We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, club access a must”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Budapest
Ranked #27 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2011

My husband stayed here for four nights. The location is perfect for walking to most sites. Comments about the reception area and restaurant being smokey are true. This is a problem in many europeon countries. I would strongly recommend paying for club access and foregoing a room with a view. The club has the view as well as a great breakfast, afternoon snacks and happy hour with hot and cold food that can easily be dinner. And, it is no smoking as well as a quiet place to relax and read when you want to take a break. Wifi is free with lounge access only. Several computers are also available for guests.

The only complaint I have with the hotel is that the room doors slam when closing. I realize this is a common problem with most hotels, but it disturbs an otherwise quiet comfortable sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miloscerovic, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

Dear Diane B
Thank you for the great feedback. I certainly agree with you that Club Lounge really enhances experience in the hotel and i would strongly recommend it for all. On a side note, we will look into your comment about the doors and hopefully resolve that issue in no time.
With my very best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,482)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,255 - 2,261 of 3,482 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2011

Great Location but reception can be very smokey. We took my inlaws there for a night and had a suite with an additional adjoining bedroom. Great views over the danube.

When I've been there on business I've ordered room service but this is really not very good (cold food, poor quality). There are plenty of restaurants nearby.

Once on arrival, my (upgraded) suite was not ready for me so they put me in the Presidential Suite - that was an excellent experience and, as I had an advance rate, very cheap, only cost Euro80!

So this hotel will always be one of my favourites :-)

Room Tip: Riverview room is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canoepunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miloscerovic, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

Dear ebookpunkie
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that we are one of your favourite hotels. Please know that as of January 1st, smoking will not be allowed in Budapest caffes, restaurants etc. With that said, lobby bar will not be allowing smoking inside. Good news for non smokers :) (including myself).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Great location on Danube near Chain Bridge. First rate concierge service. Fabulous breakfast spread. Large comfortable room. My only complaint was their exorbitant 10 euro per hour internet access charge, which I declined, since a 5 minute walk took one to a McDonald's with free access.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Desert_Eagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miloscerovic, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

Dear Desert_Eagles
Thank you for your positive review. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We recently spent four nights at the Intercontinental Budapest following a Danube cruise. This hotel is in a wonderful location, riverside with a fabulous view across the river to the Buda hills and the Chain Bridge. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and even though we were only on the second floor (or 3rd floor in North American terms), street noise did not present a problem. We did try several of the local restaurants, but on the last night enjoyed a dinner on the terrace (which I understand was closing for the season a few days later). The food was surprisingly good, service was excellent and the view again was wonderful. The hotel was well located, in a good area, within walking distance of many of the major attractions. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Staying on riverside is a must!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 16canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miloscerovic, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

Dear 16canuck
Thank you for your review. The terrace is only a seasonal outlet and it depends heavily on weather condition. As it became cold outside, we closed the terrace as of las week. I am happy to hear that you managed to experience the great views from there and also to enjoy your dinner.
All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Location is superb, fortunately our room had a fantastic view of the Danube and Palace across the way. At night, it was breathtaking. Hotel is really suited more for the business traveler a step back into the '70's. Room was nice and comfortable, small bathroom. Close restaurants on the water. One complaint was directions to the Hotel provided on their website. It stated the wrong train station to arrive in (there is only one downtown, the Kelenti terminal), how much a cab would cost (they state 25 Euros) in reality its only about 9 Euros, which hurt negotiating with taxi drivers (I was clipped for 15, thinking I was getting a good deal). Other gripe was charging for internet service, I think about 6 Euros for 15 minutes. Also, look out for the Budapest hotel and tourism tax...about 25%. Fighting through all this, it was still an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Request a view of the Danube...well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bhawknine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miloscerovic, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

Dear bhawknine
Thank you for the positive feedback. With regards to the taxi charges, we can only guarantee you the price for our hotel, Mercedes E class service as it is the only one we can rely to. We are happy to offer and organize other city taxis but as you mentioned in your post, the prices vary and the service is not consistent. I am glad you found the hotel and our services very pleasant.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My time in Budapest was very short (just 1 day), but what made seeing the city easier in such a condensed amount of time was the fact that the Intercontinental is perfectly located in easy walking distance from the main sights. In fact, I think this is a perfect city for walking around - cross the bridge and take the funicular up to the Castle district.

Somewhat smallish rooms, but comfortable. We didn't have a great view from our room, but I'm told the views from the rooms looking out towards the river are beautiful and I can believe it - the hotel is situated directly on the river overlooked by an old castle. Plenty of little cafes around with live music and a nice atmosphere.

Front desk was helpful with restaurant and taxi reservations.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunny77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miloscerovic, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

Dear Sunny777
Thank you for takinig the time to post your review. Budapest is a lovely city and i wish you got to spend more time here. Perhaps next time, when you return to Pearl of Danube, you will be able to enjoy one of our rooms with a great view. Until then, i remain with my best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I stayed here few in February and in June multiple times during both months.

I am very happy with the hotel, everytime I stay here, I always get the view of the Danube river. Being a Platinum Ambassador member has its perks, such as room upgrades, fruit and bottled water.
Service is good and I have no complaints whatsoever and very classy hotel. Like most hotels in a big city food is expensive.
I have stayed in the Suite and regular rooms both facing the river. The suite is awesome having both sides of the building.

Location is great its close to everything you need and want. During summer time its a very nice walk along the river or the bridge. Its nice to eat outside the patio with great view of the river and castle. I like the mixture of old and new buildings.

Every time I visit Budapest no doubt I will always stay at this Hotel.

Room Tip: If you can spend the extra €/$ its worth to get the river view especially at night time. I like whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRAI79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miloscerovic, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

Dear BRAI79
Thank you very much for posting this review and also for being part of our Ambassador program. Your loyalty and multiple stays are much appreciated. Please let me know if you plan to visit Budapest in the near future.
With my very best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#30 of 334 in Budapest
3,097 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#15 of 334 in Budapest
4,350 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Budapest

Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#10 Family Hotel in Budapest
#10 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#16 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#24 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £105 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Budapest hotel is situated directly by the Chain bridge overlooking the Royal Palace. This impressive hotel offers 402 beautifully appointed guestrooms, many of which enjoy a fabulous river-view. You may also choose from 18 exquisite Suites and a Presidential Suite. State-de-art conference facilities with capacity up to 900 person; 10 breakout rooms; Club Lounge with a breathtaking view of the Danube; SPA; 24 hr Fitness Centre, swimming pool, steam room and sauna; All day dining Corso Restaurant, Bar. An ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Budapest Hotel Budapest
Budapest Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing