We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Budapest Highlights Sightseeing Cruise
1,980

Book in advance
from
£9.56
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Buda Castle
from £9.56
More Info
from £59.10
More Info
from £18.25
More Info
from £46.93
More Info
Reviews (8,188)
Filter reviews
8,188 results
Traveller rating
4,444
2,823
767
129
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4,444
2,823
767
129
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national gallery history museum royal palace chain bridge cable car the river walk up walk around nice walk fisherman's bastion beautiful building pest guard buda architecture escalator fountain
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,070 - 2,075 of 8,188 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Looking from the Pest side to castle hill is a great . We accessed the castle using the funicular. The castle itself has a lot to look at but the most impressive thing about it are the wonderful views you have of the Danube, Budapest and the chain bridge. It is well worth the visit and can be up to a couple of hours of information and picture taking.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank 48Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Not the Disney style castle like you see in Germany. This looks more like a palace. Its size is very impressive.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Kj W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 September 2016

To be clear there no longer is a castle. The reviews here are misleading. There is a walled complex of the Castle Hill area with a ton to do and see, but the castle itself is no longer there (it was mostly destroyed during WWII). Two wings of what used to be the castle are now the National Library and the Budapest History Museum which are worth visiting. There are some very neat ruins nearby the library and museum which show foundations of rooms. The Castle Hill area also has Fisherman's Bastion and Matthias Church both of which are beautiful. There are a ton of shops and restaurants. If you go, plan to spend most of your day there. The views from the Castle Hill area are beautiful. We didn't take the funicular, we walked and took the stairs. To do this, walk through the tunnel to the right of where people are waiting on line to get tickets to the funicular, then walk to your left and up the stairs. There is a sidewalk in the tunnel.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Spent a very interest few hours inside the castle. Lots of historical information and artefacts. Fabulous views over the Danube and Budapest. Tip: the Funicular Railway is interesting but to save money walk along about 250 m south along river to the Castle Gardens and there is a lift and escalator that will take you to the top for free! This was kindly explained to us by a fellow Brit who was selling tickets for the hop off hop on bus but told us this for nothing as we didn't need the bus service! Very nice man!

Date of experience: September 2016
2  Thank Darren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 September 2016

If you look up from Pest side of the river, this is high up on the hill. When I went there, there was a market on the castle, so it was so busy. The view from the castle down the Danube river was magnificent. The castle is huge, so make sure to allocate enough time to see everything.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank hgenie625
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews