We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family hotel”
Review of Benczur Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Benczur Hotel
Ranked #162 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 25 July 2013

As a frequent traveler my standard go to hotel are the american high ends. This hotel gave us the opportunity to stay at a hotel with more local appeal. Wonderful location, excellent staff, nice place to relax on patio. Our room was CLEAN and large enough for our family of 3. No special extras in bathroom but that was ok with us. The bathroom was large and had an shower. We had AC and safe in room. We stayed for 10 days and needed some laundry done which they handled the same day for us. The food was good and service excellent. We visited with family on the patio area with no pressure from waitstaff. Two local shops for snacks were just steps away, and the one has excellent coffee. Thank you for an excellent stay.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank oscare389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

Just back after spending week at Benzcur. We had room on 6th floor,very quiet,clean and with air conditioning. Staff at hotel were very helpful,gave us information about trips,travel around Budapest and generally were happy to help with any queries we had. Hotel is in nice quiet part of Budapest but still close to centre,you can walk or go on metro. Couple of good local bars with excellent food if you want quiet night away from city centre,only 5minute walk from hotel on Andrassy which is main road into centre. Food in hotel was very good,buffet style breakfast with plenty of choice. Happy with choice of hotel and would definitely go back there.

Room Tip: Make sure room has air conditioning,avoid standard rooms as they don't all have it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luckylady1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I stayed here for a long weekend in July 2013, the hotel is very reasonably priced at 50 euro's per night for a standard room which i think is pretty good for a central european capital.

Its located very near to hero's square (5 minute walk) and also the main strip through budapest about 10 mins walk in the opposite direction. Its set in a quiet and very pretty residential area and if you get the weather which we did its very nice to sit out on the patio at the front.

Breakfast was ok, you had a dish wish couldnt decide if it was scrambled egg or omlette so a bit iffy but apart from that it was ok. There is a small bar in the reception area and the lounge area was fine but basic.

The standard room was ok if a little dated (didnt really bother me) and was clean enough. All in all if i was on a budget and wanted a centralish location then id stay again. Value for money

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This hotel is located in midle of a residential, green area. Walking distance to the famous Heroes squere and the first metro in Hungary and second in the world.
Rooms are in two categories; standard and superior. Staff members are not famous for their friendly attitude, especially on the front desk. Superios rooms are fine, yet bathroom is very small. No special accesoires provided like shower cap and kleenex.

Room Tip: The hotel is situated in a quite area. Any room is ok. Superior rooms offer a bit more confort, yet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katinka D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Hey folks, don't want to burn a hole in your pocket but enjoy a good stay, stay at Benczur.This hotel is centrally situated very near the Great tourist attractions. green boulevard, and no traffic .Very central.Helpful staff. The standard room I chose was below my expectations .Old wardrobes, doors etc. but otherwise ok for two. Large windows. Bright room. I chose staying with the yard/garden view on the 3rd floor. Backside of the hotel. It would be wise to choose a deluxe room next time. The AC in the standard room worked well.

The fridge broke down the first night.and they changed it immediately.

If I was to stay here again I would choose a better, deluxe room. Though the room I chose was not bad except for the noisy closets. No noise from neighboring rooms as I read in the blogs., great breakfast buffet.

There is one downside, Internet is not available in the rooms. You have to come down in the lobby. My daughter was lucky to catch the network from the room, but that was on her I phone.

Lobby is a great place with a small bar. They have several restaurants. GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY FOR EURO 50.00 a night. I will be here for another 6 days.
JOHAR, Norway

Room Tip: Choose a Deluxe room rather than Standard room. Rather on the backside of the hotel. Morning sun, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raminder J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I stayed for three nights and was very pleased with the accomodation for the price. It's not exactly city centre, but it's a 15-20 min walk to the centre and even shorter by Metro. Heroes Square is very close ( <5 mins) which is on the route for all the major hop-on-hop-off bus tours which is very handy.
The rooms were decent enough and well cleaned. My only gripe would be the bar - it's not really a bar, more a poorly-stocked kiosk but there are a few local bars around within a 5 min radius and some really nice and friendly restaurants also close by.
I found the hotel staff courteous and helpful and will definitely be staying there again.

Room Tip: For smokers, ask for one of the rooms that has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stayed two nights with Hotel Benzcur. It is clean and well maintained. We were able to book one of their "anti-allergenic" rooms, which had no carpet and no down, which was perfect for us, as my sister has bad allergies. The hotel staff was very helpful. We had to leave before the breakfast buffet opened up, and so they packed a huge breakfast of fruit and sandwiches for us. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Don't bother with the restaurant-- it is overpriced and low quality. The breakfast buffet is fine.

Room Tip: Anti-allergenic rooms have no carpet and no down pillows or comforters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piac58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Chesscom
#103 of 334 in Budapest
386 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#135 of 334 in Budapest
692 reviews
Terézváros
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
#96 of 334 in Budapest
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#45 of 334 in Budapest
643 reviews
Central Hotel 21
#67 of 334 in Budapest
608 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#127 of 334 in Budapest
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benczur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benczur Hotel

Address: Benczur utca 35, Budapest 1068, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £36 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Benczur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Benczur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benczur Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing