We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect !!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #27 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Kusadasi, Turkey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfect !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I have been this hotel last year and I thınk Paris Budapest Restaurant has very nice conditions , Timea is a Manager of Restaurant I admire her , She was doing very well her job, Sofitel has a very quality customer services,
French and Hungarian hospitality is together ;)

I am happy to been there,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ilknurakbulut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much that you took time to share your experiences and we hear gladly that you were satisfied with the services and conditions. It is always a great pleasure for us if our guests are content with the staff's work, we do hope that you gained magnifique memories here!

We are waiting you back in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,417
    1,273
    262
    68
    45
See reviews for
725
2,547
238
693
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,097)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, North Carolina
Level Contributor
303 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Very comfortable rooms, excellent restaurant, helpful staff and great location. You could not ask for more! The breakfast was a wide variety of foods, all very fresh and delicious. One evening we ate a light supper at the bar and the next night we ate in the dining room. The chef prepared fantastic meals and we took our time enjoying them. The location of the hotel is right at the Chain Bridge about a block away so the views are beautiful both day and night. It is a quick walk to Saint Stephen's Basilica. The staff was helpful in booking time for us at the Gellert Spa. If staying in Pest, I recommend the Sofitel Chain Bridge Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is an older hotel however it's public areas have been freshened up. The rooms look a little tired. This is an excellent position from which to explore Budapest and very central. The hotel is very busy particularly with people on pre and post European river cruises that leave from Budapest. Our room was small and tired however had an amazing view of the Danube. The Paris-Budapest restaurant on the ground floor is excellent along with the outside bar which is a great spot to unwind and enjoy the amazing views of such a beautiful city. We frequented this restaurant a number of times and the food was good while service was inconsistent. It was good most of the time however on the last day they got our order wrong which meant that my partner ate on their own and I left for the airport hungry as the staff couldn't seem to work through to resolve it and we couldn't wait with an airport transfer scheduled. This over-shadowed what was otherwise a very good stay at the Sofitel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NFitzdelfini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great hotel in an amazing location. The views from this hotel were stunning. We were upgraded to a suite and had a view from the room straight out onto the Chain Bridge and across the river to the Citadell. The hotel staff were excellent and the open plan restaurant in the centre of the hotel was very different. Great buffet breakfast spread. The hotel is well situated for visiting the city sights and is perfect for getting to the Citadell as its just across the Chain Bridge. Top hotel

Room Tip: If you get a chance to have a suite then its well worth it. Biggest most comfortable bed we ever sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the positive feedback you provided us with. We were very glad to hear that you were so very much pleased with all the services of our hotel and with the level of hospitality. We sincerely hope to see you back at Sofitel Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Sofitel Chain Bridge from the 7th July - 11th July. We booked a superior room with breakfast, and although we didn't have a view of the danube, we were still on one the highest floors with a view over rooftops of Pest - still extremely pretty.

When we booked the holiday, I emailed the hotel to ask for a high floor room and I mentioned that the reason for your stay was to celebrate our anniversary.
When we arrived at the hotel, we were checked in and showed to our room pretty quickly. Once there we found that we had been left some complimentary champagne as a gift for our stay!

Our room was a good size, and spotless. We have complimentary slippers, robes, tea coffee and water. The bed was big and comfy, complete with a pillow menu.

The breakfast was fantastic, especially the french pressed coffee- complete with cafetiere. The choice of food available was fantastic.

The location of the hotel was second to none! Our lack of danube view didn't matter, the moment we stepped outside the lobby we were taken aback by the site. Absolutely breath taking
taking.

I would avoid eating / drinking in the Vaci Utca- definitely over priced! The area around St Stephens basilica and Pest's Broadway were the by far the best for food and drink..

The only thing that I found disappointing about the hotel was the lack of plugs near a mirror making drying hair a nightmare. I asked for a mirror from reception and ad apologetic as they were, the hotel weren't able to help.

Overall, I would definitely recommend the Sofitel Chain Bridge!! Perfect location for exploring and fantastic rooms for sleeping.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyMay997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. Thank you also for your feedback about the plugs in the room, we are very sorry that we could not meet your expectation in this regard. Please rest assured that we have shared your comment within the management team, and we will definitely put this point on file for our next renovation/reconstruction works.

Once again we thank you very much and we do hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at the Sofitel Chain Bridge in July 2014. The location of this hotel is great - centrally located between the Buda and Pest side and allows for easy access to all the key attractions across Budapest. The service was AMAZING! They had free appetizers and drinks available throughout the day at the executive lounge, Stella and Alexandra at the Lounge we're really helpful with their advice on what to experience in the city. We we're traveling with a 3 year old and they asked her what was a favorite color. "Purple" she replied. Well the next day in our room, we had purple macaroons shaped like a caterpillar with her name written on them! My toddler was so excited! Oh, and did I mention the view of the monuments lit up during the night from the room was incredible! I'd give this hotel 10 stars if I could! A must stay in if you're visiting Budapest!

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the chain bridge on a higher floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mal007_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and the view, as well as our service provided. Thank you for naming two of our colleagues, we will gladly share this feedback with them as well. Apart from that we are especially proud that with this small attention of the Macaron amenity for your child we were able to create a memorable experience for you. These are the wonderful moments we are aiming at when preparing such a surprise. Thank you very much for letting us know your feedback.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is what i call a view,when we got to the hotel things was looking good,we check in amazing people,at are service straight away,are bags carried in ..no problems ,we was shown to are room..the room was so nice..it was spotless everything we needed..The restaurants and shops and a market are all so close depending on what your looking for..the people are nice..and the view...just amazing ..To be honest the place is 10 out of 10..We loved it

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, and that we exceeded your expectations in many aspects. We work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special, and we are happy that you returned home with nice memories from Buadpest.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#22 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,176 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Property: Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#24 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing