We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view from hotel room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #22 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic view from hotel room”
Reviewed 6 October 2009

The Sofitel Budapest is a fine hotel. I would recommend one of the Danube view rooms. The location is excellent, just around the corner from Vorosmarty Square and Vaci Street. Convenient to the trams and the underground. We ate lunch at the Cafe and found it expensive but the food was of a high quality. Upon check - out there was a problem with our pre-paid bill and the hotel credit manager cheerfully agreed to refund some of our payment. After returning home we found that the refund had, indeed, been posted to our credit card account.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, Hotel Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 9 October 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to share your comments with us and other readers. We are more than pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge – especially that your were pleased with the location of our hotel and that you liked the view from your room. We also appreciate your comments concerning the high quality food in our restaurant.
However we do appologize for any inconveniences caused at check-out regarding your pre-paid bill and we were pleased to read that you received the refunded amount on your credit card very soon.

Again, thank you for your comments. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Sofitel Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,620
    1,326
    277
    72
    46
See reviews for
784
2,675
251
729
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2009

We spent the last 3 of our 7 nights in Budapest at the sofitel. Booking through hotels.com we got a Danube view room for £327.67.

The view was absolutely amazing and the room was lovely. I can't recommend getting a Danube view room enough - it was amazing to see the sun set and the chain bridge lit up at night. Very special. Also the open plan layout of the Sofitel is fantastic - the concierge told me it was redone 3 years ago. It really is a great looking hotel (from the inside not outside!) and even if you're not staying at the sofitel I recommend popping in and having a look around.

The rooms were large, the bathrooms were very nice (including a bath) and the bed was one of the comfiest I have ever slept on. The concierge (guy with glasses) was very helpful e.g. in reserving tables at restaurants. He also asked how we enjoyed the meal when he saw us the next day - the mark of a good concierge.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, but as the management look like they respond to comments on tripadvisor and as the hotel is 5 stars I would like to point out some possible improvements:

1) Wi Fi should be included. Guests should not have to pay extra money.
2) Rooms could have been cleaner - the curtains and nets in our room were dirty
3) Breakfast at 7000 HUF (about £25) is outrageoulsy expensive - we went to Cafe Negro 5 minutes away for an excellent and better value breakfast instead
4) The "sweets" cabinet with macaroons in it looks delicious, but some of the macaroons we had were not fresh. Also service in the bibliotheque, for our tea and macaroons, should have been more attentive.
5) I didn't like the fact the hotel restaurant and bar were closed to guests due to a private party (Thai evening)

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planetjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, Hotel Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 9 October 2009
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and that you liked the layout of our hotel. We are also pleased about your positive feedback regarding the efficient work of our concierge service and that you liked the comfortable beds in our guest rooms.

Furthermore we would like to thank you for your recommendations - we highly appreciate your ideas for improvement. As a management team we take all suggestions very seriously and share them with our staff, so we may solve any and all issues. Please rest assured that your comments will be discussed with the Hotel Management, as well as with the responsible departments.

We sincerely hope that the raised issues did not impact your stay and the possibility of returning back to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge – we would be very happy to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We stayed at the Sofitel for 5 nights and enjoyed our stay. The Sofitel is defintely at the best location of Budapest. The view from the river view room was stunning, especially during the night when the lights were on. The hotel's breakfast was very good with plenty of choices. The service provided at the hotel were generally good. But the receptionist at the hotel sometimes wasn't very helpful. We arrived after 2pm on the first day and we were told that we had to wait about half an hour for the room to be ready, this wasn't very pleasant. And we had to chase them again after half an hour to be allocated a room. We've booked a standard room on the internet and were told that we have to pay about 20 euros per night for a river view room.
Two days before we left, there was an unpleasant incident happened - a pair of swimming goggles (subscribed short vision one) was lost in the swimming pool area while we went to the Sauna room. Tímea Balzer, the Rooms Division Manager of the hotel, has been very considerate and helpful. She offered us an update to a riverview room as a good gesture which we happily accepted. Then after we got back home, she was in touch again telling us that the goggles were found and it was posted to us. We really appreciated Timea's help, thank you very much!
Next time if we go to Budapest, then Sofitel remains a good choice for us.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hongwei Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, Hotel Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 9 October 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location and you were pleased with the work of our staff at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.
It was also nice to hear that you were pleased with our rooms and especially with the view to the river, as well as the wide choice of food at our breakfast.

Please let us appoligize once more for the inconveniences regarding your lost swimming googles. This was a very unpleasant situation for us as well and it is just naturally, that we do everything to solve such issues and help our guests as much as we can. I am very happy, that this unpleasant issue was solved together with Tímea Balzer, our Room Divisions Manager, and I hope that it did not impact your stay and the possibility of returning back to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Again, thank you for your comments and for staying with us. We hope to see you back at our property in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, Kent
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We loved this hotel. The way it is designed is amazing, glass elevators in the loby and a plane hanging from the ceiling! The room was great and the bed was amazingly comfortable. The breakfast was superb. Good choice, fresh and great coffee. The restraurant was very nice and service was perfect. The Chain Bridge is just infront of the hotel and the main sights are just behind you. There is a great bar about 5 mins walk behind the hotel that has a pure bacardi menu. You must try the fantastic Thermal Baths around the City.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ly52kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, The Guest Relation Team at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 4 October 2009
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that you were pleased with our rooms especially the beds, the favourable location of Sofitel Budapest and the level of hospitality provided in the hotel. We are especially grateful for your positive feedback regarding the Paris Budapest Restaurant. Our entire staff is working very hard to make our guests feel welcomed and return home with unforgettable memories of Budapest and our hotel. We are very happy that we succeeded in giving you ’the little touches’ in service, that made your stay memorable.
Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford CT
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Loved the hotel. Great location right on the Danube, Chain Bridge and staring up at the Palace. We were upgraded to a corner suite with incredible views. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the air conditioning worked great. If I had to criticize one thing, it would be the concierges. They are not very well trained, they rarely seemed to know how to get places, how much things cost, did not know hours for some of the sights, and could not make recommendations for great, local restaurants. They kept trying to send us to the "American tourist traps" - quite disappointing. They also did not make much effort to help us get tickets for the things we wanted to do. Do your research on what you want to do and where you want to go before you get there.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NaplesVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, The Guest Relations Team at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 30 September 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to share your comments with us and other readers.
We are more than pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge – especially that your were pleased about the upgrade to the ncie corner suite with the stunning panorama.
We were very concerned to read your concierge remarks regarding your stay with us. And we feel especially sorry about the fact, that we did not know these inconveniences during your stay in order to help you on the spot. Please let me assure you, that our guests' well-being is most important for us. All the staff has regular trainings to make our guest’s stay unforgettable, we are working very hard to make every guest feel welcome.

Please be assured that the involved department Manager has been informed and the raised issues are being discussed which will help us in all ongoing efforts to improve our services.

Again, thank you for your comments. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Sofitel Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

I spent a week in Budapest for a business seminar and we chose to stay at the Sofitel Budapest.
It was going to be a busy work week, with little support from our own travel organization and thus needed full support from the hotel.

I travel almost every week for business and I must say I've never received such a great service. Under a strong leadership of the sales and marketing director, the sales staff took everything under control, demonstrated great flexibility, was coming up with great suggestions (and good price) to make the seminar a success. And they did. They offered a unique experience to the team, making this week a special week that everyone will remember. Operations went smoothly, letting us focus on our work.

We even got a treat with a glass of sparkling wine on the roof of the hotel - with stunning views of the city at night.

During the week & our event, they were always there for us, wether for helping carry a heavy equipment, help locate in a rush a HD video projector or bring some coffee at midnight for a late working team... whatever we asked for we got, quickly and with a smile. The staff was helpful, friendly, polite, happy to contribute, present when needed but discreet. In one word the service was second to none and I would recommend this hotel just for this reason (not to mention the food and beverage which were also really enjoyable).

Located in the heart of the city, with stunning view of the Danube & within walking distance of many nice places, it's also a great starting place for a vacation too. So I also recommend this hotel for it's location & the facilities (nice indoor swimming pool, gym a bit simple, 2 good saunas and great signature massage which unfortunately I could not try but one of my colleague did).

I stayed in one of the suite with a stunning view of the city, but regular rooms (facing the castle or looking at the Danube) are also very spacious and the bed super comfortable.

To make a long story short, i will come back as a tourist and for business and I will definitely stay at the Sofitel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jml64paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, The Hotel Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 28 September 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to share your comments with us and other readers.
We are more than pleased to hear that you and your entire team enjoyed your stay at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge – especially that your were pleased about the efforts made by our staff.
Of course we are more than happy to distribute your positive comments to our sales department as well.
We are also very happy about your positive feedback regarding the stunning location of our hotel and the comfort of our luxury rooms,your own suite and the highlight: the beds.
Our staff work exceptionally hard to give every guest unforgettable moments in the heart of Budapest – we are very glad that we succeeded.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you also individually back at our hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

I had the pleasure of staying here for a week with my new wife, which was the start of our travels around Europe. The location can't be better for seeing the city sights and the quality of the hotel is excellent. We mentioned when booking that we were staying for our honeymoon, and we got a excellent room with a view across the Danube to the chain bridge and Buda castle. As a surprise for us they had had a free bottle of champaine waiting on ice for us when we arrived, and had a relaxing time there and are glad we started our trip off well.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, The Hotel Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 22 September 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were part of a memorable honeymoon stay in Budapest. We do appreciate your comments regarding the quality of our services and we are very glad that you liked the view from your room.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,355 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 334 in Budapest
2,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#18 of 334 in Budapest
321 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#17 of 334 in Budapest
4,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Property: Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#19 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing