We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #22 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Top Class Hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a fantastic 4 night stay at the Sofitel in July . Its in the best location next to the Chain Bridge so you are right next to the Danube with views over to the Castle on the other side of the river . There are plenty bars and restaurants all within a short walk , and the main pedestrian shopping streets are also nearby .
Check in at reception was quick and friendly , and all the staff throughout the hotel provided a high level of service at all times.
Our room was spacious and comfortable , and we slept peacefully every night . The WiFi was free and worked quite well , and there was some English news channels on the TV. Complimentary bottled water was provided daily .
The breakfast was buffet style , but the selection was enormous and of a very high quality . Breakfast was a highlight every day .
There is a nice terrace bar at ground level , but the prices were ridiculously expensive . So we preferred to use a bar closer to the river at nights for a nightcap where we could also watch the boats on the Danube and the castle all lit up . Very picturesque .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us such a positive and detailed review of your stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.
It was our utmost pleasure to read through your feedback. For us there is no higher importance than the comfort of our guests therefore reading your kind words and acknowledgement means a lot to us. We are delighted that you could not find anything amiss with the hotel equipment and neither with the service provided by our attentive colleagues.

We hope to welcome you back to Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,620
    1,327
    277
    72
    46
See reviews for
784
2,676
251
729
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My family and I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. The location is fantastic but the rooms need to be updated with new beds and furniture. Our "non-smoking" room reeked of cigarette smoke. The staff was very courteous.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge for your stay at Budapest.
We are pleased to know that overall you have a pleasant vacation but we ware concerned about your mention of the smoke odor.
Your feedback holds a great importance to us therefore I would like to thank you for sharing it with our colleagues.
Please rest assured that we will look into the mentioned problem and we will consider the necessary steps we should take in this case.

We hope that you give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Budapest one day.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, ON
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Amazing location overlooking the Chain Bridge. An excellent place to stay first time in Budapest. Stayed before an AMAWaterway Cruise of the Danube. Breakfast was amazing. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiAiudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of your stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain bridge. We are honored and pleased that we could be the starting place of your amazing holiday. It is our pleasure to read that you have enjoyed every minute of your stay here in Budapest.

We wish you a nice cruise further on and we hope to welcome you back one day.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Totally exceeded our expectations! First, the staff upgraded us to the executive rooms as we had two rooms and they couldn't provide us with interconnecting rooms for our children. The view was to die for, the children didn't want to leave the room as they were so comfortable. The entire experience of visiting Budapest was highlighted due to the excellent service, warmth of the staff and the ideal location. One couldn't have asked for more!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing the Chain's Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us such a positive comment of your stay at Budapest. We are delighted to know that the service has exceeded your expectations and our colleagues were nothing but courteous and attentive towards you and your family during your stay. All we strive is your comfort and well-being therefore receiving such a positive comment will be a huge encouragement for my colleagues to continue with the highest level of service.

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife had a vacation for 6 days in Budapest during it we stayed in Sofitel.
The hotel was excellent.
1. Staff very friendly and kind.
2. Room: large , clean , comfortable with amazing view.
3. Great location.
4. I have no idea regarding food quality because I used to eat at the city.
Highly recommended

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Firasytr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We are delighted to know that you have had a pleasant time in our amazing city and that you were entirely satisfied with our service and the equipment of the hotel. It is nice to read that the location of the hotel was really convenient for sightseeing and that after a long a day you were able to relax and enjoy the amazing view in your comfortable room.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had a fantastic time in Budapest with so much the city, Danube and history have to offer, but it was with Sofitel that the entire experience felt complete. We booked an executive room with view of the Chain bridge and castle, and it was a view to die for, day and night. Even the proximity to the nearby Grasham palace and the government building next to it, offers such a close up of the frescos and building facade details that made it worth staying at a high floor, surrounded by historical buildings. The room is on the small side and the furnishing tells of an era, however, for us nespresso machine and good robe and slipper made up for it. Bathroom amenity was all Hermes brand, celebrating the luxury the hotel brand aligns with. Our only issue was that our mattress was tilting on one side, and my husband complained that he had been sleeping on the box spring.
The best part is the club lounge, and this is my genuine advice if you don't mind upping the ante for an incrementally superb experience by getting an executive level room. The breakfast was quite plentiful, and for the four days we were there, they made an effort to change the selections. The 5-8PM happy hour was one of the best I have seem hotel clubs offer, and the best, is the variety on offer. There were always a number of salad options, sandwich options, cheese and the standard French fare, wine, etc. breakfast or happy hour, the chic lounge affords fabulous view of the Danube, the bridge and the castle side of the town. It was so beautiful to watch sunset there, as multiple senses were being satisfied. And I would be remiss not to mention that the staff at the lounge is very polite and very effective.
Overall, Budapest overdelivered and complete exceeded her expectation. It is much grander than Prague, and less a tourist trap. The buildings were magnificently constructed and preserved, often palatial. The St Steven's Basilica where we went for a concert was a heavenly experience. Nearly all major sites are within short walking distance from this hotel. We never had to do the hop bus.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmw245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us your review of the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was our delight to read such a well detailed and carefully written comment about your vacation.
We are content to know that you have had an amazing experience and you have liked our city and the location of the hotel made your sightseeing easier.
Your positive feedback about the attitude of the staff at our Club will be a great encouragement to all of colleagues to continue with their efforts towards our guests.

Thank you one more time for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,356 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 334 in Budapest
2,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#18 of 334 in Budapest
321 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#17 of 334 in Budapest
4,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Property: Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#19 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Southall Travel, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing