We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for a view of the Castle”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Budapest
Ranked #27 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a view of the Castle”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Amazing location for a Danube river view room , (especially if you are ever there on August 20th when they have national day fire works on the river and the chain bridge just in front).
Great staff who all speak excellent English amongst no doubt several other languages. Drinks perhaps a little expensive by local standards, but you are paying for one of the best locations. Near sites, museums and shopping as well as public transport.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view. Preferably towards the middle of the hotel as it is staggered and if you stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear KMT54,
Thank you for placing your review. I am grateful to read how much you liked the National Day celebrations with fireworks. Thank you very much for your compliments on the staff and services. I hope to be welcoming you back again.
With kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

3,354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,190
    923
    173
    45
    23
See reviews for
498
1,393
162
725
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,000)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights as part of a river cruise/tour with Avalon. The hotel was quite busy with several different cruise groups and business guests. The lobby and public areas are clean and fresh flower are everywhere. The location of the hotel is one that really can't be beat if you are a tourist. I would strongly recommend booking a room with a view of the Danube. The views at night are wonderful. Unfortunately our room(601) had a rather sad view which faced the back street, looking across at tiled roofs. Our room had two twin beds and a comfortable arm chair. The bathroom was clean, however the towel rack was positioned too close toilet (see photo) and should be moved.
Breakfast was included with our room and I thought there was an excellent selection of foods, which would please guests from many different cultures. The service in the breakfast area was excellent, coffee and juice were offered to us right away and there was always someone around to clear plates and top up your coffee or tea. We choose not to eat dinner at the hotel because there are several very good restaurants along the promenade and we found the prices at the hotel to be a little high.
My only complaint was that we could hear noises that sounded like a creaking/squeaking door, it was coming from a room nearby but I couldn't see where there was a room directly beside us because we were right beside the elevators. The noise was always very late a night 12am or 1:30am and woke me up both nights.
I would recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: request a room with a Danube View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear brewster69,
Thank you for taking your time writing your comment and for sharing your experiences about the hotel interior as well as about the room comfort. I regret that a few details have clouded your stay on the other hand I am glad that you found the food selection excellent and especially that you recommend our hotel to your friends to stay at. I hope to welcome you on your return.
With best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
538 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Located on the Pest side of the river, I stayed recently for several nights with not one disappointment or complaint, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The lobby houses large seating areas, an ATM (located behind the registration desk), a 4-elevator bank, a business centre, and a bar/restaurant. There's also an outdoor bar/restaurant attached to the hotel that faces the walking area along the river.There's a post box right outside the hotel doors or the concierge will take your things to post and money for postage and take care of your post for you. (you can also charge the cost of postage to your room) There is a fee for using the computers in the business centre.

My room was on the 4th floor facing the Danube and the Buda side of the river with amazing views. I was upgraded due to my status with IHG properties. It was a spacious room, adequate washroom, clean, quiet, and comfortable. The room included a mini-bar/fridge, television, desk, and small chair. The in-hotel wi-fi worked fairly well but seemed to work much better in the evenings. Air conditioning worked well throughout the property and was a welcome respite during a hot period in the city.

The staff were all very attentive, from the doormen, bellmen, security gents (in suits) strolling the property inside and out, the front desk staff, wait staff, and the housekeeping staff - all friendly and helpful. An outstanding concierge team speaking several languages. Very helpful and friendly with suggestions for tours and walks, with maps at the ready. Room service was professional and friendly.

This location is prime for walking in Budapest and pretty much at the foot of the Chain Bridge. Close to hop on hop off, taxis at the front door, and the Eurama Travel Agency inside the same property, with its tour buses literally at the front street. Easy walking in several directions to pubs, restaurants, museums, and other attractions.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river have incredible views but may cost extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear AdventureLass,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments. I am pleased to read your observations which describe the hotel interior, room equipment, wifi usage and staff attitude. I am really happy that you were satisfied with your additional benefits as an IHG Rewards Club member and liked the adequate room provided. Special thanks for noting and complimenting staff and especially the outstanding concierge services. I am much looking forward to a warm welcome on your return to the city.
With best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
685 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 476 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This really is an excellent mid range hotel. The location next to the Danube by the bridge is stunning. Lovely building with elegant lobby - quick efficient check in. Rooms are large, comfortably and nicely decorated and ours had fabulous views of the river. Service and staff were excellent. We ate out as with business colleagues but breakfast was very good. Our stay here was excellent. One of our colleagues was mugged right outside the hotel which was a frightening experience for him so always keep your wits about you. I would absolutely return to and recommend this excellent hotel. 10/10

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear regulartraveller01,
Thank you very much for taking your time writing your comment. I am pleased to read that you had a great hotel experience, that you liked the stunning Danube view and found the rooms comfortable as well as being well decorated. Thank you for mentioning the excellent service and staff. I regret the accident that happened to your friend on the street which might shadow his holiday memories. On the other hand I am happy that you left with positive remarks and I would be delighted to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

A very nice hotel; fantastic breakfast buffet, beautiful lobby, and excellent location by the Chain Bridge. Budapest is a very walkable city, and if you're willing to put in the legwork, you can walk almost anywhere you'd wish to go from here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear bitbytravelbug,
Thank you very much for sharing your travel experience. I am happy to read that you found the hotel nice, the breakfast fantastic and enjoyed the hotel atmosphere as well as the surrounding sights. It is true, one can explore the hidden beauties and treasures of Budapest especially by walking the streets and not to forget to look up at the facade of the buildings that will unfold much of the city's and the nation's history.
With best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

An excellent and elegant hotel, very courteous staff, well versed in English. Rooms are quite large and the view of the sea from my room was fabulous. The morning breakfast buffet was sumptuous.

Location is fantastic, by the river Danube, and a walk along the river is fantastic.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear anirban73,
Thank you very much for writing your comment about the elegant hotel experience with courteous staff around. I am happy that you could enjoy the fascinating panorama over the river Danube and the surrounding world heritage sight. Walking along the river bend is an attraction itself no matter which time of the day. I hope to be welcoming you again in the near future.
With best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed at the Intercontinental for our 30th Wedding Anniversary and the hotel gave us a bottle of champers to celebrate which was a nice gesture. The hotel is in a perfect location on the Danube with good views of the Castle. The rooms, we had just the Classic, were comfortable with a good size bathroom. There was a plentiful breakfast with a good choice but would have liked a better selection of fresh fruit eg strawberries, oranges etc. Overall though very good. Plenty of restaurants in easy walking disitance as are many attractions. The Hop on Hop off Bus Stop is literally just across the road. Couldn't fault the helpfullness of the staff and all very friendly. A good hotel and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Tracey4461,
Thank you very much for sharing your hotel experience. I am much pleased to learn that you chose InterContinental Budapest for celebrating your 30th wedding anniversary. Congratulations! I am happy that we could contribute to make this special occasion unforgettable. Thank you for mentioning that you were satisfied with the size of the bathroom and found the hotel staff friendly. It is great that you mention about easy-to-do sightseeing and thanks again for recommending our hotel to other travellers. I hope to be welcoming you again in lovely Budapest.
With kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 334 in Budapest
2,924 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#17 of 334 in Budapest
320 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#18 of 334 in Budapest
4,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about InterContinental Budapest

Property: InterContinental Budapest
Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#9 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Family Hotel in Budapest
#16 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#23 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Budapest hotel is situated directly by the Chain bridge overlooking the Royal Palace. This impressive hotel offers 402 beautifully appointed guestrooms, many of which enjoy a fabulous river-view. You may also choose from 18 exquisite Suites and a Presidential Suite. State-de-art conference facilities with capacity up to 900 person; 10 breakout rooms; Club Lounge with a breathtaking view of the Danube; SPA; 24 hr Fitness Centre, swimming pool, steam room and sauna; All day dining Corso Restaurant, Bar. An ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Budapest Hotel Budapest
Budapest Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing