We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, wonderful wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #25 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Hungary
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful, wonderful wonderful!”
Reviewed 15 January 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the Sofitel Budapest and it was absolutely wonderful! I have wanted to stay here before but usually the rates are quite high as it is a 5 star hotel. This time I was able to get a very good rate including breakfast and all taxes through an online hotel booking site as it is January and low season. We had a room with a gorgeous view of the Chain Bridge (my personal favorite especially when it's lit up at night) and the Danube River. The ambience and quiet in the hotel is so nice and has a very calming effect. All staff we encountered were very friendly, helpful and eager to please, the breakfast buffet was just amazing with a huge variety of different items to choose from, a chef that cooks eggs made-to-order, and the most delicious coffee I've ever had. It was wonderful lingering over breakfast in an area that overlooks the entire interior of the hotel. The rooms are very nice, clean, with the most comfortable beds and pillows I think I've ever encountered with large fluffy down comforters -- it was an effort to get out of bed in the morning as you'd rather just stay in that comfortable warm bed. The Sofitel is in a great central location ... a 5 minute walk to the metro station and the very center of town and also a streetcar that stops right in front of the hotel. The spa in the hotel is also very nice with a great swimming pool, sauna and massage available although the massages are on the expensive side. Use of the swimming pool and sauna are free for guests as is the exercise room with lots of different equipment such as treadmills, weights, etc. There is also a casino in the hotel that offers free entry for hotel guests. There were only two negatives about this hotel: 1. There was only one computer available for guests in the mezzanine area and fees were astronomically high... in this day and age, there should be no charge for internet use for hotel guests; 2. The glass "door" in the bathtub is only half a door making it quite awkward and difficult getting out of the shower. All in all, a fantastic place to stay. We had a very relaxing and wonderful stay at the Sofitel and would like to return on our next trip back to Budapest.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penz1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, Hotel Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 16 January 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for all the positive feedback you provided us with. We were glad to hear that you were so much pleased with our services and facilities, as well as the level of hospitality you experienced in our hotel during your stay. We also thank you for your suggestions for improvement. As a management team we do take all remarks very seriously as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments. We sincerely hope to see you back at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,473
    1,285
    265
    69
    46
See reviews for
744
2,573
243
705
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2010

We stayed two nights at the Sofitel Chain Bridge in a Prestige Suite with view over the bridge and the old town, The location of the hotel is great and services we received from the lounge was excellent.

The suite itself is somehow quite old and small. There are really two seperate small rooms with a connection door. One has two twins bed and the others has a sofa bed. We did not use the sitting room as it was samll and uninviting.

Book this hotel on the executive level rooms with a view and you won't regreat it.
If you can get a great view in your room and the service from Dorothy and Dora in the executive lounge, then you will have a enjoyalbe stay like we did.

Thanks Dorothy and Dora.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, Hotel Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 16 January 2010
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and that you enjoyed our central location and the panorama-view from your room. Apart from that we are more than proud that our services and facilities at the Executive Lounge made your stay a memorable one. We will gladly share your feedback with our colleagues (especially with Dorothy and Dora), which will be a great encouragment in our future work.
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and other readers and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

This is an excellent hotel. Great sized rooms, excellent bed and really nice bathrooms. The location is very good. No complaints at all and will be back if ever back in Budapest. Great hotel. Thoroughly recommend!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pspgmr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, The Guest Realtions Team at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 14 January 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments and share your experience with us and other readers.
We were happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, that your liked the location of our hotel, the size of the room equipped with the comfortable MyBed.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our property as soon as possible.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2010

I was offered by my fiancé a romantic week-end at the Sofitel Budapest: it was marvelous! You cannot find any room more romantic: there is an amazing view on the Danube and the Castle, the bed is heaven and the bath is really large! The concierge was really helpful and gave us very good advice. The breakfast was a little expensive but worth it: you eat for the day!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vballe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, The guest Relations Team at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 14 January 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to share your comments with us and other readers.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your romantic weekend at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge-especially the room with the unique panorama, the comfortable bed and the spacious bathroom.
We were glad to read that you were given useful advices by our concierge colleague and many thanks fro your comments regarding our breakfast.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel soon.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2010

We stayed here for a few days for my birthday, and to visit the xmas markets. As it was my birthday (and i'm an A-club member) they brought a complimentary bottle of champagne to our room when we arrived, which was lovely! The outside of the hotel is not that attractive, but inside it is very stylish. Room was a little small but well equipped -- lovely comfy bed, decent bathroom, kettle, fridge, table and chairs, and amazing view of the city and chain bridge (definately worth paying the extra for a room with a view). Used the swimming pool once -- nice area but pool too chilly for me! Breakfast in the main restaurant was a large buffet of everything you could want. We also upgraded to have use of the executive lounge -- this was fabulous -- amazing view, champagne all day, continental breakfast (if you preferred somewhere smaller and quieter to the main restaurant), snacks all day; mini sandwiches, cakes, olives etc in the evening with wine and beer -- one evening we went there for a pre-dinner snack but ate so much yummy food we didn't need dinner! All free of course.

Staff in the executive lounge were extremely friendly and helpful. Elsewhere in the hotel they were variable -- generally courteous, but not always friendly. Ate in the restaurant one night which was superb. Cocktails excellent as well, and very nice barman!

Location is perfect, right at the end of the chain bridge on the pest side. We could walk easily to the Basilica (5 mins), the old town on the buda side (15 mins), buda castle (15 mins), xmas market and metro station at vorosmarty ter (2 mins). Not a great deal of restaurants immediately outside -- might need to walk 5 or 10 mins.

The buda old town and the fishermans bastion is a delight to walk around. The basilica is beautiful. The Szenchenyi baths in the park are great fun, and really enjoyed an evening boat trip.

Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, The Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 14 January 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your positive comments about your last stay in Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.
We were glad to read that you liked the location of our hotel and that you could visit every sight so easily.
We were happy to read that you enyoed the facilities in the room, that you liked the Spa and that your were satisfied with the services of the bar.
We were especially happy to read that you were more than satisfied with our executive Sofitel Club on the 8th floor and that you spent a great time assisted by the Executive club ladies.

We honestly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our property as soon as possible.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxon, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

We stayed in a luxury room overlooking the Danube which was very comfortable, good to have bathrobe and slippers. View from the room was excellent, enjoyed watching the trams, boats and river bus! Breakfast was good with lots of choice - it was included in our package but it is expensive if you are on a room only tariff. Reception staff and Concierge were pleasant. Our only negative experience was that when we booked our New Year's Eve meal at a local restaurant through the Concierge, she failed to tell us that part of the deposit we paid to her was her commission - we only discovered this when we settled the bill at the restaurant.! The hotel is in an excellent position and it was easy to find our way around. We had a very enjoyable stay at the hotel and enjoyed our time in Budapest.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakapagl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, The Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 11 January 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments and share your experience with us and other readers.
We very much appreciate your kind feedback regarding your stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.
We were very pleased to read that you were more than satisfied with the location of our hotel, with the room and the exclusive panorama.
Many thanks for your comments regarding the breakfast and the work of our concierge staff, please take our apology for any misunderstanding happened during the table booking in the local restaurant.
We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our property as soon as possible.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annecy
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Very good location: in the center of the city, everything is at a walking distance which is a great way to visit and find out about places we wouldn't have find otherwise.

We definitely enjoyed the restaurant and especially the bar!

Not only the rooms are generously spacious but the bed are also very comfy which even make it hard to get up !

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_GoatAnnecy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelBudapestGR, The Management at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, 10 January 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and for taking the time to share your comments with us and other readers. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge – especially the time in our Paris-Budapest Restaurant, and your room itself.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at our hotel soon.

Yours sincerely,

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#24 of 342 in Budapest
3,211 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 342 in Budapest
2,779 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 342 in Budapest
6,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Property: Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#22 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing