We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Budapest
Ranked #26 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

It is so nice to stay in a hotel where everything works so smoothly and well! The breakfast works very well, the table cloths are clean, it is easy to get a taxi by the front door, the rooms are clean, nice and big enough. The view to the river Danube is excellent and the hotel is situated in the center.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are not facing the river, so I would recommend to ask for a room with a view to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaupunkiarviot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Kaupunkiarvio,
Thank you for writing your comment. I am much pleased to see that we won your satisfaction with smooth operation, breakfast, cleanliness and being well-located. I hope we can welcome you again in InterContinental Budapest.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,202
    932
    175
    46
    22
See reviews for
501
1,404
163
729
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,002)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
449 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Although when I came to this hotel a song from 1408 movie was playing in the elevator, the place has nothing to do with the Dolphin hotel from the mentioned motion picture :-) Perfect location on the embankment of Danube, wonderful friendly service, good restaurant. I took a superior river view room and it was absolutely worth every penny. Excellent spacious room with huge panoramic window facing the Danube river, Castle Hill and Chain Bridge was totally amazing. Convenient bed, cozy sofa, great bathroom, iron and ironing board, minibar with great selection of drinks - everything was designed to make my stay as pleasant as possible. Excellent hotel! Too bad there're no balconies in the rooms though.

Room Tip: Select a river view room - it is worth the extra fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amk2f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear amk2f,
Thank you very much for writing your comment. I am very happy to see that you found our hotel services close to perfection. Thank you for the compliments about the selected room rate and the comfort of the room. I am glad that we could make your stay pleasant and hope to be repeating this nice experience in the near future.
With best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have had many holidays over the years but after our recent 4 night stay here, have put this hotel at the top of our best hotel list. Staff of all grades were so friendly and helpful. We loved our large Deluxe room facing the river. The room had everything we could wish for, large settee, lots of wardrobe space, kettle, iron and ironing board and even an umbrella provided in case of rain! The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable and we slept very well. Like most other reviewers, must mention the wonderful panoramic view from the large windows, so pretty at night when buildings over the river and Chain Bridge are lit up. Must also mention the lack of noise - we heard no sound from rooms on either side or above us and no banging doors at night. Plenty of choice for breakfast too. As for Budapest, we noticed how clean and well looked after it is. Shops stay open until late evening and main shopping street in Pest is lively. We really enjoyed visiting Budapest and will never forget this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: For greatest enjoyment, a room overlooking the river is essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SylviaNottingham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear SylviaNottingham_UK,
Thank you very much for writing your comment. I am so proud reading that you chose InterContinental Budapest to be on top of your hotel list. It is a real pleasure hearing your compliments about the staff attitude, room equipment, comfort of the bed and the lack of noise. I am happy that you found Budapest itself a very attractive city and I would be very glad to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.
With kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

...don't spend them here for although the hotel is ideally located, is well appointed with a friendly and helpful staff in both the hotel and the excellent bar and restaurant, there is sadly an element of prejudice at reception. I had booked a room with a king-size bed and a river view. The receptionist, glancing at my partner asked, upon reflection quite inappropriately, if we were sharing the room. We were given a twin-bedded room. The receptionist’s question was inappropriate and under EU law illegal, followed by a subjective judgement. In a country like Hungary, with a well-know history and policy of discrimination, making a point at the time would have been foolish and unhelpful as well as hugely embarrassing. If you have pink pounds, dollars or florints to spend, go elsewhere.

Room Tip: A river view is essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Mike H,
Thank you for taking your time writing your opinion about your recent stay. I read with concern that you booked a king bedded room and received a twin bedded one. I regret that there was a platform of miscommunication while check-in which could have been clarified and handled better. I understand your disappointment and I can ensure you that our overall aim is to create a welcoming and comfortable home-away-from-home atmosphere for all our guests. On the other hand thank you for the recognition of cleanliness, location, service, sleep quality and value. I confidently hope that this one-time occurance will not deter you from choosing InterContinental again.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbana, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

One of the best hotel's I have been too. I try to stay at an intercontinetal everytime i travel if i can. The hotel front desk was helpful, car service was good, breakfast, wifi, service, nice bar as well. It's in a great location to serve as a base to explore the city. i will stay here again when i return. I was here for New Years and couldnt have been happier with my choice

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albertini3666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Albertini 3666,
Thank you very much for taking your time writing your comment and for being loyal to InterContinental. I read with delight that you were satisfied with our front desk, car service, breakfast, bar and wifi connection. I would be very glad to welcome you back again on your next trip to the city.
With kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Nothing bad to say about this place! Ideal location, situated right by the chain bridge. Short walk up to the parliament buildings, bronze shoe war memorial and around 10 minutes walk down to the famous food market. Buses and tram are very cheap to travel on and you can easily make your way over to Buda to see the castle or walk/climb unto the viewpoint where there is a massive fort with lots of history!

Overall, comfy beds, great location, lovely staff. Can't fault the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamCW92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear AdamCW92,
Thank you very much for writing your comment. I am very happy that you could enjoy your stay in this historically rich city. Thank you for your compliments on the lovely staff. I would be glad to host you on your next visit to town.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The perfect place to start our river cruise. The River Danube a very short walk away. Just outside was the tram system. Plenty of restaurants to choose from. A great shopping experience another short walk. The sight seeing hop on/off bus was within yards of the hotel door. The hotel was great in every way offering help with trips, whilst the rooms were clean and adequate. Highly recommend this hotel for a trip to Budapest. Excellent buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the river is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelhappyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear TravelhappyEngland,
Thank you very much for taking your time writing your comment. I am pleased to read that you found InterContinental Budapest a perfect place to start your river cruise. I am happy that you found the recommendations of the staff helpful, the rooms clean, the breakfast excellent. Thank you for recommending this hotel to other visitors of Budapest.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#31 of 334 in Budapest
2,949 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#20 of 334 in Budapest
336 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#16 of 334 in Budapest
4,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Budapest

Property: InterContinental Budapest
Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#9 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Family Hotel in Budapest
#16 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#23 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Budapest hotel is situated directly by the Chain bridge overlooking the Royal Palace. This impressive hotel offers 402 beautifully appointed guestrooms, many of which enjoy a fabulous river-view. You may also choose from 18 exquisite Suites and a Presidential Suite. State-de-art conference facilities with capacity up to 900 person; 10 breakout rooms; Club Lounge with a breathtaking view of the Danube; SPA; 24 hr Fitness Centre, swimming pool, steam room and sauna; All day dining Corso Restaurant, Bar. An ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Budapest Hotel Budapest
Budapest Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing