We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CITY BREAK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Mercure Budapest City Center
Ranked #109 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here at end of may for 3 night city break .Hotel was clean and tidy and breakfast was fantastic . great choice from juices ,cold meats ,cereal,bread .pastries hot buffet food fresh fruit etc .hotel was right in main street so close to all you want to see and do .If i have one gripe then i thought foe bb was very expensive . walk 10 mins down road and plenty of reasonable bars and restaurants close to jewish mosque

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiviaNagyidai, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear PAUL64WEBSTER ,

Thank you for your kind feedback after your stay at Mercure Budapest City Center.
We are more than happy that you were satisfied with our hotel and services and especially with our staff and our breakfast offer.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

761 - 767 of 2,525 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed here for five nights May 2014. I was originally located at another hotel in Budapest which was much nicer and also cheaper than this hotel. It was a night and day difference. This hotel is located directly in the middle of city center which makes everything easy to get to. The staff were helpful and friendly. I don't know how this hotel ranks a four star unless it is based on the location. The rooms felt dated. The beds are horrible. They are a thin mattresses and don't provide much comfort at all. Housekeeping did a good job though. The rooms here are in serious need of some updating.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TTBayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiviaNagyidai, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear TTBayer,

Thank you for your detailed feedback! We appreciate your positive feedback on the location and the staff of the hotel. Regarding your critical points, please note that these are to be addressed during the hardware changes will be carried out at the next renovation project. Thank you once again for having given us information on your experience in Mercure Budapest City Center. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Writing from my room at Mercure, very disappointed.
As a platinum member of Club Accor I felt treated like any walk in guest.
I obviously stay at Accor Hotels a lot, mostly Sofitel, Pullman, Novotel and sometimes Ibis - I don't recall ever staying at a Mercure so this may very well be my first and last time.

First of all, I had to ask if a room upgrade was available while the desk people should look into it autonomously due to my status.
According to them I was then upgraded to a higher level room that faced Vaci Utca - all I see from the first floor is an abandoned terrace and I wonder if the upgrade is about the Nespresso machine - for which I get capsules every other day only?

The room is barely a 2 star standard with dirty carpet and MDF furniture from the 80s. I have to say they have a really good photographer.

The window is blocked, can only open 5cm - in a smoking room?? I asked to have it unlocked so I could get some fresh air - answer was NO.

I was denied access to the lounge. Again, I am a Platinum member and in the benefits included there is lounge access.

Breakfast isn't exciting at all, pastry are very low quality and the coffee machine is cheaper than those you find in train stations.

The only positive things I can think about are the location and the renovated bathroom with a nice shower.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank gmv80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear gmv80,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comment. We are pleased to read your positive comment regarding the location. We are sorry for the inconvenieces. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great hotel, superb location! The bar man Andy was very helpful & friendly! Restaurant next door served nice food by friendly staff!
Customer service on the whole in Budapest is not great! And don't buy hop on hop off bus tours!!! This hotel is so close to everything! Cruise down the Danube at night is a must, also ride the wheel (carling eye) great views from the top! And try the chicken from de Marcos cooked on hot stone! You finish off the cooking at your table, what an experience and tasted lish also
Pleased my partner & I visited Budapest.... Thanks for the welcome & many experiences! If we come back would defiantly use this hotel again :)))

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Karen R,
Thank you for your wonderful remarks. We are more than happy that you were satisfied with our hotel and services and especially with our staff. Your valuable words were a real recognition of our every day effort. Special thanks for staying with us next time when you come to Budapest.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We booked hotel accommodation for three months in advance. When we arrived at reception we were told there is no room. That was overbooked. And transfer us to another hotel. We refused this suggestion that this hotel was farther away from the center. After about three hours we got a room with two single beds and a broken window. Promised to bring a fruit basket as compensation but they did not.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bitzerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LiviaNagyidai, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear bitzerg,

Thank you for taking time to share with us your experience.

Unfortunately the hotel was fully booked due to a technical reason and we had to take this unfortunate decision and transfer some of our guests in one of our sister hotel, which is located also in the center of Budapest.

We understand your disappointment. and we sorry for all of the inconveniences you experienced during your stay, including the room and the missing fruit basket.

We do hope you will give us an other chance to accommodate you in the future.

Kind regards,




Thank you for the time to share with us your experience. I am terribly sorry for all of the inconveniences you experienced after your arrival and during your stay. Unfortunately the hotel was overbooked due to a technical reason. Our collegues tried to find the best solution for the problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

On arriving at the hotel and checking in, we were allocated a room on the 2nd floor, in the corner facing an inner courtyard. The room narrowed towards the window and was not well lit with natural light. We immediately returned to reception and asked if we could have a better room. After a short wait we were allocated another room on the 6th floor, which was better. The corridors and rooms are rather worn and shabby with torn wallpaper and stained carpets. The room was adequate and clean. On the 2nd night we returned to the hotel after a very hot day to find we had to bathtowels. After a phone call and a 15minute wait they were delivered to the room.
The breakfast was good. The dining room was bright and had a view overlooking the main pedestrian street. There was a good choice of food which was replenished regularly. The only thing missing was English Breakfast Tea-bags. There were several flavoured teas but not plain breakfast tea.
The location was excellent for city centre, right on the pedestrian street, with a 2 minute walk to the Danube.
On checking out, reception phoned taxi for us to go to the airport and they advised it would be 25euros. But on arriving at the airport, the taxi driver wanted 28euros. But eventually settled on 26euros!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VisitorT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear VisitorT,
Thank you for your detailed comments. We appreciate your positive feedback on the very central location of the hotel and our services, especially the breakfast. Regarding your critical points, please note that these points are to be addressed during the upcoming hardware changes at the next renovation project. Thank you once again for having given us information on your experience in Mercure Budapest City Center. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

To be located in fashion street gives you everything you need, you can go from Pest to Buda walking and visiting all without using transport. The room has coffee maker to prepare delicious teas, breakfast is very good. Perfect!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berlusina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter S, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Berlusina,
We were so pleased to read your feedback. It is lovely to hear that our guests could take advantage of our optimal location in the center of Budapest. It's a special pleasure for us that you found our breakfast great. We really do hope to welcome you back soon.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
District V / Inner City
La Prima Fashion Hotel
La Prima Fashion Hotel
#51 of 334 in Budapest
1,505 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Zenit Budapest Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Promenade City Hotel
Promenade City Hotel
#75 of 334 in Budapest
878 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#77 of 334 in Budapest
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Budapest City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest City Center

Address: Vaci utca 20 | Parking address: Petofi utca 14., Budapest 1052, Hungary (Formerly Taverna Hotel)
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Budapest
#75 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#77 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#80 Family Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £58 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the taste of the city from your room. Feel the touch of Downtown Budapest in one of our freshly designed rooms. Be inspired by the local architectural treasures and unique historical facades. Let us open a door to Budapest. You will enjoy being in the heart of the historical and business center of Budapest at Mercure Budapest City Center Hotel in Váci Street. The River Danube, ruin pubs, stylish restaurants, shopping center and famous baths are within an easy reach. The main metro station are also at your feet. It is a straight road from the airport to the hotel and limited onsite parking is possible. You can choose from Privilege or Suites next to the standard rooms to ensure your full comfort with Privilege Lounge access to relax after a busy day. Benefit from the hotel central location and let us provide passionate services you might need during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Budapest City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest City Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest City Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing