We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #24 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Haywards Heath
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Had a short break here. Hotel is stunning. Very modern but yet still warm and welcoming. Great bar food and drinks menu in chic informal bar. Breakfast is incredible if a little expensive. Very we'll positioned in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Econolodgesurvivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the prositive feedback you provided us with. It was our pleasure to hear that you have been satisfied with the quality of food we served to you at the Paris Budapest Bar and at the breakfast as well. We were delighted to read that you have been satisfied with the location of the hotel and that you have had a great time during your short break in Budapest.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,565
    1,317
    273
    71
    46
See reviews for
773
2,639
249
719
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,138)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel in May and was really surprised.
This hotel is really great - clean, beautiful, with great staff and so on. But the biggest advantage is the magnificent view onto Danube from the room. Especially at night. This view is the must!
For the rest - very good food, extremely polite personnel, excellent location.

Room Tip: Take river view room. It is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the positive feedback you provided us with. We were extremely happy to read that you have been satisfied with the cleanliness of the hotel and with the magnificent view as well. Furthermore we were delighted to read that above the location of the hotel, the politeness of the staff has also met your expectations.

Thank you very much staying with us and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

just next to the chain bridge,the views from the rooms are just fantastic.
ensure you get danube facing rooms-the corner suites are spectacular.
the interiors are dated and need renovation but the views make up for it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank altravelindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much about your feedback of your stay in our hotel. It is a pleasure for us that you liked the fantastic location and the stunning view you have seen from the windows. We do hope you gained magnifique memories from Budapest and that you are satisfied with the services provided by the Sofitel Team.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back again!

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Well positioned right at the Syecheni (Chain) Bridge in the centre of Budapest. The rooms are roomy and well designed, a lovely open plan lobby / piano bar area. The staff, contrary to some reviews have been nothing but helpful and polite on my various stays. Breakfast is very good and well worth the extra time to set yourself up for the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much taking the time to post your comments about your last stay in the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We were delighted to hear that you were satisfied with the location of the hotel, with the breakfast we serve to our guests and with the equipment of the rooms as well. It is nice to hear that the helpfulness and politeness of the staff has exceeded your expectations during your stays in out hotel as they work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel recently and found that both the reception staff we dealt with and the concierge were the most unfriendly and unwelcoming people that we have had the misfortune of dealing with. It spoilt the end of one of the most fabulous holidays we have had. We had just finished the APT cruise from Amsterdam to Budapest and we were looking forward to staying in this hotel for three nights to break our trip back home. Wish we had of continued on to Singapore and stayed the time there. So disappointed as Sofitel in Australia are fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Christine835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed for three nights for a short solo break. This hotel is fantastically positioned if you wish to be near the river and most of the sites that must be seen when in Budapest. I found the hotel clearly in very good conditions and very well run. My room had a great view over the Chain bridge and it was spacious and very well maintained. The staff were very courteous and helpful throughout my stay. The icing on the cake for me, however, was the Restaurant. I dined every night for the length of my stay. The food was delicious and well thought. The service was excellent, the restaurant manager always made a point to come and have a chat with me, and he was a really pleasant chap. In terms of prices it is not cheaper than you would pay in a good London hotel but well worth it . Thank you Sofitel...and see you again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view over the River are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penelope1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to provide us a feedback about your stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We are delighted to read that you were able to enjoy the Sofitel experience because of our well trained Chef and his amazing dishes. There is no greater pleasure for us than the acknowledge of our service and skills Please allow me to transfer your kind words to our restaurant team. It will be a great encouragement for them to continue with providing an excellent service to each of our guest.

Thank you once again taking your time to provide us such a positive review and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I was very impressed by this Sofitel! Tasteful decor, amazing art, proffessional and very efficient staff, clean rooms and spacious bathrooms!
The location was perfect, and the views lovely. We walked over the bridge to the castle and around, and had our first orange mocha at Starbucks and have been addicted since! This must've been the Starbuck's with the best view ever, above the clouds, in open air and overlooking the castle hill!
Definitly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azeebazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us a review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and for the kind words you used to describe our colleagues and our hotel. We are absolutely pleased to know that the service of our colleagues and the stunning view has succeeded your expectations.

We wish you a safe journey home and hope to see you back at Sofitel Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#26 of 333 in Budapest
3,301 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 333 in Budapest
2,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 333 in Budapest
1,243 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#11 of 333 in Budapest
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Property: Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#21 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Nozio Netplan srl, Travelbag, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing