We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Benczur Hotel: Worth a Second Look”
Review of Benczur Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Benczur Hotel
Ranked #161 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Spruce Grove, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Benczur Hotel: Worth a Second Look”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

My wife and I have stayed at the Hotel Benczur several times over the past 5 years. In each instance the hotel has been good for us and those we have brought with us. We have not heard a negative comment. The location is excellent with just a short walk along leafy streets to Heros Square and the beautiful attractions located there. There is a small convenience store just a few steps up the street where you can buy bottled water and avoid the higher prices in the hotel. The only downsides we have discovered are the usual European taste for cigarettes which at times permeates the outside patio and the buffet food which sometimes is filling but could be better. For us, the location is a big "overcomer" in that one could stay there for quite a while without having to use anything other than your feet and the local transportation systems.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    177
    139
    46
    38
See reviews for
74
135
56
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My boyfriend and I was in this hotel last year for New Year vacation. We get samo poor room, nothing specially, but on picture it was totally different story. People in hotel was acting like we are not guest, nobody dont wanna say "hello". Really, this hotel and people in it was so disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Kursk, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The hotel situated pretty far from the center but in 5 min walk to Szechenyi Bath (must visit place), City Park with a small castle, Hero Square and the Zoo. Subway (a very old and very peculiar line) is also 5 mins away. It was built in Soviet times but is clean and tidy. The staff is very hospital, especially in the restaurant and on reception. Breakfast is so plentiful that we spent there more than an hour. Lots of bakery and snacks, including ones of Hungarian national cuisine. Dinner is to be paid for but they provide a discount for their visitors. There's a computer with Internet in the hall. The street is very quiet with almost no traffic. Several restaurants and food stores are nearby. We had a very pleasant stay there.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arublev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Stained carpets. Shower curtains smell of food in the room, cracked paint, all in all a sad sorry affair. Don't be fooled with cheap rate, there are good cheap hotels in Budapest, this is not one of them. Avoid at any cost.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nielsuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benczur, Director of Sales at Benczur Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
We are sorry that you were not satisfied. You were staying in the oldest (standard) part of the hotel. Here are the cheapest rooms. We keep it clean as well, but as it is old and used, it is not as nice as the refurbished wing. The renovated standard rooms(ECO) are available for a little surcharge, but the totally refurbished superior(****) rooms are also not expensive. We always recommend upgrading, if the basic level is not acceptable. But the better the more expensive.
The renovation of the whole house is in our plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Arrived in Budapest to 41 degrees temperature at 10:30am. Too early to check, so came back at 3pm to be given a standard single room, which when booked through Jet2 holidays was stated as being partly air conditioned. It was NOT. Is was dark with minimal furnishings. A hand held shower, together with a single bed which most would refer to as a child's bed. Think basic student accomodation managed by Basil Fawlty, and you will not be far off the mark.Paid 20 euros per night for an upgrade to the newer section on the hotel. Well worth the money. It was a newly refurbished twin, fully air conditioned, 62 channel flat screen, large walk in shower and a safe built in to the wardrobe. Breakfast is very good, but avoid the scambled egg and fried bread. Total disaster. The hotel states it does vegetarian meals. It does NOT. The a la carte consists of 5 main courses, none veggie. When asked, they direct you to the vegetable side dishes on the menu, that go with the main meals. Not exactly what is wanted. Overall the hotel is good with helpful staff, and easy link to 2 Metro stations on Metro Line 1. Get off at Oktagon, and catch either tram 4 or tram 6, both which go across the city. Main Spa is only a 10 minute walk in the local park, behind Heroes Square. Overall, once room changed, an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EcosseJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Nice hotel situated in a good part of town. Only 20 minutes walk to the city centre. The rooms are spacious and clean and the staff is friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vremenar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barzago, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Stayed here during a trip along the Danube. This hotel is a little bit old-style, but the location is convenient: quiet area, very green and close to Andrassy street, Heroes square and to the metro. The staff is very helpful and friendly, rooms are modern, clean and comfortable. Breakfast of average quality.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aconitina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#205 of 334 in Budapest
646 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#127 of 334 in Budapest
337 reviews
Hotel Classic
#257 of 334 in Budapest
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Chesscom
#106 of 334 in Budapest
368 reviews
Terézváros
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
#98 of 334 in Budapest
734 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#131 of 334 in Budapest
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benczur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benczur Hotel

Property: Benczur Hotel
Address: Benczur utca 35, Budapest 1068, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Benczur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Benczur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benczur Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing