We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous view of Danube River and the Chain Bridge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Budapest
Ranked #27 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here for the F1 weekend. Luckily, I stumbled on Bennie Ecclestone in the lift. I asked for a room with a good view Danube River and the Chain Bridge. I got it. Check in was quick and I managed to get a room straight away even though I arrived at about 10am. The restaurant downstairs facing the river is simply gorgeous. Live music at night and great food and lovely service. The salmon meal was the best I've ever had. The hotel is nicely located close to malls, shops and night life. When I come back to Budapest I'm staying here. No second thoughts.

Room Tip: Get a corner room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kkn889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear kkn889,
thank you very much for placing your reveiw about your summer experience. I read with delight that your check-in went smooth, you found the restaurant gorgeous, the live music great and the service lovely. I would be more than happy welcoming you to InterContinental Budapest on your next visit to this fascinating city.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,469 - 1,475 of 3,509 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

Great hotel in a perfect location to explore on foot. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to a suite which sounds like quite a common occurrence. The view of the royal Palace and chain link bridge were fantastic from the room.

The hotel was clean and modern. Mini bar prices were a rip off (as per usual). And there is a free internet option, however, it did drop out quite often so I was continually logging back in - but hey, it was free.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Chris H,
Thank you very much for writing your comment. I am much pleased that you were satisfied with your spacious suite overlooking to the gorgeous panorama of the Buda Castle and Chain Bridge. I am happy that you found the staff very friendly and helpful such as the hotel clean. I look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you again.
With warm regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed here for a week and the service was second to none, friendly staff, impeccable decor and simply fabulous. Read a couple of reviews on here that suggested getting the river view upgrade and so followed suit and boy was it worth it! Our view was amazing, the Danube and the Castle directly in front of us was an absolute joy to wake up to and see last thing at night.
The hotel is perfectly situated on the banks of the Danube.
The breakfast buffet every morning was superb, freshly made and every possible combination possible. The wait staff were very attentive and polite. The pool and sauna were lovely and the late night gym facility was also greatly appreciated

CONS:
My only issues is that my partner and I without fail got electric shocks whenever we used the elevator, for absolutely no reason this happened all the time! My only major issue with the hotel was that I was charged twice for the room upgrade but when I informed the hotel staff they were very quick to cancel the charge when they realized their mistake.

Room Tip: If available ALWAYS opt for a River View Room - it is worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Sandra N,
I wish to say thank you for your pros & cons in your comment. Although our aim is to provide perfect atmosphere and treatment I keep it at high importance to hear the true experience of our guests. All your feedback is much appreciated and I am delighted that you had many things to enjoy from the worthwhile river view to the restaurant, spa facilities and the interaction with the staff. I wish to welcome you again on your next trip to Budapest.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Centrally located, this hotel is in the Pest business district, but rooms on the Danube River side have spectacular views of Buda's old world castles and bridges. The breakfast buffet is enormous and filled with something for every palate. Internet service is good (but expensive for the fastest connection). I stay in a lot of hotels, but this hotel exceeded my expectations. I was able to walk to business meetings and the hotel had all of the amenities required for a working stay, yet the room was so beautiful and with such a great view that I felt like I was on vacation. This was my third trip to Budapest and I will definitely stay here next time rather than the other two hotels I previously stayed at.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Danube River. Well worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank born2bwild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear born2bwild,
I wish to say thank you for writing about your memories collected in Budapest. I see how the pure beauty of this unique area of the city enchanted you. I am much pleased that the services provided in InterContinental Budapest exceeded your expectations and I am very much excited about welcoming you again on your next visit.
Yours sincerely,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Our first stay at the InterContinental Budapest has been a real joy. The staff was very kind and eager to help. We got the ambassador upgrade to the river view suite, and the river view is spectacular (the hotel is right on the river... you could jump and swim in the Danube). Breakfast buffet is really high quality, not your typical hotel kitchen collection. Water comes in glass bottles. Very quiet and relaxing spa. Sleeping was easy because you can't hear any sounds from the street or adjoining rooms. Cleaning staff comes around twice a day to keep you comfy. Oh, and location is the best in the city (in the new city, anyway). You can walk anywhere. Baby crib was new and good quality, our little one slept better than at home.
I could go on but you get the point. Every detail is taken care of here. :-)

Room Tip: River view suite is worth paying extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tzvika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Tzvika B,
I much appreciate your comments written. I am much pleased that you met a staff as being eager to help and to keep you comfy. I am happy that you found the room soundproof and your little baby had a nice sleep in the quality baby crib. I would be delighted to host you again at InterContinental Budapest on your next trip to Hungary.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

This was our second time staying in this hotel and we couldn't imagine staying anywhere else in Budapest. The staff could not have been more helpful and polite. Nothing was too much bother. We had a room with a river view which was amazing. The room itself was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet had a large selection and the restaurant in the evening was very good. We look forward to returning to this beautiful hotel and city.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Terry C,
Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am much pleased to read that you are choosing InterContinental Budapest for your city break for the second time being satisfied with the staff attitude, the room on the riverside to enjoy and not to forget about the abundant choice of breakfast. I hope to be providing a recurrently warm welcome in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Spent a 4 night break here in March. Worth paying for a river view room on the 8th floor which has a window spanning the width of the room. Magnificent night vista with bridges and castle lit up until the early hours.

Five star customer service. Breakfast and evening meals superb.

Room Tip: 8th floor river view at Chain bridge end
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyndael78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear lyndael78,
thank you very much for writing your review. I am much pleased that you found InterContinental Budapest a highly recommendable hotel. I am glad that you took note of your four night city break enjoying the truly magnificent view and our customer service. I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 335 in Budapest
3,121 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#15 of 335 in Budapest
4,377 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Budapest

Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#10 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Family Hotel in Budapest
#16 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#24 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £106 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Budapest hotel is situated directly by the Chain bridge overlooking the Royal Palace. This impressive hotel offers 402 beautifully appointed guestrooms, many of which enjoy a fabulous river-view. You may also choose from 18 exquisite Suites and a Presidential Suite. State-de-art conference facilities with capacity up to 900 person; 10 breakout rooms; Club Lounge with a breathtaking view of the Danube; SPA; 24 hr Fitness Centre, swimming pool, steam room and sauna; All day dining Corso Restaurant, Bar. An ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Budapest Hotel Budapest
Budapest Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing