We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, top quality hotel in a prime location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Budapest
Ranked #29 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed at the Intercontinental Hotel Budapest for 12 nights and would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Budapest, for a hassle free and relaxing stay.

The location of the hotel is prime; right on the banks of the river. If you could get a room with a river view I imagine it would be quite superb. The hotel is opposite a tram stop (I can’t be more specific as to which one!) which provides access to the suburb areas which aren’t as easily accessible by foot.

My stay was with business, but at the weekend I endeavoured in the usual tourist activity and managed to do everything by foot. The Szechenyi Chain Bridge is a one minute walk providing easy access to the East where you can ride the Funicular railway to Buda Castle (access in 30 minutes). On the Western side, I walked as far as the Heroes’ Square which again took approximately 30 minutes.

The hotel rooms are spacious; the bed is very comfortable and the standard of cleanliness and housekeeping is high. It was a relaxing stay and the ambience of the rooms made you feel at home.

The staff at the hotel were friendly and had good knowledge of the city, subsequently being able to provide recommendations for things to do and restaurants to visit.

I had breakfast most days at the hotel as well as room service a couple of times and can have no complaints – the breakfast was particularly good with a large selection.

Overall, I’d recommend and wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again should I visit Budapest in the future.

Room Tip: If possible get a room on a higher floor with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banno88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Banno88,
First of all let me thank you taking your time writing your detailed comment. I am pleased to see all your specifications about the surrounding city highlights and description how easily you could get to the places of attractions. I am most delighted to read that you found the room spacious and comfortable with a high standard of cleanliness. I am happy that you could feel at home and received knowledgeable recommendations. I would be very glad to have the chance hosting you again in our hotel on your next trip to Budapest.
Kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,571)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,547 - 1,553 of 3,571 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

We chose the Intercontinental based on its location, views, and reviews and facilities . It rated really highly for location, views from the river side , and also most importantly staff friendliness and care.
We chose the hotel for a joint 50th birthday , taking 2 of our children along.
ALL our expectations were exceeded. We paid to be upgraded to a higher floor room and boy was it worth it . Absolutely awesome view of Buda Palace, Chain Bridge and Fishermans Bastion, beautiful from first light to nighttime when fully illuminated with a wide sill to sit on and soak up the view. The staff were ALL helpful and attentive and special mention to all the lovely waiting staff who greeted and paid such care to us each morning( we stayed 5 nights) and the Doormen who greeted us so well.The restaurant overlooks the river and Palace. The breakfast was excellent from full cooked , specially prepared omelettes to order , , cheeses , breads , cereals and even a Japanese section with rice , miso soup , noodles and baked salmon. The only suggestion would have had a fresher selection of prepared fruit . It all looked mainly stewed / processed.
The spa looked great although we didn't use, the staff helpful , a lovely pool rarely busy with sauna and steam room, all very clean as were locker rooms and a well stocked gym.
We were so pleased to have chosen this hotel and would stay here again . We would thoroughly recommend the Intercontinental .

Room Tip: Make sure you pay the small amount extra to upgrade to river room and one on a higher floor eg 6 to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frodo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Frodo_10,
Thank you very much for taking your time writing your comment. I feel proud that based on previous guest feedbacks you have chosen InterContinental Budapest for a joint 50th birthday celebration. I am happy that you could take a lifetime memory of the breathtaking view from one of our riverside rooms. Thank you for complimenting all the staff for their attentiveness and helpfulness. I find it great that you wrote about your breakfast and spa experience. I am very much looking forward to be standing at your disposal on your return to the city.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Spent five nights here on a short break fir my wife and me. What a brilliant experience this hotel truly is. All the staff were friendly and very professional. They know how to make folks feel welcome. Our room was spotless, serviced every day and very comfortable. The view from the window (looking across the Danube) was breath-taking.
Breakfasts were a real treat, with a fabulous array of many kinds of food.
We had dinner in the hotel on two evenings - a great choice on the menu and food beautifully cooked and served. Thank you, InterContinental, for top class hospitality and service. Hope to be back!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear James C,
Thank you very much for taking your time writing your review. I am glad that you chose our hotel for a 5 nights experience being your home away from home. I am most pleased that we could make you feel most welcomed and that you were satisfied not only with the restaurant selection but were also amazed by the class hospitality and service provided. I do look for the next opportunity to provide same high standard of welcome and treatment when you return to this fascinating city again.
Kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Loved my time in Budapest. Its the first time I have been to Hungary and the hotel made us feel welcome. Very quiet at night and lovely breakfast provided each morning. Its a great location for tourists to stay as is walking distance from a lot of tourist spots.

Room Tip: rooms facing on to the danube provide a stunning view both day and night, the back rooms are not so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank car0lyn1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dearcar0lyn1983,
thank you for writing about your travel experience. I am very happy that we could make you feel welcome at this new destination for you. We love to contribute to guests' comfort from the first moment of arrival to this marvelous city full of historical and cultural highlights. I hope its charm captured your heart for a return trip in the near future.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Fabulous location on the banks of the Danube. Very convenient for sightseeing and some really good eateries.
Try a walking tour of both Budapest and Pest to get the most of a short break. Don't be put off by festivals, join in!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRC1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear JRC1947,
thank you very much for placing your review. I am very happy that you note taking a great weekend at a fabulous location in our hotel enjoying even festival experience. True, that Budapest Spring Festival offers a most colorful selection of cultural events even compared to previous years. I hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent location, beautiful views. Breakfast was pretty amazing too if you look out from breakfast hall.
All the staff were helpful and pleasant. No issues to report.
Thank you for making our short stay great.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sophie0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Sophie0304,
thank you very much for taking time writing your review. I am very glad that you found our hotel a great place to stay at. I am happy that you took advantage of the amazing breakfast and that you liked the staff being helpful and pleasant throughout your stay. I would be delighted to welcoming you back in the near future.
With warm regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights 14/3/14 to 17/3/14 with BA holidays. We paid extra for a river view and was well worth the extra cost with fantastic views from the 9th floor. Hotel is central and breakfast was very good with a vast selection. Staff were very helpful, happy and obliging. Only down side is very expensive bar prices.

Room Tip: Order a high floor with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 820ChrisN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Chris N,
thank you for writing your comment about your recent stay. I am glad that you found InterContinental Budapest a great hotel and chose to enjoy the world heritage panorama which can add to the holiday as a lifetime memory. I am highly pleased to learn that you found the staff happy and obliging. I would be glad if we could serve as your 'home away from home' next time when you visit Budapest again.
Yours sincerely,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 336 in Budapest
3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Budapest

Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#16 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#25 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £112 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Budapest hotel is situated directly by the Chain bridge overlooking the Royal Palace. This impressive hotel offers 402 beautifully appointed guestrooms, many of which enjoy a fabulous river-view. You may also choose from 18 exquisite Suites and a Presidential Suite. State-de-art conference facilities with capacity up to 900 person; 10 breakout rooms; Club Lounge with a breathtaking view of the Danube; SPA; 24 hr Fitness Centre, swimming pool, steam room and sauna; All day dining Corso Restaurant, Bar. An ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Budapest Hotel Budapest
Budapest Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing