We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Danube Vista” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterContinental Budapest
Ranked #23 of 340 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Danube Vista”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Four night City Break through Jet2 holidays,being November we decided that a top class hotel would be a safeguard lest the weather became severe. Excellent hotel, really helpful and friendly staff, especially the concierge desk staff who gave us great advice on sites to see and restaurants to try. The facilities are good with a swimming pool and gym; we did take a look at the facilities but found so much to see and do that we never found time to enjoy them which was a shame.
The location made sightseeing easy and the river views at night were well worth the modest additional charge for a river view. We'd certainly consider another visit, perhaps in the spring or summer as a contrast.
We booked taxi transfers online and were met at the airport and collected for our return exactly as promised; all in cost both ways €41.00.

Wat

Room Tip: Request river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Wat,
I am glad that you have spent an enjoyable city break with us. It makes me feel especially proud to see that you found our staff really helpful, friendly and that you even highlight the great advices of our concierge team. I hope to welcome you back next year when I'm sure you will take a chance to find out more about the relaxing atmosphere of our Spa.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,071
    854
    159
    39
    21
See reviews for
463
1,310
152
678
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (948)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

What a stunning view of the Danube from our room..and so beautiful after dark..rooms were very nice. Lively bar area in the lobby. Very good breakfast buffet. Would highly recommend the hotel staff from the doormen,front desk to housekeeping.

Room Tip: Any room with a view of the Danube
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdeal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear cdeal12,
thank you for placing your comment. I am very much pleased that you highly recommend our staff from all professional areas. I am glad that you have enjoyed your morning meal with us. I am looking forward to welcoming you back again for a breathtaking evening panorama from our windows.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

I booked this hotel with a BA late deal and received exceptional value with breakfast included.
We paid extra to have a river view room and it was one of the best views I have ever had from a hotel window. In fact we didn't close the curtains so we could lay in bed and enjoy the view of the Chain Bridge which just happens to be a replica of the one in my home town of Marlow so it was very interesting. This hotel is in the best location, everywhere is walkable and you can't get lost. All the staff were a credit to the Intercontinental brand. Excellent breakfast choice, busy but never felt crowded and no queues at the freshly cooked station. The Concierge were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We went to the Gellert Spa one evening (when in Rome etc !)...... what a disappointment, a dismal place in my opinion with miserable, grumpy staff, so expensive just to sit in warm water and then have to pay extra for a towel when you get in, so after a 10 minute soak we walked back to the hotel to use the spa there. It is small but it has everything you need with the exception of a Jacuzzi, it is also free and we wished we hadn't paid £17 each at The Gellert. It was so relaxing and after a session in the superb steam room I felt very relaxed for an evening in the bar, enjoying a cocktail and again the views.Our bathroom was smaller than average for a hotel of this size but very clean, and a problem we had with shower head was fixed while we were at breakfast, full marks to maintenance.
OK, the building is not pretty and doesn't have a local atmosphere but if its a smooth experience you are after you cant go wrong at this superbly run hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room on the diagonal on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LWells2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear LWells2310,
thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel. I feel honoured that you mention the staff is a credit to our brand and that nothing was too much trouble to the Concierge. I wish to express my solidarity to your inconvenience in the city spa - on the other hand I am just grateful to hear that the relaxation in our Spa InterContinental exceeded your expectations. I will forward your positive remarks about the smooth and efficient job done to my maintenance team manager. It makes me especially proud to learn that you have found our property as a superbly run hotel in the aggregate.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Yours sincerely,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

A hotel that has excellent staff and service in a great location. Bonus was to be able to sit outside in the sunshine and have the wonderful view too. Breakfast was very good with a large selection of food. Special mention to the concierge team - they know everything!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view on a higher level floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hedgehog90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear hedgehog90,
thank you very much for placing your review. I am happy to learn that you have found the staff excellent and even more our concierge team proved to be In The Know with their support throughout your stay. I very much hope that we can welcome you back to enjoy the wonderful view on the Danube and the Castle Hill in the near future.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

A very comfortable hotel in a great location - a stone's throw from Old Town. Breakfast was included and it was excellent. Lots of hot coffee, very good service and an nice selection of whatever you eat for breakfast - from eggs to miso soup. Rooms are spacious as is the bathroom. We were pleased to have an window that opened for fresh air while sleeping. Our only criticism was the charge for WiFi. We ended up going to the "English" pub across the street which had free WiFi. Later on we stayed at the Intercontinental in Prague and their WiFi was free for an hour at a time. We wondered about the inconsistency.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Cheryle S,
thank you for placing your review. I am delighted to read that you found our hotel comfortable with a unique breakfast selection and spacious room and bathroom space. In regards to wi-fi charges I would like to inform you that InterContinental Hotels Group offers the benefit of free internet for Elite members and it will be available to all members in 2014. I do hope to welcome you back in our hotel in the near future.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
129 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

I had to book a club room as the regular rooms were sold out and did not regret.
It was difficult to find a hotel if you arrive by metro but once you are there you know the way back.
This hotel is on unbeatable location overlooking the bridfe and the fortress.
My room was a kind of traditional style (interconti is more on that side) but wonderful. The views from my room and from the club lounge were spectacular.
Breakfast was great and the afteroon snacks delicious, especially the cakes. Once you have a glass of champagne and a meal, you sit by the window and you wish you never left! Amazing.
Also used the pool and spa and was surprised how nice it was.
The reason I did not give 5* was that staff did not speak good any of the foreign languages. They did not understand me in several occasions using English or German.
Rest was perfect!

I would recommend it to everyone especially to those who value the traditional luxury.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ludwig70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Ludwig70,
thank you very much for placing your review. I am happy that you did not regret, indeed enjoyed the Club Lounge facilities and that this experience has contributed to a memorable stay. I am happy to learn that the food selection in InterContinental Club exceeded your expectations. I am glad that you also found the SPA facilities surprisingly nice.
I hope that we can welcome you back in our hotel on your next trip to Budapest as well.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We traveled to Budapest Nov 2013. As always, we did our research which includes Tripadvisor and many other forums and sites. We learned about the city, sites to see and the must see museums. Once we arrived we were received with service, comfort and a great location. As most of us know, we research our destinations and sometimes reality and the research don’t align. Well, Budapest and specifically the Intercontinental Hotel aligned perfectly, plus exceeded our expectations for our trip. The staff was very attentive and helpful, however Robert at the front desk and Martin at the hotel Lounge were excellent and quick to advise and help at every moment.

The Hotel location allowed us to discover the city easily. The lobby view, breakfast view, hotel lounge and specifically room view were amazing to say the least. We enjoyed the city, but loved to fall asleep with the great view. If you are considering Budapest; we urge you to seriously consider this Hidden Jewel in Eastern Europe “Intercontinental Budapest”.

Room Tip: Make sure you select a River view room in a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itmosnter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear itmosnter,
thank you very much for sharing all your experiences regarding your trip to Budapest. I feel extremely glad learning that you found the Hidden Jewel of Eastern Europe! As you write you came well prepared and selected your accommodation carefully. It makes me proud that you have found the staff attentive and helpful and please rest assured I will forward your positive feedback. I am happy that the view, the breakfast selection and the Club Lounge services made your holiday even more enjoyable.
Looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel next time as well.
Kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 340 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#19 of 340 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,856 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 340 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Budapest

Property: InterContinental Budapest
Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#7 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Family Hotel in Budapest
#16 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#20 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Budapest hotel is situated directly by the Chain bridge overlooking the Royal Palace. This impressive hotel offers 402 beautifully appointed guestrooms, many of which enjoy a fabulous river-view. You may also choose from 18 exquisite Suites and a Presidential Suite. State-de-art conference facilities with capacity up to 900 person; 10 breakout rooms; Club Lounge with a breathtaking view of the Danube; SPA; 24 hr Fitness Centre, swimming pool, steam room and sauna; All day dining Corso Restaurant, Bar. An ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your InterContinental Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Budapest Hotel Budapest
Budapest Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing