We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ladies of the Night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Budapest
Ranked #30 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2008

The hotel itself is typical of the hotel chain, the rooms fantastic (but you have to pay more to look at the Danube). The breakfast was very well presented, but it was COLD every day (we were there for 4 days and we got up early!!) A word of warning, there are many "ladies of the night" crawling around outside the hotel looking for business. Not very nice if you have children with you or a man on your arm, beware. Oh, and forget about Budapest being a cheap destination, it was very, very expensive. To get to city centre hop on the train at terminal one and buy a ticket 300HUF, will take you into the heart of the city. Do not go near a metro station without a ticket, the inspectors are scary and dont speak a word of english (but then again my Hungarian is zilch). We paid £40 for two salads and two small beers......... this I regard as expensive........ but do enjoy its a beautiful city, the people have yet to smile, but I am sure they will get there..eventually.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Sleepbabysleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,410)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Budapest
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,510 - 2,516 of 3,410 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2008

Travelled in Dec 2007 for three days with husband 11 month baby and 3 yr old. Booked on website and emailed extra requirements such as airport transfer E40 cot etc. Hotel exceeded all expectations. The service was incredible, we were treated like royalty from the time we were collected at the airport to the time we departed.They were so accomodating with the children, nothing was too much trouble and we never had to ask for anything it was all offered or suggested. The room was really big, two double beds a bed- setee, room for a cot and a table and chair.Plenty of room even with all that. Our room overlooked the river (worth getting).We booked club room which gave us access to club lounge with free snacks soft drinks all day, continental breakfast there in morning and 2 hr happy hour in evening with free drink. Budapest is lovely, was there before but will definately stay at the Intercontinental again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Emma000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2008

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights, and it was a very overpriced tourist trap. The room was tiny and overcrowded. There was an insanely (as they all are) overpriced minibar, and the cleaning staff wouldn't even change the bed linens without having to be cajoled. Not to mention we got the "ugly" side of the hotel, facing a construction site! The staff, was just okay,very unfriendly, not nearly as coddling as I expected in such an expensive hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Mallyrose87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2008

We came back on Saturday. Hotel is in a fantastic location and the view from our room across the Danube was wonderful. It is near all the sights you would want to see. We had a family room with two double beds and it was great for three of us. I agree that the bathroom is rather small but that view compensates for a lot. The tram stops right outside which provided a bit of a novelty for our 14 year old who gets bored easily. Be warned that the hotel taxis charge a lot more than other taxis. We took one from the airport which cost 4,100 forints and the one going back cost us 6,500!

Stayed: January 2008
Thank LondonMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2008

Went to Budapest for New Years Eve, staying at the Intercontinental.

It was exactly what you expect from a chain such as the Intercontinental - clean, good service, good facilities but pricey bar. Staff were very helpful throughout.

Excellent location on the Danube opposite the palace. Walked everywhere, although very very cold. We were given a room with a view over the Danube at no extra cost, although I believe you would usually have to pay a supplement. Breakfast wasn't included on our rate, but good places recommended in Time Out guide.

We booked via a travel website, and for three friends sharing a room (standard room with two single beds and a good quality "camper" bed) it was a little snug but absolutely fine as were were hardly in the room so suited us well and reasonably priced.

Would recommed as a good base for visting Budapest.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jec77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2008

I've been travelling to Budapest very often for business purposes and stayed in this hotel numerous times. It has a great location near the Chain Bridge on the banks of Danube, great views over the river and Buda. Close to metro (400m), walking distance from parliament and other attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank marek1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2007

Absolutely fabulous location in the city with a great view from the riverside rooms. On my recent visit (3rd) this year I was rather shocked by the front desks arrogant, like bean counter behavior. As I was arriving around 8.00PM my registration for the room started with argument over the confirmed rate. Similar argument took place during the breakfast to make sure the hotel will honor the breakfast rate. Anyone visiting Budapest four times a year may wish to consider alternative lodging provider.The rate for average night appears to be excessive as it relates to the provided services.

Tomas J. Chroust

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chroust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 332 in Budapest
3,006 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#15 of 332 in Budapest
4,252 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Budapest

Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#10 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Family Hotel in Budapest
#16 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#26 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £114 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Budapest hotel is situated directly by the Chain bridge overlooking the Royal Palace. This impressive hotel offers 402 beautifully appointed guestrooms, many of which enjoy a fabulous river-view. You may also choose from 18 exquisite Suites and a Presidential Suite. State-de-art conference facilities with capacity up to 900 person; 10 breakout rooms; Club Lounge with a breathtaking view of the Danube; SPA; 24 hr Fitness Centre, swimming pool, steam room and sauna; All day dining Corso Restaurant, Bar. An ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Budapest Hotel Budapest
Budapest Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing