hope to welcome you back to Budapest in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in May in a standard room on club level. 5 star no way, queen bed, small room, no power socket for hair straightner or anything else in the bathroom out dated furniture. I noticed a for sale sign on the building so I suppose no money will be spent on this Hotel now.
On the upside the club lounge was fantastic I have never seen so much food and choice in a club lounge before and free drinks to. The Hotel breakfast was also the best I have ever seen. The staff were helpful. There is a Casino next door attached to the Hotel but was surprised that you have to pay to enter. Hotels in a great position everything handy, we would stay again if the price was right but it needs to be graded 4.5 star no more.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kerriejh50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#29 of 336 in Budapest
3,571 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 336 in Budapest
3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#19 of 336 in Budapest
7,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#22 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £101 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing