We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Tripadvisor!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #24 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

First we searched on Tripadvisor, read some comments and chose Sofitel Chain Bridge. Like other commentators previously stated it is a better idea to book Executive Sofitel Club rooms. These are located on 5th floor and above and the have the perfect view to Buda part of the city, the Chain Bridge and Danube river. Hotel room, amenities, staff, breakfast everything is professional and up to international standards. As a club guest you can have you afternoon tea or even your dinner at the Executive Lounge on level 8. Food is more degustation type, tasting size but a good selection. From your hotel the famous shopping street Vaci is 2 minutes and walking on the Chain Bridge day and night is a good exercise after rich Hungarian food.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Deniz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We are utterly pleased to read that after your thorough search for a suitable hotel you did not regret your choice and all of the hotel equipment and the service provided by our staff has exceeded your expectations. It is nice to know that your holiday was smooth and pleasant and you will go home only wit good memories.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,027 - 2,033 of 5,624 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Lovely Sofitel. It is an exquisite location and came with all if the Sofitel service I have come to expect. Views from the room were amazing. Staff was very helpful and service was good. I am giving it four stars instead of five, because as I frequent Sofitels all over the world, I felt this one was just a notch under the better ones. I would also recommend the restaurant in the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarpeDiem153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This lovely, luxurious hotel is well located in the heart of the city. It's a very walkable location, near the stunning Parliament building, some markets, antique shops, and recreational sites. It's also close to the Metro and across the bridge from a incline-cog tram up to the Buda area. The buffet breakfast was marvelous, and the on-site Paris Budapest restaurant served wonderful food. We left a Viking River Cruise on the Danube just across the street, and our junior suite was more than triple the size of the Viking stateroom. The spa offers reasonably priced treatments - the massage was excellent, and the pool was beautiful. Highly recommend.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nan5049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to provide us a review and also for your kind words you described your experience. It is our pleasure to know that our Spa area was to your liking and the various breakfast offer has exceeded your expectations.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back one day until then we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Top class hotel & staff very helpful, location is ideal, easy walk to metro and just about all the attractions, we had a room overlooking the bridge fabulous view, bridge looked stunning at night, if you can stretch it book a river view !
Paris Budapest restaurant is also nice we just had lunch there on arrival, lovely to sit out in the open air with a beer and the view !

Room Tip: Book early to get a good deal and book a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Deise_Boy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us a review of your stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We are delighted to read that you were mesmerized by the stunning view you could enjoy from your room and you were utterly captivated by our amazing capital. Hungary is really proud of its cuisine and it is nice to know that you have found it tasty as well.

We hope to welcome you back to Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank HaggisCH
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 August 2014

On arrival, the location is excellent - close to everything and right on the river. Reception/lobby/restaurant area is beautifully presented. However, I was checked in to the wrong room - given a twin room with no views despite having paid for a luxury suite with view. This was promptly resolved when I raised the issue with reception staff. I was still not satisfied that the room was really what I wanted/had paid for, but I didn't wish to cause to much trouble and I was exhausted anyway. The room was still nice and the view was incredible, but it had a very outdated feel to it and certainly wasn't the luxurious suite that I thought I was paying for. Whatever room was pictured on the website sadly was not the room I was given.

This being said, I had a comfortable stay. Bathroom is nice and modern, though small. Room service was fantastic. Beautifully presented, good value and very tasty.

Overall it was a good stay, but just not the five star experience I was hoping for and that it was made out to be. Would return if I were guaranteed to be provided one of the nicer rooms.

Room Tip: Be careful choosing room - may not be exactly what you think you're paying for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ksjalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and your thorough description of our services. We are pleased to read that you had a wonderful time with us our colleagues provided the highest level of service for you which has met your expectations.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel on business for 5 nights. Being an Accor Platinum member I was upgraded to the next level of rooms which had a fabulous view over the historic bridge and castle.
Rooms was comfortable with all the usual amenities you would expect for a 5 star hotel.
The atrium is very impressive and the breakfast is excellent.
I would also add that the gym and pool are worth a visit - I seemed to be the only person there in the evenings!

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WaimanCheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of your stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We are more than delighted to know that you have had a pleasant holiday and you were impressed by the location of the hotel and the stunning view you could enjoy from your room.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#29 of 336 in Budapest
3,515 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 336 in Budapest
3,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#16 of 336 in Budapest
7,462 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#14 of 336 in Budapest
4,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#21 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £111 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travelbag, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing