We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lot of museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Szepmuveszeti Muzeum - CLOSED

Szepmuveszeti Muzeum
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Museum of Fine Arts, Budapest houses the most significant European Art collection of the region between Vienna and St. Petersburg. The exhibitions halls delight visitors with an array of splendid compositions by Raphael, El Greco, Velázquez, Rembrandt, Tiepolo, Goya, Manet, Monet, Toulouse-Lautrec, Cézanne and Chagall, among many others. In 2007 the museum joined the ranks of those museums that attract the highest numbers of visitors worldwide.The Museum of Fine Arts was built as part of the celebrations surrounding the 1,000th anniversary of the founding of Hungary and was inaugurated by King and Emperor Franz Joseph on December 1, 1906. The building simultaneously recalls both an antique temple and a Renaissance palace. The Egyptian Art Collection of the museum is one of the richest of its kind in Central Europe. The Classical Antiquities Collection embraces the entire period of antiquity. The Old Masters’ Collection is represented by around three thousand paintings of the most important eras of European painting from the 13th till the end of the 18th century. Visitors can enjoy the famous sculptures of Sansovino, Riemenschneider and Messerschmidt, in the newly renovated rooms of the new permanent collection of the Old Sculptures Collection in 2013. The Prints and Drawings Collection is an inexhaustible treasure trove embracing the history of drawing and reproductive techniques in Europe. Its approximately 10 000 drawings and 100 000 prints can be seen in the course of temporary exhibitions. The Department of Art after 1800 covers the works of world famous artists as well.
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lot of museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

There are a loooot of nice paintings. It can be a bit tiring to see/grasp them all, but definitely worth trying.

Staff was great: polite and most of them spoke English. At info desk also italian and french. Was great!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Krisztina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    87
    36
    13
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lucky to get to see Toulouse Lauren collection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Was really lucky to see an extensive repertoire of the works of Toulouse Lautrec includi
ng the ones of Jane Avril, la Goulou and so many others,as part of the temporary exhibits. One could spend a whole day going through this museum's treasures and still not be satisfied. Overlooking the Heroes Square, combine the trip with a visit to the Vajdahunyad Castle and enjoy a picnic beside the scenic lake.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sulagna536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
256 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“TOULOUSE LAUTREC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

A rare exhibition of a great French artist in the Museum of Fine Arts. A collection that is almost impossible to see somewhere else, perhaps with the exception of France. It presented so many of his works, that time was short and I have to og back. The entrance is free for citizens of EU/EEC over 70 yrs. Great scenery around the museum and several excellent restaurants make the Heroes Sq. and surroundings a memorable visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter Andras C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful art museum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I love visiting art museums when I travel in Europe, and this one was no disappointment. The art collection is quite good. The Italian Renaissance collection seemed the most extensive, but there was also a large selection of Dutch masters, German artists, Impressionists, and ancient Egyptian antiquities. Sadly, the Classical antiquities section was closed during our visit, but there was a large selection of Tolouse Lautrec lithographs. We took 4 hours to get through everything, so plan for a half day. It's easy to get to on the Metro, and there's a nice park area behind the museum to wander in when you leave the museum. Oh, and there are a few small lockers, free, to store your things in addition to a cloakroom. The Lautrec exhibit is extra, as is a camera permit if you want to take photos (sans flash).

My only complaint was about the audio guide. The actual information presented was good. However, all of our audio guides were set incorrectly, so we had to trek back down the stairs to get them fixed before we could get started. Then, halfway through my audio guide's battery died. I didn't feel like winding my way back at that point, so my friend just shared with me. Luckily the volume is loud enough for 2 people to share! So before you leave the information desk, make sure your audio guide is fully charged and set to the right language/collection.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KM2214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“The national art gallery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We were a little disappointed in the range of art on display for a national museum of art. Our local art galleries have a much wider range of celebrated artists on display. There certainly are many fine paintings on display and the gallery is well worth a visit but it did not met our expectations

Helpful?
Thank Michaelabrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Szepmuveszeti Muzeum also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing