We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent hotel”
Review of Benczur Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Benczur Hotel
Ranked #162 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 20 May 2012

The Benczur Hotel was just as advertized. It is a decent and clean hotel in a quiet neighborhood. I knew nothing of Budapest before I booked the hotel, and I would have preferred something more centrally located. That being said, it was easy enough to walk to the metro and ride 10 min to the downtown area. For the price, I think they provide a very nice stay and I would recommend it to someone trying to balance price vs convenience. However, if location is more important to you, spend a bit more and you'll be able to walk more places.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2012

I must admit i was wary when i booked this, single room, eastern europe, i was worried at what i might get (hopefully an en-suite bathroom!!).....more fool me for such ignorance!!
I needn't have worried, the hotel was excellent value for money. It appeared to cater for a number of business clients with a mixture of requirements, single rooms without supplements being one.
The hotel is split into 2 parts, a newer redeveloped wing which i must say was decorated to a better standard (and if i returned again with my partner i would look to book in this side) & the the older wing which is where i stopped.
My room was clean, spacious & had a more than adequate en-suite.
The rooms were cleaned daily & the towels changed daily as well.
I ate in the hotel restaurant & although it was a little more expensive than what was available out in the town i must say the 2 meals i had there were of a very good standard (hence me eating there twice) and well worth the money.
I didn't have the breakfast so can't comment, i can however recommend the supermarket CBA located a block or so down on Andrassy Utca which provided a fantastic pastry, banana, orange & bottle of water for aprox 450HUF per day (about £1.50).
The location was at the top of leafy Andrassy Utca & the neighborhood was a joy to walk round, very safe (even at 2am in the morning). The hotel is located close to the metro line which made getting about easy.
If i had to moan about one thing it was regarding my wine order at the restaurant. The menu stated the price was 450HUF per 'dl' which i assumed was a glass (small). I ordered a glass of the wine & must say i thoroughly enjoyed it. The bill came & i had been charged for 2 x 'dl'......when i queried the fact i had only had one glass i was told there were 2 x 'dl' to a glass!! I am not sure if this was a bit of a tourist rip off but i felt a little conned!
If there is 2 x 'dl' to a glass then why not price the wine at 900HUF for a glass, least i know where i stand then....i mean come on who uses decilitres nowadays???
Anyway minor gripe, i would highly recommend the hotel & if (when) i come back to Budapest i will consider stopping here again....hopefully they have brought there wine menu into the 21st century & price by the glass then!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nho02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We stayed at the Benczur just for one night when we first arived in Budapest. The hotel was lovely and clean and the staff were very friendly and welcoming on arrival. We had booked a twin room which was what we got but the beds were arranged foot to foot against the wall! It looked a bit odd but both beds were comfortable and the room was clean with nice fluffy towels and a good shower.
We had great views from the window of the Pest side of the city and were within walking distance of Heroes Square and the wonderful park. The Art Galleries were nearby too but are unfortunately closed on Mondays which was when we were there.
We were able to leave our luggage in a secure store while we explored on Monday and then had lovely coffee and cakes in the hotel before moving on to our hotel on the Buda side of the Danube.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SheilaGHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed in the Benczur with my 7 year old daughter. The staff were very friendly and accomodating and very good with my little girl, who is at the age when she likes to do things on her own, they kept a respectful eye on her for me.

The location at Hero square could not be bettered if you are staying with children, being within walking distance of the grand circus, theme park, zoo, thermal spa, museums and national park. The hotel is also about 4 minutes from the Hero square Metro, so you can be in central Budapest within minutes, without the noise and bustle of being based there.

The breakfast is self service and has a wide variety of hot and cold offerings with a distintly Hungarian/German feel, meats, eggs, cheese etc. The in-hotel restaurant offers a variety of traditional Hungarian meals and is good food at an acceptable price.

The superior rooms are clean, spacious and tidy and overall i would rate this hotel as good value for money. I will be staying again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cantwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My experience of this hotel could not have been more different from some of the reviewers. The staff are efficient and polite; the rooms are large, well equipped and clean, the shower was great and the restaurant provided good food. I would have no hesitation in staying here again. I have never found a better value hotel anywhere in Europe.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraSStAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The Benczur Hotel is very well located in Budapest, off Andressy Avenue, on the yellow subway line. The Hotel staff are helpful, but customer care can be lacking - this is a cultural issue in Hungary though, where customers have to make do with what's available rather than what they want. The hotel advertise wi-fi but be aware that this is not available in the rooms, but just from the reception and bar area near the lobby. There are two grocery stores nearby, but you will have to go downtown for restaurants and bars in the evening.

Room Tip: Avoid standard rooms at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LB6931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We booked this Hotel, after reading numerous reviews. We weren`t dissapointed.
The staff were very friendly, and spoke good English.
The breakfast was good, and we eat in the resteraunt one night, again, very good.
The location was great for the underground, and Hero`s Square especially.
Only down side, on the last night, a party of Italian students stayed, hence it was very noisy untill 1 am in the room . But security soon sorted this out.
Bedroom was a bit dated, but it wasn`t a superior room, but it was clean.
Certainly a good choice, and good value for money.
Wouldn`t hesitate to stay here again, next time we visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kthdex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Chesscom
#101 of 334 in Budapest
383 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#137 of 334 in Budapest
686 reviews
Terézváros
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
#95 of 334 in Budapest
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#44 of 334 in Budapest
630 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#127 of 334 in Budapest
359 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#126 of 334 in Budapest
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benczur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benczur Hotel

Address: Benczur utca 35, Budapest 1068, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £28 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Benczur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Benczur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benczur Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing