We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel Budapest is a charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #24 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Prague
1 review
“Sofitel Budapest is a charming hotel”
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Sofitel Budapest is a charming hotel, with a paronamic view on the Danube river. We stayed there four nights with my family and enjoyed every second of it. The suite we booked was situated in the corner of the hotel, and had a view on the river (and the Chain Bridge, which is definetely a must see by night), and on the beautiful square that is next to the hotel. Breakfast in the hotel is not cheap, but worth every penny. Should you have any questions or needs, just ask at the concierge, they are helpful, cheerful and kind . One final advice, should you need a taxi use the one of the hotel, we got badly cheated by a taxi driver on the streets.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PragueExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, The Guest Relations Team at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 14 January 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your positive comments and share your experience with us and other readers of Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your kind feedback regarding your unforgettable stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.
We were more than glad that we succeeded in giving you the „little personal touch” in service and that we are part of your unforgettable moments in Budapest.
We were especially happy to read that you liked the panorama from your corner suite and that you were satisfied with the wide buffett selection at breakfast.

We honestly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our property as soon as possible.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,566
    1,318
    273
    71
    46
See reviews for
773
2,641
249
719
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,138)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Fantastic hotel and it is truly worth staying in the Executive Lounge. The view is amazing and there is nothing better at the end of a day's sightseeing than to sit in front of the windows looking over the Danube and being so well looked after by the staff. In particular we would love to highlight Emmy and Dorothea for their faabulous service and helpfulness. Can't wait to come back. Word of advice - don't change money at the train station as the rate is terrible and don't take the taxis waiting at the station. Get a City Taxi as the others will be four times as much on fixed rate!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trubal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, The Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 8 January 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments and share your experience with us and other readers. We very much appreciate your kind feedback regarding your stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We are very happy that we succeeded in giving you the „little personal touch” in service and that we are part of your unforgettable moments in Budapest. We will gladly share all your comments with our team (above all with Emmy and Dorothea), which is a great encouragement to all of us as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our property as soon as possible.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2009

We spent 3 nights at this hotel. The hotel is centrally located, next to the Chain Bridge, in walking distance to any major site in Budapest, the hotel is quiet, many rooms have awesome view, the rooms are big enough and the breakfast is excellent. I should also mention the great service we received.
I should point out that the hotel is not cheap.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ls74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, Hotel Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 26 December 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for positive feedback you provided us with. We were very glad to hear that you were so much pleased with the service and our hotel facilities you experienced during your stay with us. Naturally we will share your comments with all of our staff, which will be a great encouragement for our future work. We sincerely hope to see you back at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naples florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2009

Front desk insisted we ordered 2 rooms[went thru top travel agent in the USA did NOT book 2 rooms] took care of it but acted a bit huffy about it.Not a great welcome.Concierge did not tell us our dinner reservation was canceled due to restaurant being closed for private party. We walked there in cold damp weather. Wonder if she even called. Could have left us a message. Cabs in front of hotel that they use triple charged compared to others. Housekeeping took new candy bars from room and someone opened door of our room at 8pm and when we answered quickly left.? Breakfast okay if included not worth it otherwise. Where was the excellent service we read about?We are very easily pleased, not demanding at all but service lacked. On the plus side, rooms are cozy, very comfortable beds and wonderful location.City view is fine, would not pay for river view unless in room a lot. People of Budapest friendly and wonderful christmas market outside of hotel one block away. Would stay again for location if rate was good.Pretty lobby.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaplesFloridaJfk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, Hotel Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 20 December 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and our comfortable MyBeds, as well as the central location of the hotel.
However, we were very concerned to read your remarks about the misunderstanding regarding your reservation and the work of our Front desk, Concierge and Housekeeping staff. As a management team we take all comments very seriously and share them with our staff, so we may solve any and all issues. Please be assured, that your remarks will be forwarded to the related departments and dicussed with the Managers in charge.

Again, thank you for your feedback, which will help us in all ongoing efforts to improve our service.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2009

We visited Budapest to experience Xmas markets for the first time. We found a great bargain on internet for Sofitel Budapest. The hotel is just next to the main Xmas markets square, not inviting from outside but a magic atmosphere inside.
We drank the hotwine at the hotel bar and our day could just start, with freshly fallen snow, it was like in a fairy tale, enjoying the Ginger house in the hotel lobby and breathing the atmosphere that was spread all over.
Really unforgettable hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisRatatouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, Hotel Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 20 December 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and for taking the time to share your comments with us and other readers. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the festive season at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, together with our Christmas specialities. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel very soon.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year,

Your sincerely,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2009

To me the fundamentals of a good hotel are good beds with duvets that prevent you from leaving, a shower with force & hot water and an overall high standard of cleanliness. Sofitel Budapest delivers on these in buckets and combines with a high standard of customer service, excellent English language & a brilliant view of the Chain bridge. On the down side, the room was a little tired and needed a refresh to match the standards of other Sofitels but there is much to do in Budapest - don't sit in your room. The other guests were on occasion noisy as the rooms face into an Atrium.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, The Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 9 December 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the throughout positive feedback you provided us with. We were very happy to hear that you were satisfied with the standard and level of high- quality service provided in the hotel.
It was nice to read that you liked the view out from your room and that you were satisfied with the English skills of our staff.
Many thanks for your comments regarding the style of our bedroom, please rest assured that this topic is being discussed with the management.

We sincerely hope to see you back at Sofitel Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2009

When we first booked this hotel, we had only the view of our room in mind and anything else is a bonus. And bonuses we certainly have, the service of the staff makes it a natural home from home as any questions we asked, it was a breeze to get a more than helpful answer. Anything we needed by all departments were promptly provided - very impressed with the service here! We had the room at discount rate as it is at off-season and it is well worth a stay if the offer is there to be affordable!

And a general comment about the Hungarian public in general, they were all very friendly and helpful. Some of the quality of restaurants (different European cuisines) food combined with the service provided - and musical talent in one instance - there were second to none.

Budapest as a relaxing place to go to with good night views, in particular, certainly is high on my list for cities to visit again as the space it has compare to other capital cities makes it a much more comfortable experience.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BournemouthCommander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, The Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 9 December 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback and for taking the time to share your comments with us and to other readers.
We are more than pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge – especially that your were pleased with the breathtaking panorama from your room.
We also appreciate your comments concerning our kind and helpful staff. These comments serve as an encouragement for our team, we always try to exceed our guests expectations- we are glad that we succeeded.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Sofitel Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#26 of 333 in Budapest
3,304 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 333 in Budapest
2,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 333 in Budapest
1,246 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#11 of 333 in Budapest
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Property: Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#21 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing