We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly unique” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Memento Park

Memento Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$43.96*
and up
Communism Tour of Budapest by Coupe Car
Ranked #59 of 438 things to do in Budapest
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The final resting place for fallen Communist statues, including those of Lenin, Marx and Engels, plus memorial plaques that were removed after the downfall of the Communist regime.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Truly unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Having read mixed reviews of Memento Park, we left it for our last day in Budapest. But we're glad we did it! This is a chance to see historical relics that you will not see anywhere in America- that's a guarantee.

We signed up for the bus and guided tour online (just google Memento Park and select the top link) rather than take the public bus. A bit more costly, but definitely worth it for the tour and probably worth the lack of hassle getting there. A word of caution on the bus though, make sure you know where you're getting it, and be ready to get on right when it comes. The tickets were oversold and some people had to sit on the floor and others may've been left behind. The bus (more like a large van) picks you up on Deak Ferenc Ter on the park side, where all the other tour buses pull up.

The guided tour was really great. It was just us and another couple who walked with the tour guide. She was very knowledgable and passionate about the park itself, and related stories from her life growing up in a communist country.

The statues are really special too. The park is not huge, and it really is just the statues and a strange instructional video on being a spy in the 1970's, but with the guided tour we found this to be one of the experiences on our vacation we've been talking about the most since we've been home.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt8495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    369
    181
    82
    38
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Only worth it with a tour guide!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

My husband and I were adventurous and we decided to take the public bus to memento park- it was about an hour trek! But easy to get to and much, MUCH cheaper than a cab or tour bus.
The park is in the middle of no where. The bus took us through neighborhoods (some a bit run down) to get there. There was nothing else around the park worth seeing, not even a restaurant.

Because I read reviews, we paid the extra money to get a tour guide. We had about 15 minutes to wait, so we walked around the park. If we wouldn't have had a guide, we would have been ready to leave at that point- not much to see, only about 30 statues with no inscription explaining it.

Our tour guide was fantastic and made the trip worth it. Her English was great and we really learned a lot about Hungary in the times of communism. She even shared her family's personal experiences.

So, check before you go to make sure that there is a tour in English. If not, don't bother- you have better things to do with your time.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MementoPark, Manager at Memento Park, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Christina,

Thank you for the appreciative words, which will be forwarded to the guide.

During the Winter Season guided tours in English will be on Saturday, Sunday and Monday at 11:30 a.m. For Visitors interested in the Christmas season: from December 26 to January 6 tours begin at 11:30 a.m. every day, afterwards on request (on the above-mentioned dates our transfer bus runs too at 11 a.m. from Deák Square).
Please be informed, that our detailed museum guidebook is available in multiple languages at our pay desk. Do not forget to see the movie and photo exhibition in our exhibition room.

Best Regards
Memento Park Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit if you have a little more time in Budapest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

The Memento Park is great place to learn a bit more about the cold war era in Hungary and see some of those statues once stood on the streets of Budapest.
If you don't come for sort visit it is well worth to get the outskirt of Budapest and visit this park.
since it takes quite some time to get there & back I would say you need about a half day.
Before you decide to go you can check their website
where you can find a lot of information about the concept, the sights, etc, and not gonna be disappointed if you expectd something else.
However it is important to get their guide book (or a tour guide) where you can a read more about the statues itself and get some additional information about Hungary during the cold war and you can also read some anecdotes, and local legends.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Orsolya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“a bit disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Never worked for us taking a bus out here (our Metro stop was closed, so it was too complicated getting to the bus station on the Buda side) so we ended taking a cab - 6000 HUF, each way - and arriving at the park we were a bit disappointed because the place is a lot smaller than we thought. There are a bunch of interesting statues, but a Little more information would have lifted the experience to another level.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Enemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MementoPark, Manager at Memento Park, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Enemark,

We are sorry to hear about your disappointment, however, thanks for the feedback, which is vital to us, in order to understand more about how to improve in serving our customers. According to the official Hungarian taxi tariff, this transport should of cost you much less. We urge all tourists to agree with the actual taxi driver prior to the trip.

Best Regards
Memento Park Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

For some the Cold War is just history. For others it was an important factor in part of our lives. However old you are, this is a great place to visit. So it might not be the super slick theme park of a wealthy country. However it collects a range of memorials and statues from Hungary under communist rule. It presents them very well, allowing you to understand their historical importance as well as mock their poor taste.

Yes you can reach it by public transport and yes the shuttle bus is pricier. However for ease, take the shuttle.

Helpful?
1 Thank JHND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Memento Park also viewed

 

Been to Memento Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing