We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Budapest City Center
Ranked #110 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed in the Mercure for four nights lately. The location is excellent. It is in the shopping district and yet within walking distance of the Danube and all types of transportation. The buffet breakfast is very good with many choices. The room we had was small but well maintained. Wifi is excellent and the staff were very helpful. Book this hotel and you will not be disappointed.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MaywoodDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear MaywoodDublin,
Thank you for your wonderful remarks. We really appreciate hearing from you and reading that you were satisfied with the excellent loaction, the hearthy breakfast and especially with our helpful staff. It's a special pleasure for us that you recommend us. We really do hope to welcome you back soon.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

828 - 834 of 2,598 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Francisco A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed For 4 nights . Very Clean, Well located Just in The city center on vaci uca street. Good breakfast with a very friendly waiters. Free Wifi. The reception staff Were nice but we felt that they are very streaked and not going "The extra mail" For you.

Thank ליאור ונגה ע
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear ליאור ונגה ע
We were so pleased to read your feedback. It is lovely to hear that our guests could take advantage of our optimal location in the center of Budapest. It's a special pleasure for us that our hotel met your expectation in terms of breakfast and cleanliness. We really do hope to welcome your back soon.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Ludek2014
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and i must say that this is a lovely hotel, brilliantly located with some fantastic staff. The facilities are superb and the hotel is constantly clean. However the hotel is let down a little by the rooms which our party were in agreement were not of a 4* Mercure standard. The rooms feel a little dated and are a real contrast to the standard of the facilities (bar, reception and breakfast room). I do feel for anyone who pays the full 180 euros a night.

Overall a good stay, and if the price is fair I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Make sure you argue for a double bed if that is what you have paid for. The hotel seem to try and ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leejames89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear Leejames89,
Thank you for your detailed comments. We appreciate your positive feedback on the staff attitude, location of the hotel and our services. Regarding your critical points, please note that it will be carried out at the next renovation project. Thank you once again for having given us information on your experience in Mercure Budapest City Center. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We enjoyed a great business trip in this hotel. Location is perfect, hotel is nice, always smiling and professional staff. Privilege Lounge is extremely good for business travellers. I will definitely come back to this Mercure.

Room Tip: Privilege room with Privilege Lounge access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vlada74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Vlada74,
Thank you so much for choosing Mercure Budapest City Center during your stay in Hungary. We appreciate your nice comments. It is always a pleasure to know that our Guests are satisfied with our hotel and services. We are all delighted that you had a great business trip with us and especially with our professional staff. Special thanks for staying with us next time when you come to Budapest.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

No complaints whatsoever, well worth the money. Location, accommodation service all good. Quiet at night , breakfast room and food of a high standard. Reception staff, good English and very helpful. Many interesting sites within walking distance

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alastair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Alastair D,
We were so pleased to read your feedback. It is lovely to hear that our guests could take advantage of our optimal location in the centre of Budapest. We are more than happy that you were satisfied with our hotel and services and especially with the breakfast and our staff. It's also a special pleasure for us that you found our hotel to be good value for money. We really do hope to welcome you back soon.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#74 of 336 in Budapest
899 reviews
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#53 of 336 in Budapest
1,531 reviews
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Budapest City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest City Center

Address: Vaci utca 20. | Parking address: Petofi utca 14., Budapest 1052, Hungary (Formerly Taverna Hotel)
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Budapest
#75 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#79 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £54 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the taste of the city from your room. Feel the touch of Downtown Budapest in one of our freshly designed rooms. Be inspired by the local architectural treasures and unique historical facades. Let us open a door to Budapest. You will enjoy being in the heart of the historical and business center of Budapest at Mercure Budapest City Center Hotel in Váci Street. The River Danube, ruin pubs, stylish restaurants, shopping center and famous baths are within an easy reach. The main metro station are also at your feet. It is a straight road from the airport to the hotel and limited onsite parking is possible. You can choose from Privilege or Suites next to the standard rooms to ensure your full comfort with Privilege Lounge access to relax after a busy day. Benefit from the hotel central location and let us provide passionate services you might need during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Budapest City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest City Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest City Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing