We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looked great from outside”

Museum of Military History (Hadtorteneti Muzeum)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$38.82*
and up
Budapest Castle District Walking Tour Including Fisherman's Bastion
Ranked #119 of 455 things to do in Budapest
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in a former municipal army barracks, this museum traces the history of war in Hungary through an extensive collection of war memorabilia, ranging from weapons and uniforms to coins and flags.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Looked great from outside”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The museum closes at 6 PM and last entry is at 5.30 PM.
We got caught up with all the other things on Castle hill and reached here at 5.35PM, so we could not get entry.
It is a huge building and once on castle hill (either on foot or by bus 16, 16A), walk with your back towards the Matthias Church and take a right from the end of the road.
The museum is located at the very end.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RadhikAkshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    38
    27
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fascinating museum with nice staff!”
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

Thorough museum with lots of exhibits, far more than we were expecting to see in fact. If you're into military history expect to see some awesome stuff but if you're expecting a family day out this may not be the place for you. I think the museum is aimed more at Hungarian nationals than tourists so don't expect to be spoon-fed the complete history of the Hungarian military in English. Some parts were in English, others weren't, I think they are in the process of adding more by the looks of it.

Surprised to read the negative reviews about the museum staff on here - I can only assume its due to misunderstanding the staff's sincerity and pride in their museum. There is a member of staff in every room and of course they kept their eye on us, why shouldn't they? Many of the exhibits are outside glass cases so I wouldn't expect anything less. We actually found them helpful and they often approached us to explain how to use some of the interactive exhibits.

You need a photo pass of you want to take pictures there so either put the camera away or make sure you check what's allowed when you arrive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

This place accepts the Buda card for a cheaper rate. You do have to pay for photos like most other places. If you like military history especially WWII this place is for you. Dozens of guns on display and uniforms. To me the flow (timeline) was hard to follow. Outside has a wonderful view, with a large flag.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Manderax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very detailed and fascinating museum”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Sprawling galleries packed with information and artefacts. There's currently an excellent section about the 1956 Uprising which gives some real insight not just about the situation in Budapest at the time but also the reactions of the rest of the world. Strangely nothing pre the 1848 revolution though.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank HelenMcW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“over officious staff!!!”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

the actal museum and exhibits are good and about half the museum is in english, the problem is that you are made to feel so unwelcome by rude over offcious staff who follow your every move (one even inspected the toilet after i had used it), it is all over the place in terms of order of time but is intresting.
good museum badly let down by staff.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bigrob1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of Military History (Hadtorteneti Muzeum) also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Museum of Military History (Hadtorteneti Muzeum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing