We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and clear location with great variety of breakfast”
Review of Benczur Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Benczur Hotel
Ranked #160 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Kiryat Tivon, Israel
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quiet and clear location with great variety of breakfast”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Decent location near by the metro station. We loved it. This is our third time we stayed there. I would recommend it to elderly people. The hotel is located within a short walk from the Heroes square the huge park behind. Also two major museums in this area.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    177
    135
    46
    36
See reviews for
73
132
55
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I recently stayed at the Hotel Benczur for 3 nights. This 3-star hotel is good value for money and was impeccably clean. However, the real plus for hotel was the staff. They were pleasant, smiling, accommodating and spoke English. The rooms are not big, basic and reminded me of a university dorm; however, it was quiet beds were fine.

The restaurant served probably one of the best steaks I have had in a long time and the wine recommended by the waiter went perfectly with the meal. Crêpes suzettes for dessert were also a lovely addition to the menu. In all, a great dining experience and a pleasant hotel stay.

This hotel is not located in the downtown core. It is near Heroes Square and the Museum of Fine Arts. However, the nearest metro stop is about two blocks away (about a 6-minute walk) and it takes about 17 minutes to get to downtown by metro.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NovaScotian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stenlille
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Nice, fairly centrally situated, and yet nice and quiet. Within easy walking distance to the Széchenyi thermal baths, the Museum of Fine Arts and the magnificent Heroes Square. Nice "beer garden" style outdoor bar/eating area. The single rooms have small single beds, and they are not soft. :-) Service was very good. I would recommend this hotel. Good value.

Room Tip: Maybe check out the size of the bed in the room, if small beds concern you. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longstocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riccione, Italy
Level Contributor
113 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I've chosen this hotel, because a conference has been organized here so the deal was to have all participants close.
When I arrived the receptionist didn't even want to talk to me. After finally have checked-in I noticed the bathroom door, which was almost rotten. To get to the loo I had to open the bathroom door wide, get into the room and close it, so I could sit.
There was no shower, but hot-tub, but no anti-slip rug.
Breakfast was ok, the staff in the bar is very friendly indeed, I only can talk badly about one guy at the reception - that with glasses.

Although the location is perfect, the room was not bad, I hardly think, I would ever come back here. There are much better deals on the Andrassy street, which are just as close to the underground as this one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kishajnalka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckhurst Hill, Essex
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Nice place but book a Superior Room, which are excellent spacious peaceful, and good value for central Budapest at €95 for a double. Breakfast was poor and chaotic. But nice foyer bar area for a last drink on returning from dinner. Service pretty good. Excellent peaceful & safe location right by Heroes Square.

Room Tip: Go for a Superior Room (NOT a Standard Room)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerryTravels608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

in former days (comunism) this hotel was very posh. unfortunately they believe in the "status quo". allthough I had a "superior" room, I don't think it is what one expects from a "renovated" 3* hotel. The carpet was stained and filthy, the grout in the bathroom was moldy and the overall status of the furniture was "used". The elevator can even be heard and feeled in the oposite rooms. There is nothing to complain about the location or the service, thou.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schufti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed four nights at the Benczur hotel in April 2014. The hotel was very good value for money and I would stay there again.
The location is great at the Hero's Square end of the metroline number 1, the oldest and cutest metroline in continental Europe, an experience itself. The hotel is also next door to the park and Schezenyi Spa, a day not to be missed. The area where the hotel is located in a nice area of the city on Pest side, lots of great buildings and many embassies and it is an easy 20 minute walk to the centre and if you are too tired to walk - metro only takes a couple of minutes. There is also a Hop on Hop off bus stop near to the hotel, so it is easy to do sightseeing during the first days.
The hotel itself has a bit of 80's decor, but never mind. The rooms are okay and have a tv and a bath. Beds are bit on a harder side, but that was to my liking. The hotel staff was friendly enough and their english was good and they were always ready to help.
I thought that the continental breakfast they offered was also good value for money, there was enough variation and it got you for a good start in the morning.

Room Tip: There seemed to be upgarded rooms with flat screen tv and then normal ones which were a bit outdated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaanaCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
King's Hotel
King's Hotel
#191 of 333 in Budapest
633 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#130 of 333 in Budapest
328 reviews
Hotel Classic
#254 of 333 in Budapest
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#129 of 333 in Budapest
666 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 333 in Budapest
576 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
City Hotel Unio
City Hotel Unio
#209 of 333 in Budapest
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benczur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benczur Hotel

Property: Benczur Hotel
Address: Benczur utca 35, Budapest 1068, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Benczur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Benczur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benczur Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing