We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“plan ahead”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Parliament

Parliament
Book In Advance
More Info
US$45.86*
and up
House of Parliament Visit and Grand City Tour in Budapest
Ranked #1 of 438 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The domed neo-Gothic structre was inspired by the British House of Parliament and serves as both a vibrant government center and a proud city landmark on the banks of the Danube.
Vadnais Heights, Minnesota
Level Contributor
205 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“plan ahead”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We went to get tickets for the Parliament tour and found signs that told what time each tour would begin according to the language. We had missed the English one so we decided to try to get tickets for the next day. After some waiting at the fenced off area, trying to get the attention of several men standing nearby to make sure no one come in, we gave up and left. We went back early the next day, thinking we would get tickets for later that day. We had the same challenge in trying to get in to get tickets. The men standing near the entrance would not attend to us. Finally, one came over and said all the tickets were gone. I later overhead someone say that tickets could be obtained by going on line. We ran out of time and never ended up seeing the inside of parliament. From the outside, the building is incredibly beautiful. It is also spectacular at night.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank europewithKellynRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23,238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16,130
    5,612
    1,168
    212
    116
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful architecture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

This building is a walk back through time. It sarchitecture was brilliant and very gothic. Lights surrounding teh building really lit it up to the best quality. I never went inside as we were heading a different direction and on a time scale, but will be next time im in Budapest

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“GREAT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Fantastic building. I didn't go inside...but the outside is beautiful

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hawaiiboundToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Visit at Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Beautiful old building that is lighted so beautifully at night. Right now one side is covered with wooden scaffolding. It looks like toothpicks. Be sure to go at night.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ComeHeres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth the early morning queue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012 via mobile

Free with EU passport - take it with you. Only very limited tickets which can't be per booked unless you pay for a group guided tour. Trick is to get there at 0730-0745 that morning, start queuing behind the section of fence labelled "for buying tickets" at gate X. Only 2 or 3 English tours a day, prob only each 50 people. They let you through the fence 4-5 people at a time and you walk across to the ticket office. They give you a ticket with a specified time on it, then just before that time come back to the section of the fence labelled "have ticket" which is just to the right of the section to buy the ticket. A guard will open the fence at that time, then you have to go through x-ray. Tour last about 45 mins. Very beautiful and ornate inside. Can take photos. By the way if you arrive early in the morning at 7.30am and the sign by the buying tickets says "no tickets let for today" don't necessarily believe it, as today they had just not turned the sign around from the day before, and I got a ticket. Highly recommended if you have time, but the ticketing system is a real pain!

Helpful?
4 Thank emblu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Parliament also viewed

 

Been to Parliament? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing