We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amaizing, just amaizing!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #26 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

I stay at sofitel for 3 nights and was just perfect.
The staff is very professional, the rooms are big and very clean. When i check in i ask for upgrade and they did it whitout any payment from me.
The location is just the best in budapest. For sure i will come back to sofitel in my next trip.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Yosef309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank your for your kind words and recommendation. Your feedback is really important for us therefore I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us a review of your experience at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We are content to read that you could not find anything amiss with the service neither with the hotel equipment.

We hope to welcome you back to Budapest soon.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,122 - 2,128 of 5,777 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

Whilst there are many favourable reviews on this site, there are some poor ones.I simply cannot understand that. In July my wife and I booked to spend one night in the hotel before flying home. After dinner my wife was taken ill (nothing to do with the dinner, travelers sickness picked up on the train) and was whisked off to hospital where she stayed six nights. Eventually we left the hotel after an extra eight nights to fly home. The hotel staff were wonderful, putting up with daily extensions to our stay (at great inconvenience to themselves), offering help and keeping a somewhat lonely husband company in the restaurant each evening for five nights. I cannot speak too highly of all the staff, both the ones we saw and the ones we didn't. The hotel itself is great too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving a feedback of your stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We greatly appreciate your kind words which you have describe the helpful attitude of our colleagues towards you during your stay.
It is our pleasure to read that the sickness did not ruin your holiday and you were able to have a good time here in Budapest. We are content to know that you have arrived home safely and everything is well with you.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back one day for a spotless vacation.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a fantastic suite with an absolutely amazing view. The hotel was the ultimate in sophistication but it was the view of the chain bridge which took my breath away. The location of the hotel is fantastic it is in the heart of the city. The staff were very responsive and happy to assist with all matters. We are going back on St Stephen's feast day and have already booked our table to watch the fireworks over the chain bridge....can't wait. It is the perfect place to explore Budapest from!

Room Tip: It is a lovely hotel. Try to get a view over the river preferably of the Chain Bridge itself
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lisaupham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback of your stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We are delighted to know that you have been mesmerized by the breathtaking view you could enjoy from your room and the service provided by our colleagues has met your expectations. It was our pleasure to be your host again on St. Stephan's day and we hope that you had a great time.

We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

First impressions of the hotel from the exterior was disappointing compared to magnificent builidings surrounding this Sofitel. But that's where the disappointment ended. We were escorted by the hotel "Ambassador" upon arrival to the Executive floor check-in where we were greeted with a glass of champagne. Our room had stunning views over the chain bridge and the park and was plenty big for the two of us. Everything about our stay here was perfect. We chose breakfast downstairs for the outstanding range each morning. Evening canapes in the Exec lounge was an excellent spread as was the range of drinks on offer, so there was no need for us to use the hotel restaurant. We were greeted with a tray of desserts each afternoon when we returned to our room. The concierge staff were very knowledgeable and organised tours and made some good recommendations. The indoor pool looked nice, but we did not use it. The On/Off buses stopped only a few meters away and were an excellent choice for getting around and learning about the city. House keeping were a little forgetful with our requests but that was not a bother. The only negative was the charge for two 4 second unsuccessful calls overseas at a reduced rate of $25 which was disappointing. Overall though it was a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Invest in a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REDD29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and writing us such a detailed review. We are content to read that you have received a warm and friendly welcome and the attitude of our colleagues never changed towards you further on during your stay.
All we strive is your comfort and for that reason we are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay and we would like to thank you for your kind acknowledgement.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back one day.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

First we searched on Tripadvisor, read some comments and chose Sofitel Chain Bridge. Like other commentators previously stated it is a better idea to book Executive Sofitel Club rooms. These are located on 5th floor and above and the have the perfect view to Buda part of the city, the Chain Bridge and Danube river. Hotel room, amenities, staff, breakfast everything is professional and up to international standards. As a club guest you can have you afternoon tea or even your dinner at the Executive Lounge on level 8. Food is more degustation type, tasting size but a good selection. From your hotel the famous shopping street Vaci is 2 minutes and walking on the Chain Bridge day and night is a good exercise after rich Hungarian food.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Deniz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We are utterly pleased to read that after your thorough search for a suitable hotel you did not regret your choice and all of the hotel equipment and the service provided by our staff has exceeded your expectations. It is nice to know that your holiday was smooth and pleasant and you will go home only wit good memories.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Lovely Sofitel. It is an exquisite location and came with all if the Sofitel service I have come to expect. Views from the room were amazing. Staff was very helpful and service was good. I am giving it four stars instead of five, because as I frequent Sofitels all over the world, I felt this one was just a notch under the better ones. I would also recommend the restaurant in the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarpeDiem153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This lovely, luxurious hotel is well located in the heart of the city. It's a very walkable location, near the stunning Parliament building, some markets, antique shops, and recreational sites. It's also close to the Metro and across the bridge from a incline-cog tram up to the Buda area. The buffet breakfast was marvelous, and the on-site Paris Budapest restaurant served wonderful food. We left a Viking River Cruise on the Danube just across the street, and our junior suite was more than triple the size of the Viking stateroom. The spa offers reasonably priced treatments - the massage was excellent, and the pool was beautiful. Highly recommend.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nan5049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to provide us a review and also for your kind words you described your experience. It is our pleasure to know that our Spa area was to your liking and the various breakfast offer has exceeded your expectations.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back one day until then we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#29 of 336 in Budapest
3,571 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 336 in Budapest
3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#19 of 336 in Budapest
7,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#22 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £101 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing