We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Choice”
Review of Benczur Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Benczur Hotel
Ranked #162 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Spent four nights here in Sept 2013. All aspects above average. The neighborhood was great - on a quiet, tree-lined street, one block off the main boulevard and the Metro, two blocks from City Park. The breakfast, the front desk attendants, the rate, and the room were adequate to above average. They even let us borrow an umbrella to use when it was raining. Would recommend and would return again. Footnote: our room always seemed cold?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinLan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

Very nice, cosy, good-located and not expensive. The hotel is located in a very quiet place and is in 5 minutes from the underground which is in front of one of the local attractions – Heroes’ Square and amazing Vajdahunyad Castle. The rooms are not modern, but clean. The breakfast is very nice for 3 stars hotel. The staff is friendly and are ready to help you with your problems. The hotel leaves very nice impression. Don’t hesitate and choose this hotel. Budapest is amazing and all we did staying there, we only woke up, had our breakfast and were discovering this beautiful city all day long before we got tired at least and returned the hotel, happy just to reach the bed)) I wish everybody to enjoy the trip!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fidan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Since this was my first trip to Budapest, I arrived a day early in order to have a look around before boarding my river cruise. Unfortunately, a Lufthansa strike robbed me of that opportunity and I spent the day at Frankfurt airport on stand-by instead. But fortunately, the hotel held my booking, even though it was after midnight when I finally arrived, and the room was as advertised, small, but tidy and with a single bed. I love that European hotels actually have rooms for single travelers and at a somewhat reduced price. The hotel is very much in the traditional style, no frills, but with a computer in the lobby for guest use, I was able to check email before heading off to the pier which was an easy taxi ride away. I'll stay there again given the opportunity just so I can properly explore the hotel's leafy neighborhood!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twintx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The Benczur was my home for another short stopover in Budapest. It's very close to Hösök Tere (Heroes' square) and its park, and just short of ten minutes by subway (five minutes walk) from the centre at Deak Ferenc tér. Around the hotel is a very residential area with nothing much going on – however just about right for a good night's sleep.

Checking in was no problem, and the attendants did what they were supposed to. If not overly friendly and happy, they spoke English satisfactorily and provided what was necessary.

The room was a double and comfortably sized. Decor-wise blue was very prevalent, and not the most modern, but this was not a worry. The bathroom, however, could do with an update and was a bit 70's-ish. A distinct minus was the hand-held only shower, which really is a pain and inconvenience. Storage, however, was plentifully provided. The bed, as well as the quietness of the room itself, made for a good night's sleep. What didn't was the (very efficient, by the way) air conditioning, which sounded like a small jet engine. No hope of sleeping comfortably with it on, which is a real bother when daytime temperatures are above 30 degrees.

Breakfast was a bit under-serviced with many littered tables from previous guests, but the buffet was always replenished. The choice was acceptable, but more types of bread could have been available. The hot egg dish was a white, mushy, strange thing which looked everything but inviting. Apart from this nothing to complain about or remember especially. A plus was the possibility to eat outside on the patio.

In all, the Benczur is not a bad choice, but could do with some improvements. I would probably look around for another option the next time as Budapest offers many hotels in the same price range, but could consider staying again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvmtvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Beautiful hotel! Rich breakfast, a lot to offer and clean rooms! Located in the center, everything is within reach. Lovely stuff... Only thing that I don't like is parking fess... Nearby there is a restaurant Paprika, definitely visit. Hungarian home cooking ... Hope this review was helpfull!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

As a frequent traveler my standard go to hotel are the american high ends. This hotel gave us the opportunity to stay at a hotel with more local appeal. Wonderful location, excellent staff, nice place to relax on patio. Our room was CLEAN and large enough for our family of 3. No special extras in bathroom but that was ok with us. The bathroom was large and had an shower. We had AC and safe in room. We stayed for 10 days and needed some laundry done which they handled the same day for us. The food was good and service excellent. We visited with family on the patio area with no pressure from waitstaff. Two local shops for snacks were just steps away, and the one has excellent coffee. Thank you for an excellent stay.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank oscare389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Just back after spending week at Benzcur. We had room on 6th floor,very quiet,clean and with air conditioning. Staff at hotel were very helpful,gave us information about trips,travel around Budapest and generally were happy to help with any queries we had. Hotel is in nice quiet part of Budapest but still close to centre,you can walk or go on metro. Couple of good local bars with excellent food if you want quiet night away from city centre,only 5minute walk from hotel on Andrassy which is main road into centre. Food in hotel was very good,buffet style breakfast with plenty of choice. Happy with choice of hotel and would definitely go back there.

Room Tip: Make sure room has air conditioning,avoid standard rooms as they don't all have it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank luckylady1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Chesscom
#100 of 334 in Budapest
383 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#137 of 334 in Budapest
684 reviews
Terézváros
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
#96 of 334 in Budapest
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#44 of 334 in Budapest
629 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#128 of 334 in Budapest
357 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#125 of 334 in Budapest
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benczur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benczur Hotel

Address: Benczur utca 35, Budapest 1068, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £19 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Benczur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Benczur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benczur Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing