We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Budapest City Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Budapest City Center
Ranked #104 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Baku, Azerbaijan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

You will never lost your hotel, if you'll stay here. Absolutely great location. Good rooms. We had infrared sauna in our room, great to warmup after long walking tours in this Windy City. Everything was fine, we stayed fir two nights. Only thing I can notice is a poor room service, for example, we used some sugar and tea, and it wasn't refilled. The rest of the staying in this hotel was great!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Temisa78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Temisa78,
Thank you for your kind words, we are happy that our hotel met your expectation. It is lovely to hear that our guests could take advantage of our optimal location in the center of Budapest. We really do hope to welcome you back soon.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    1,022
    460
    147
    60
See reviews for
318
1,016
104
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
119 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We stayed in the superior room no. 705 for four nights. There was free Wi-Fi and Privilege Lounge access included It was not very big but anyhow big enough. The carpet was very dirty and told us what kind of guests stay there and that the management doesn't care about cleanliness so much. It should be removed.There was mold between tiles in the bathroom. Towels had a smell of acetic acid or something like that. I couldn't use it for my face. Every day they forgot to bring something; tea or shampoo or vanity set... But linen was good and wifi, too. We really hated to go to have breakfast. It seems many tours use the hotel so it was always very crowded and noisy. Everytime there was some food missing so I had to ask to bring. There were not enough waiters for those crowds. One day there was no napkin to hold loaves of bread so everybody was touching bread. When I told this to the main waiter he said he would bring a napkin but I said: "And bread, too!" I was also surprised to find pasta and polenta at vegetable corner. But watermelon was very good and there was cappucino and espresso, too. We usually had coffee at the Privilege Lounge, because most of time there was nobody. There were just the same biscuits in different shapes there every morning and sometimes more in the afternoon, sometimes the same. It was only the last day that we could find some good dishes in the evening like stuffed baby pappers dry tomatos which were really very good. We felt they had very few guests with Privilege Lounge so they didn't care much about it. We ordered a taxi to the airport the previous day but it came about 10 min late without any apology. We thank Miss Dayana Leonel for her kindness. The best thing of this hotel is location. With my experience in Europe I can say this is more 3 star than 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marjana1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Marjana1952,
Thank you for your detailed comments. We appreciate your positive feedback on the location of the hotel and the Privilege service. We apprecaite that you draw our attention on many things and please note that we took the necessary steps to prevent any similar inconvenience in the future. Thank you once again for having given us information on your experience in Mercure Budapest City Center. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manasquan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Right in the center of everything-We were here for four nights and it was absolutely just what we needed! There's a metro a short (5 minute) walk away... very easy to get to the baths and any other attractions...The hotel was very clean and also had air conditioning (the price was just what we needed as well!) you can walk out the front door of the hotel and you are in the middle of tons of stores and very close to the famous market in the city (Great Market Hall) AND right near the water so you can walk 5 minutes and take an amazing night-time tour of the Danube. You can even walk across the bridge to the Buda side of the city. I would stay in this hotel again for sure.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lspeirs89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear lspeirs89,
We are happy to hear that we are your favourite in Budapest. We can only agree with you that our hotel provides the best location for discovering the city of senses. We hope you will choose again our hotel during your next trip to Hungary.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

The hotel is located at the Vaci Utza St. which is the main street in downtown Budapest, walking distance of all the tourist attractions like the Gellert Spa, the city's market, lots of stores at the Vaci Utza St. - highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nir P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Nir P,
We are happy that you enjoyed the very center location of our hotel and you could benefit from it. Cafés, restaurant and many entertainment possibilities and of course the main attractions are in an easy reach on foot from the hotel. We are looking forward to welcome you back to Budapest – to the city of senses.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I was very disappointed with the hotel from the start.
Accessibility: Driving to it was a nightmare, I know they had no control over the road construction going on, but it took 40 minutes to go one kilometer. It is located in the very center/shopping district.
I got there and the front desk showed no customer service and was very blunt, made no eye contact and I was assigned to a smoking room without even being asked if I was ok with it.
Before I went up I asked if I could get another room and they were not very thrilled.

I was then sent to a tiny "corner/triangular" room ( only other option according to them)... very small and cramped, a tiny window which is all but unaccessible, and doesn't even fully open.

Bathroom: there is no room in the bathroom for toiletries, not even a washcloth and the shower is a slip hazard! Bathtub is too tall to get in, yet when you are done showering there is water all over the floor, adding to the slip hazard.

Parking cost 20 euro a day, there's no gate or ticket machine at the parking entrance.... the hotel has a huge sign saying they are not responsible for the car.

Sadly already paid and 3 more nights to go. I"ll be back to Budapest in a few months but will not stay at this hotel. I do not recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Illywhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Illywhilly,
Thank you for your detailed comments. Regarding your critical points, please note that we took the necessary steps to prevent any similar inconvenience in the future. Some points are to be addressed during the upcoming deep cleaning and hardware changes will be carried out at the next renovation project. Due to that our hotel is the only 4-star hotel in Budapest being surrounded by walking street from all sides and it is now a reconstruction work in the area, means bit a complicated parking. Thank you once again for having given us information on your experience in Mercure Budapest City Center. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#52 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#75 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#79 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Budapest City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest City Center

Property: Mercure Budapest City Center
Address: Vaci utca 20, Budapest 1052, Hungary (Formerly Taverna Hotel)
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Budapest
#74 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#75 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#80 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Budapest City Center hotel is located in an exclusive area, in the historical, shopping and business center, in Váci street. It is the only 4* hotel in Budapest which is surrounded by a pedestrian precinct. The main sightseeing attractions of the capital are within walking distance or can be easily reached by underground or other public transport. Discover Budapest - the city of senses - and enjoy every minutes of a special and unforgettable stay in our hotel. Business guests will appreciate the use of free WiFi Internet access and the indoor parking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Budapest City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest City Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest City Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing