We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Enough”
Review of Benczur Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Benczur Hotel
Ranked #160 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Decent Enough”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed at the Benczur Hotel for four days in January 2014. I found the hotel to be extremely average. I am not saying this is a bad hotel by any stretch of the imagination. However the room for two we paid for did not have a double bed, rather two single beds pushed together complete with separate duvets. The rooms were comfortable enough but much like the rest of the hotel it was bland and uninteresting. Whilst the Benczur Hotel is cheap and close to the centre of Pest, The breakfast options were unvaried and the hotel could not shake the 'bang-average' feeling it inspired in us. This hotel was decent enough for a short break but be prepared to get what you pay for and not anything above and beyond that.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    177
    136
    46
    36
See reviews for
73
133
55
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Travelled to this property with a group; spread across various rooms and it was very well organised. Upon arrival we did have to fill out quite a bit of paperwork, which took a while with us being a group of 17; although something you get used to travelling in Budapest. We arrived, after a delayed flight, around 15 minutes before the restaurant closed and unfortunately the hotel restaurant wouldn't consider us eating there... although this is also understandable, it did cause some inconvenience. Rooms were well appointed in the main; although the renovated rooms were considerably nicer and this seemed to be continuing whilst we stayed at the hotel, which is positive. The hotel is located in a lovely area, surrounded by a variety of embassies, in a quieter section of the city. It's quite a walk to many of the main attractions; although this didn't bother us much given it's a walk down Andrassy Avenue which itself is filled with character and things to see and do! We stopped for a coffee and made sure that it was leisurely! It is located nearby to Heroes Square, so it's easy to connect to the tourists buses which also seem good value for the provision. Overall; a really good hotel, for good value. Location is something which we found to be okay, given that we could take it easy!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gph92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. We found the hotel to be a little old and in need of some work but overall it was fine. Our room was a good size and was clean. The breakfast was great. The location was good, close to heroes square and close to the metro station. The rooms are not very soundproof, we were kept awake or woken up every night we stayed by a group of loud men talking and shouting in the hallways! We did not sleep very well because of this. Overall we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Great, great location. Like most of Budapest, fair to say this hotel is a little "rustic", which can also have its charm. We asked for a twin room whereby we were given to beds the size of ironing boards! By the third day, I could barely walk!!

There was also no control on the room's heating, so it was freezing between say midnight and 0800hrs, then bizarrely sweltering at all other hours

The hotel is on the Yellow metro line (less than a two minute walk to Hero Square station) so it really does go straight into town with no trouble at all.

The staff were reasonably helpful.

Room Tip: I was on the 7th floor. I think that is where they stick people that fly on or with a certain budget...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The hotel is nicely located in Budapest's embassy area close to Andrassy road, on of the main sights of the city. The hotel staff was very friendly and the rooms were ok. The level of cleanliness could be improved a little, but it was all right. Unfortunately there was no hot water kettle in the Room. Prices of the minibar were very accessible and the same can be said about the hotel in general, which features very interesting prices, also in the restaurant. The restaurant itself was also very nice, serving traditional Hungarian food. All in all a nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Overall, I was a little disappointed with this hotel but I will try and give an honest, balanced review to help others make their decision on whether to stay here.
I travelled with my husband and 22 month old for a 4 night city break. We booked a standard room, no upgrades, and I emailed to hotel in advance to request aa quiet a room as possible, a room with a bath for convenience of the baby, and a sofa bed over a cot as my little girl will not sleep in a cot any more. The hotel promptly emailed me back to tell me that they had reserved a family room for me. I was therefore feeling very positive.
When we arrived, we were swiftly checked in and offered help with our baggage to the room. The guys on reception were very friendly. Before we got to our room it was evident from the corridors that this hotel is in desperate need of redecoration/ modernisation. I was prepared for this having read other reviews but felt that as long as the place was clean and welcoming, the old fashioned décor doesn't really matter for the sake of a few nights. We were definitely welcomed but I feel this hotel could go further in to making the place feel cleaner for its visitors. For example, the hotel is full of net curtains which are not hung properly and in desperate need of a good wash. They were obviously white once but now a dirty grey/brown. Also, there is an overwhelming smell of fried food throughout the hotel around meal times. We could smell it in our room, throughout the corridors and reception area first thing in the morning and when we came back to the hotel in the evening. The ventilation system really needs sorting out because it is not very nice at all.
Our room on the 6th floor, which was not the family room we had been promised but a double room with a travel cot in it (leaving very little room to walk about), had a lot of dust all around the edges of the floor. I wouldn't ordinarily be too bothered if it was just me and my husband but with a little one walking and crawling all over the floor, it was one more thing that made me feel that cleanliness isn't taken that seriously here. Lets just say that the toilet hadn't been cleaned very well from the previous visitors either, so that really put me off. On a positive note, we requested additional pillows and this was seen to straight away! As it was early evening when we arrived we couldn't be bothered to raise the travel cot issue and dirty toilet but in hindsight, I should have asked to be switched to another room. I suspect it would have been much of the same.
In terms of the room itself, aside from the cleanliness issue, it was very outdated and the bathroom was small. We had cracked tiles and the bath was so old that the shiny coating inside it had gone. There was a shower in the bath but nothing to attach it to, which meant you had to sit in the bath to have a shower. Bit of an inconvenience. We got a room to the back of the hotel which was nice and quiet; the heating was set to constant and it got too warm in the room for us, so we were able to open the windows for fresh air without fear of noise. There was air conditioning in the room which appeared to work when I tested it but as the vents were thick with dust I wasn't inclined to use it! There was a TV with a few English-speaking channels and the Wifi worked perfect for us in the room. There was also a fridge/mini bar which I found handy to store our own drinks and snack items. There are no tea/coffee making facilities but that's normal outside the UK.
The buffet breakfast was OK. Plenty of continental options - juice, tea and coffee, fruit salad, cold meats, cheeses and bread rolls but the cooked items were limited to scrambled egg come omelette and frankfurter style sausages. I asked for fried eggs one morning and staff were happy to oblige.
Location-wise the hotel is on a residential street so its pretty quiet. It is a 5 minutes walk to Heroes Square and Andrassy Street which leads you straight in to the city centre. The city centre is walkable in about 1/2 an hour but if you're not a walking person there are metro stops all along Andrassy Street which will take you in to town in less than 10 minutes. Heroes Square is also on the Red Hop on Hop off bus route if you chose to use this service. I would recommend it to get your bearings and to get a feel for the sights in Budapest if you have limited time. The ticket lasts for 2 days, you can use it as many times as you like, and you can get off at any of the sights and just get back on any of the next bus that comes along. You also get a boat ride thrown in.
Back to the hotel. We didn't eat any evening meals there as there are plenty of eateries in Budapest and all along Andrassy Street when heading back to the hotel from the city centre. I would recommend a little restaurant called Andrassy Bistro to taste local cuisine - it is 10 minutes from the hotel and is a friendly, family run business which is reasonably priced.
To summarise, this hotel is very basic but well located. The reception and breakfast staff are a credit. However, I wouldn't go back again as I think you can get just as good if not better deals in more modern hotels that would make your stay feel that little bit more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Upgrade as far as you can go, I found the standard room to be poor. If you want a quiet room then r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances_Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Budapest hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Overall this hotel was very pleasant and me and my friends were treated very politely. I would easily recommend this hotel to anyone. One thing i was not a fan of was the price for a meal in the hotel as i felt the prices were daylight robbery! Anyway i would suggest this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms with the card readers are much better than the rooms which have the keys to enter the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#192 of 333 in Budapest
635 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#131 of 333 in Budapest
328 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#128 of 333 in Budapest
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Classic
#254 of 333 in Budapest
46 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 333 in Budapest
576 reviews
Terézváros
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
#99 of 333 in Budapest
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benczur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benczur Hotel

Property: Benczur Hotel
Address: Benczur utca 35, Budapest 1068, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Benczur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Benczur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benczur Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing