We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location however a few minor blips”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #23 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Location however a few minor blips”
Reviewed 19 August 2009

This hotel is probably the best located hotel in the city! I travelled here as a birthday treat for my mum who is 61 and dad 65. Perfect location next to the chain bridge next to the main street for all the bars and restaurants.Very clean and spacious and staff very professional. We did book a room for 3 adults however i was very disappointed to find that the bed for the 3rd person was a roll out sofa bed which was VERY uncomfortable with just a sheet for the duvet. My parents bed on the other hand was very comfotable with a lovely matress and duvet. I wouldnt have minded if we were advised of this upon booking or even at check-in but considering all three of us paid the same price for the holiday i would at least expect a bit more from Sofitel. We also had to ask for an extra cup/glass/towel etc for the 3rd person (they knew we were 3) there was also only 1 bathrobe per room.
We asked at reception about taxis and they recommended we took one of their preferred taxis waiting outside the hotel (which is good if you are in a rush as they are always waiting) However....a word of warning we took one to the Gellert baths as we were slightly pressed for time but the price was VERY HIGH nearly the same as going to the airport. We took Zona taxis to and from the airport which were FANTASTIC less then 5000 FNT from airport to hotel and 3800FNT hotel to airport they picked us up within 5mins of calling.
This hotel is fantastic for its location however just a warning if you are 3 adults. I thought the hotel would at least advise us about this or as it was very quiet offer me a single room maybe...and at least have the correct number of towels etc. There was also only enough tea/coffee for 2 people which wasnt sufficently replenished the following day either.
Its not all bad though as i said if you are two or single this place is great.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTwiggy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, Hotel Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 24 August 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and you were pleased with the work of our staff at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

However I was concerned to read your comments regarding the room. I do appologize for the missing items for the third person (like towels and cups) and I am very sorry for the inconveniences. Please let me assure you that the involved department Managers have been informed in order to guarantee, that such and similar situations will be handled properly in the future.

Again, thank you for your comments, which will help us in all ongoing efforts to improve our services. If you would like to discuss your experience with a member of the hotel staff, please get in contact with us.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,532
    1,304
    269
    70
    46
See reviews for
762
2,616
244
715
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,125)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

I used to travel to Budapest 4-5 times a year on business and always stayed at the Sofitel. Most comfortable beds and best staff anywhere. I once left a linen jacket and blouse behind, and on my next trip they were dry cleaned and waiting for me . Impeccable! Sadly I no longer travel to Buda for business, but when I make my next leisure trip there , I will stay at the Sofitel.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EiboNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, The Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 17 August 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to share your comments with us and other readers.
We are more than pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge – especially that your were pleased about your left belongings waiting for you in the room.
We are also very happy about your positive comments regarding the work of our staff and the comfort of our beds. Our staff work exceptionally hard to give every guest unforgettable moments in Budapest – we are very glad that we succeeded.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2009

After alot of research of all the different hotels in the 5 star category I opted for the Sofitel - it was a special trip as my Dad was turning 60 on the Sunday and my aunt and uncle were celebrating their 40th wedding anniversary - it had to be more than perfect - I am very familiar with the intercontinental, kempinski and meridien groups of hotels having travelled all over the world and so are my family but the sofitel blew us all away! It was perfect - it couldnt have been any better. The Rooms were fabulous, the service was wonderful, the location is perfect - the exceutive club is fabulously located and the girls who were there could not have been more helpful or obliging - it really was a pleasure - if you can afford to do it then pay for club rooms - the breakfast was fantastci and to eat breakfast whilst looking across at the chain bridge and castle is the perfect way to start the day. The 2 Dorothys were great at recommending places and looking after us! I honestly couldnt fault this hotel in any possible way! It was fabulous! People on here have commented on the position and whilst that is very good - it was the service that I will remember - the special little touches that make your stay memorable. This is a great city and I will definately be coming back very soon and I would definately definately come back to this hotel.

Thanks Sofitel for making the trip so special.

FG

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank givememorewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, The Hotel Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 6 August 2009
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that you were pleased with our rooms, the service and the level of hospitality. We are especially grateful for your positive feedback regarding the Sofitel Club. Our Executive Hostesses are working very hard to make our guests feel welcomed and return home with unforgettable memories of Budapest and our hotel. We are very happy that we succeeded in giving you ’the little touches’ in service, that made your stay memorable.
Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We had a pleasant stay with this hotel! We very much love the beautiful river view, it is beautiful night and day – excellent! I found this great value offer from expedia, even the rate for a river view room facing the Palace on to of the hill was very reasonable - do check it out! Totally worth paying extra to enjoy the romantic Budapest view fully! Staff generally friendly and professional; but in some occasions, responses not up to a first class hotel standard (e.g. telephone in room not working, told the receptionist but still not working at night, rang the ‘customer relations’ to enquire and got a reply ‘not of their area of business’, at the end we had to bring the telephone down to the reception to alert their attention, someone came to fix it eventually and there is just some minor problem with the plug – this reflects that no one check it during the day at all because it could have been easily fixed). However, we did enjoy our stay, the beds were very comfortable, the showers powerful – we checked in late on the first night, and ordered room service – food was good. Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aligotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, The Hotel Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 27 July 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the view from your room, the beds and our Room Service offer.

However we were concerned to read your remarks about the telephone in your room. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. Please let me assure you, that we have forwarded your remarks to the Head of department and shared them also with our colleagues in charge, so that similar situations will occur again.

Again, thank you for your comments, which will help us in all ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
249 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Had a room facing the street, not the best view. Room was comfortable with everything that I could need. Staff was pleasant. Breakfast served in the big lobby was excellent. Can't judge on the value for money since I didn't pay myself.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rueskov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, The Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 21 July 2009
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to read that you enjoyed the room, as well as the rich buffett breakfast in our Terrace Restaurant.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel soon.

Your sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Hotel was very clean and decorated to a modern design. Got upgraded to a suite which was very nice. Staff went out of way to please, allowed us a late check out with no extra charge. Restaurant was fantastic, an open style kitchen where food can be seen being cooked. Staff very helpful and food well priced especially the Hungarian special menu. Great hotel that is definatley worth a visit,, charming.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, The Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 18 July 2009
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that enjoyed the dishes at our Paris- Budapest Restaurant and that you were satisfied with our location, your suite and the staff. We work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special – we are very glad that we succeeded.
Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Stayed four nights for site seeing in Budapest. The hotel was very central for what we wanted. Staff were all very helpful. We had a luxury room overlooking the Danube - great view. When we got into the room, I was a little worried that between us and the river was a busy road. However, the room was extremely well sound proofed. There was almost no noise from either outside or neighbouring rooms. Beds were comfortable. Room size was as expected and bathroom was good. Only two complaints. One was the noise coming from the airconditioning system which was quite loud when you were trying to go to sleep. The other was the cost of the breakfast at 29 euros per person. We had breakfast at a nearby cafe for 4 euros per person! Overall though, the hotel was very good and we we would certainly go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PucciniUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, The Hotel Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 17 July 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and beds, including the panorama view to the Danube and Castle district. We are also happy to know, that you were satisfied with the work of our staff.

However we were concerned to read your remarks about the air-conditioning system in your room. As a management team we take all comments very seriously and share them with our staff, so we may solve any and all issues. I can assure you, that your remarks have been reviewed and discussed with the managers concerned.

We do appologize sincerely for these inconveniences and thank you again for your feedback, which will help us in all ongoing efforts to improve our service. If you would like to discuss your experience with a member of the hotel staff, please contact us directly.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,255 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#6 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,850 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#19 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Property: Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#20 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing