We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busiest Place”

Vorosmarty Square (Vorosmarty ter)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$77.65*
and up
Buda Castle Segway Tour Plus Cruise Combo
Ranked #38 of 455 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of Budapest's most upscale areas offers fashionable shops and numerous cafes and restaurants serving Hungarian and international cuisine.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
842 reviews
626 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Busiest Place”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Their famous pastry shop- Gerbaud House- whose yummy delights have thrilled my wife, owned by a Swiss family, this place boasting with their luxury stores, antique shops. Take a rest and photo shoots a minute or two in the monument of Vorosmarty sorrounded by people from all walks of life.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jun J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    303
    118
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Duffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“full of life”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is a very touristy area so cafes etc are overpriced, (Hard Rock cafe is here but most eat outside so without the 'rock' experience) but there is a good atmosphere and it's fun to eat an ice cream and watch the world go by. In the evening there are sellers of little helicopter-like toys that are pinged high into the air with a rubber band that descend with bright LED lights: if you say 'no thank you' they do not pester you. My son wanted to go on the bicycle rickshaw ride so we promised him he could as his final treat: knowing what a short trip you get in London and how expensive it can be. My husband stayed in the square to lesson the load and I was very pleasantly surprised. It cost about £15 for the 2 of us and we were taken on a 40 minute tour to the market hall, main synagogue, alonga bit of the river, across the front of the National Museum etc, weaving down narrow alleys, with a running commentary from our cyclist. It was informative and good fun.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strombeek-Bever, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great vibe”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This square is great for everyone who wants to experience a hungarian vibe! there are a lot of stands that sell local products at a very fair price and when we went there in july there were small concerts every evening (mainly jazz music) very nice to relax after a day of visiting the city!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Magali_rovera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haderslev, Denmark
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Cozy place, little huts, well-known, worthily famous Gerbaud Confectionery, and shops everywhere. Metro 1 final station.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank anitarichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
1,184 reviews
899 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 433 helpful votes
“scam”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Do not buy street food here. Smiling servers pile the food high on large plates and only at the end do you find out that it is charged by weight. They wanted huf 15,000 for badly cooked chicken andtastless potatoes and onion and two soft drinks.They kept piling on pickles even although we did not want any. We paid about a third of this price at a restaurant the night before and had drinks and steak.
I think the place on the square was called Kavarli Grill or something like that .Avoid at all costs.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Taxidevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vorosmarty Square (Vorosmarty ter) also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Vorosmarty Square (Vorosmarty ter)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing