We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,797)
Filter reviews
3,797 results
Traveller rating
2,467
1,054
195
51
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,467
1,054
195
51
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver viewchain bridgethe club loungebuda castleroyal palaceacross the riverperfect locationfamous chainexcellent hotelan upgradebreakfast buffet ischristmas marketbuda sidetram stopfour seasonsbeautiful cityfisherman's bastion
Filter
Updating list...
2,495 - 2,500 of 3,797 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Was here for a work conference, did not have the greatest rooms but the hotel location is fantastic on the river and next to the chain bridge. Walking distance from everything and a great breakfast. I can imagine that the rooms with a view must have been great.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kriscruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miloscerovic, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

Dear Kriscruise
Thank you for the mixed review. We do hope that next time, we will be in position to offer you one of our rooms with great views of Danube.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

I recently made another stay at the this hotel whilst on business in Budapest and again the quality of the hotel and standard of service was excellent.
Its location facing the river is perfect and its only 5 minutes walk from shops and restaurents (plus a few ladies seeking non-hungarians for fun - its just easier to tell them you are hungarian and they leave you alone)
Rooms are very comfortable especially the suite I was upgraded to this time and the restaurent for breakfast is a gourmets delight.
I came here from Sweden where for 180% of the price of the inter you can experience sleeping in the eqivilent of IKEA.
Overall I would reccommend this hotel for business or liesure and prices are very fair.

Room Tip: River views provide wonderful views of the parliament and chain bridge - especially at sunset.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miloscerovic, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

Dear emeles,
Thank you for taking the time to post this positive review. You mentioned it all correctly! I just wish that you did not have to experience ladies approaching you in the city center. We have been working very hard, together with the city representatives, to ensure that such experiences do not happen as they ruin the reputation of the city. Thank you again for staying with us and i look forward to seeing you back soon.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed in a suite for 2 nights, and found out the first night that the bathroom sliding door was broken, make the long story short, the duty manager sent me a bottle of wine and a fruit plate as a gesture of apology, and fixed the problem the next day as he promised. The truth is that I don't mind sometimes find something minor problem with the room in a hotel like this level, as long as the staff listen to me and take care the problem seriously. I was happy that the intercontinental Budapest hold on to the standard of excellent service.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miloscerovic, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

Dear DocvicTW
Thank you for your great review. I could not agree more with your statement. It is hardly avoidable for minor deficiences and normal wear and tear to happen but it is how the staff approaches the situation that makes the difference between average and great hotels. I am glad that we managed to resolve your issue very efficiently.
With my very best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

You simply cannot get a better located hotel in Budapest. Right on the Danube, steps away from the Chain Bridge, and with an amazing view of the Castle and the Fisherman's Bastion / St Mattias Church across the river. Truly spectacular. The hotel itself is very nice too, with comfortable rooms, a beautiful lobby / bar area, and a very friendly and helpful staff. The price was also extremely reasonable (though the cost of wifi -- 15 euro per hour or 25 euro per day was excessive). All in all, a great hotel and an absolutely unbelievable location.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miloscerovic, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

Dear Evicat
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review.
We hope to be in position to welcome you back to our hotel.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Spent 4 days in budapest for a conference and decided to stay at the InterContinental on the conference rate as it was half price of the hotel direct booking.

Service from the all the staff was quick, polite and always cheerful, housekeeping did a nice job and pillows in different layout each night.

Breakfast and Lunch were good quality with a wide range of food but the restaurant staff let this down by not delivering drinks or snatching plates before food was finished.

As always the hotel bar is expensive and taxi's directly outside on the road are linked to the hotel and charge a premium.

The hotel has a hop-on-hop-off stand outside the main grounds and they can offer a discount of 1500 HUF when asked.

I would recommend people to stay here but my only warning is watch out for the ladies of the night who stand by the doors from 9pm onwards.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gareth_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miloscerovic, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

Dear gareth_999
Thank you for the great feedback about the staff and facilities. I will definitely share your feedback with the restaurant staff. Please accept our apologies for not delivering the prompt restaurant service.
With my very best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews