We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for weekend visit...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Budapest City Center
Ranked #103 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
302 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for weekend visit...”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here for a second time and you really can't find a better spot for a weekend break, although the rooms are only small they are spotlessley clean, comfy beds and adequate bathroom - if you were staying for more than a couple of nights then i'd advise finding a hotel with bigger rooms - but for a weekend break when you really spend no time at all in the hotel the position of this hotel far outweighs the size of the rooms.
It is literally on the main shopping street, close to loads of restarants, five minute walk to the river, five minute walk to the square where you catch the city tour buses. Although we went on the bus and boat tours we walked everywhere - to the market, margaret's island being the furthest and didn't find anything too far from this ideal situation...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear DAVID H,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments. We can only agree with you that our hotel provides the best location for discovering Budapest – the city of senses. We hope you will choose again our hotel during your next trip to Hungary.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    632
    1,070
    490
    157
    66
See reviews for
339
1,070
107
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The location of this hotel is great but it's really shabby and in need of renovation. The bed was comfy though,really small rooms. If you are on a budget then maybe it won't bother you. The staff are nice. The breakfast was ok,they did have a nice coffee machine for expresso etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glzum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Glzum,
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your positive feedback on the staff attitude, location of the hotel and our breakfast services. Please note that the mentioned critival points are to be addressed during the hardware changes will be carried out at the next renovation project. Thank you once again for your feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel is fantastic on the Pest side of the Danube.
This hotel was part of a package with event travel. We were first of all given a room on the first floor, the room smelt, the beds were not comfy, there were stains and burns on the walls and carpets, disgusting.
After complaining we were moved to the sixth floor, the room smelt much better and was much cleaner, but still by no means 4* standard. The corridors were still dirty, stained, in disrepair!!
It's a real shame because the reception, bar and breakfast area are fine and breakfast is ok, but the rooms and corridors are 2*

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Liz A,
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your positive feedback on the location of the hotel. Regarding your critical points, please note that these are to be addressed during the hardware changes will be carried out at the next renovation project. Thank you once again for having given us information on your experience in Mercure Budapest City Center. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The location was great, walking distance to everything, walk out from the bar and you are on the main shopping street, around the corner from "fashion" square with all the trendy places, 2 blocks from river front. Could not fault the location, close to attractions, shopping, eateries etc.
The staff where very friendly and efficient, all spoke multiple languages which is helpful when you only speak one!
Room was simple, clean and the bed comfortable as you would expect from a Mercure / Accor property but it is in need of some modernisation. The WiFi was great, reliable and fast.
Budapest was the surprise packet of my trip, loved, loved, loved it. Had no expectations and found it to be clean, friendly and fun. The people seemed to be grateful that you where there as a tourist, spending money in their town, not as an inconvenience to their lives. There was so much to see & do, I walked for miles and it is certainly on my list of places to go back to.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Lee S,
Many thanks for your positive opinion you have shared about our hotel. We really appreciate hearing from you and reading that you were satisfied with our hotel and services and especially with our staff. Special thanks for staying with us next time when you come to Budapest.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Mercure for four nights lately. The location is excellent. It is in the shopping district and yet within walking distance of the Danube and all types of transportation. The buffet breakfast is very good with many choices. The room we had was small but well maintained. Wifi is excellent and the staff were very helpful. Book this hotel and you will not be disappointed.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MaywoodDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear MaywoodDublin,
Thank you for your wonderful remarks. We really appreciate hearing from you and reading that you were satisfied with the excellent loaction, the hearthy breakfast and especially with our helpful staff. It's a special pleasure for us that you recommend us. We really do hope to welcome you back soon.
With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
District V / Inner City
Eurostars Budapest Center Hotel
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#53 of 333 in Budapest
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#77 of 333 in Budapest
835 reviews
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#78 of 333 in Budapest
1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Budapest City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest City Center

Property: Mercure Budapest City Center
Address: Vaci utca 20, Budapest 1052, Hungary (Formerly Taverna Hotel)
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Budapest
#75 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#75 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#80 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mid-scale hotel for business trips or leisure New, freshly designed rooms are available. Experience the taste of the city from your room. Feel the touch of Downtown Budapest in one of the freshly designed rooms. You will enjoy being in the heart of the historical and business center of Budapest at Mercure Budapest City Center Hotel in Váci Street. The River Danube, museums, stylish restaurants and famous baths are within an easy reach. We offer free WiFi throughout the hotel and an Internet corner at the bar. You can choose from Privilege or Suites next to the standard rooms to ensure your full comfort. It is a straight road from the airport to the hotel and limited onsite parking is possible. Váci street, Vörösmarty square, UNESCO world heritage sights like the banks of the River Danube and Andrássy Avenue are at your feet. Benefit from the hotel central location and let us provide you with any information you might need during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Budapest City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest City Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest City Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing