We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Ranked #3 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Great hotel, Great location”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We spent four nights here. The hotel is beautiful -- great location, beautiful lobby, beautiful rooms and a very nice spa area with a pool, sauna, jacuzzi, etc..

The hotel is easily the nicest hotel in the city and worth it. Prior to coming to Budapest, we also considered places like the Sofitel, Intercontinental and Kempinski, but we're so glad we sprung for the Four Seasons. Sofitel and Intercontinental are also on the river, but the buildings are modern and ugly. Kempinski is on a busy shopping road. Particularly in a city with so many beautiful buildings, it was nice to be able to stay in one of them (and a very historic one at that).

Our only complaints were minor -- the standard rooms are small, and the concierge could have been better. We asked the concierge for help figuring out good day trips outside of the city, and they gave us a guide for generic bus tours. To visit the memento park, they suggested a kitschy tour on a Travant. It was only after reading the Rick Steeves guidebook that we learned there were personal guides available. I was surprised that at an exclusive hotel like the Four Seasons, they wouldn't understand that travellers would prefer smaller, more authentic and personal experiences. To ensure that you get the most out of your Budapest trip, pick up a copy of the Rick Steeves guidebook. I've never used one, but his walking tours were amazing, and he's got a few names of guides that he has personally used.

Room Tip: Get a room with a river view. You may also want to ask for a room away from the elevators. While the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ykwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Four Seasons Gresham Palace for your recent stay in Budapest. I was delighted to read that you took great pleasure in the décor and architecture of the Palace, the result of a careful restoration of this beautiful building.

Your comments are valuable for us as you know Four Seasons has built its reputation by means of positive guest comments and strengthen our service through guest feedback. While we were delighted to learn that you did enjoy our hotel, in particular our hotel’s architecture and our Spa facilities and services, we noted your slight criticism in relation to the size of our standard room and our Concierge’ tour recommendation. Unfortunately those are some of the challenges we encountered with renovations and restorations of a historical building. We were facing restrictions regarding any modification of the original spaces.

Also be assured that our Concierge will consider reviewing their guided tour recommendations in order to offer a personal, more authentic experience.

Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,094
    210
    40
    13
    9
See reviews for
397
1,097
120
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The location of the hotel is wonderful, just beside the Chain Bridge so close to Buda and it's many sights and also within walking distance of everything in Pest. The lobby is spacious and decorated in art deco style. Rooms are generous in size and service is everything you would expect from the Four Seasons - genuinely friendly staff who are eager to help and advise. The breakfast will keep you going well beyond lunch time. We didn't eat either lunch or dinner there but the menus promise a great experience. The Spa on the 5th floor is very well equipped with everything you could want, If you can get a front facing room with view of Buda you'll be in heaven!

Room Tip: Get a front facing one if you can - they are bigger and the view is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
It is great pleasure reading your review on Tripadvisor in relation to your recent visit to Four Seasons Gresham Palace. I appreciate your passionate words about our beautifully restored Palace Hotel.

Although it is always nice to read positive comments on our hotel’s facilities, public spaces, cuisine and amenities, still the biggest pleasure is learning about our staff’s courteousness and helpfulness.

I am very happy to learn that our staff were true Four Seasons ambassadors who greatly contributed to your memorable experience in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I had read great reviews about the Gresham Palace before I booked a danube river view room for our recent trip to Budapest, but boy, no description or photo can do justice to the stunning visual feast that awaits you upon entering the lobby. The Four Seasons has spared no expense in restoring the beautiful art nouveau building, that had fallen to terrible disrepair, to its current glory. We arrived on a morning flight and the front desk went out of their way to make an early check in possible. As this was a special trip and the hotel knew it, we were delighted upon walking into our beautiful room with stunning views, to see a bottle of champagne chilling and yummy chocolate covered strawberries. It was a lovely touch and we really appreciated it. The concierge service was wonderful, from organizing dinner reservations several days before our arrival, to helping us plan our days in beautiful Budapest. The room itself, and I highly recommend a danube river view room, was lovely, with a small terrace to enjoy the gorgeous vista before you. We looked directly onto the Chain Bridge across the road, with the castle district of Buda beyond, so the location of the hotel could not be more ideal. I must also say a quick word about the scale of this building. The hallways are bright, wide and gracious with soaring ceilings, the stairs are a work of art in themselves, and the lobby, with its incredible mosaic floor and enormous arched leaded glass windows is a masterpiece. So if you're looking for a memorable five star hotel in an extraordinary historic building in the perfect location, with flawless service and facilities, look no further than the Gresham Palace. I guarantee you won't be disappointed. Thank you for a memorable stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
I am so glad that you were fascinated by our beautiful Palace, especially with its architecture and décor and that you enjoyed this unique combination of historic elegance and modern comfort. The transformation of this Palace into a Four Seasons Hotel was a tremendous task and the result is truly breathtaking, indeed; it is probably one of the most amazing heritage hotels worldwide.

I am delighted that we could contribute to your memorable experience in Budapest and we were able to enhance your stay in this charming city with the occasion of your special anniversary.

Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

5 Star hotel in every way, beautiful venue for drinks. Outside seating is good for people watching. Best views in Budapest!

Helpful?
Thank Art_lover_Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We spent about 10 days at this Four Seasons Hotel and it was superb. The food, the staff, the rooms, the location, EVERYTHING was extraordinary. It is truly a 5 Star hotel and worth the price. If you read my reviews of some of the Four Seasons USA properties, you will see I am not so impressed.
Here are several suggestions: 1) Ask the Concierge Desk to arrange a tour guide; they have access to the absolute best in the city. 2) Order the Wiener Schnitzel...often! It is better than at the Hotel Sacher in Vienna and is equally as good from room service as it is from the restaurant. 3) Enjoy a fantastic Hungarian wine: Bolyki Cabernet Franc 2009.
The housekeeping staff is wonderful. They refresh everything twice daily and provide a jar of mineral salts for your bath.
The hotel spa is very good. There is a steam/sauna and an amazing pool. Take a swimsuit no matter what time of the year you go. The skin care line carried in the spa is from Hungary and excellent. Make a spa appointment for a massage upon arrival to get rid of your jet lag.
If weather permits, enjoy the sidewalk seating at the restaurant.
If you need or want a cell phone that works in Hungary, ask the Concierge Desk to make one from the hotel available to you. It is cost effective and they pre-program many of the phone numbers you will need in it before you arrive!
Use your bank ATM to get cash when in Hungary...everything works on cash outside of the hotel.
All rooms are beautiful. Ours had a spectacular view of the Chain Bridge. I was told that there are two honeymoon suites in the turrets...wish I had looked into one of those! We were totally pleased with everything at the hotel.
One final note...the bill is in Hungarian currency so do not have a heart attack when you get it. There are three additional decimal places due to the exchange rate so if you see 500,000 owed, it's about $2200.00 US Dollars.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms, but if you want a view of the river and bridge be sure to request it in adva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art_lover_Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you so much for this fantastic, detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. Your great description as to what one can expect when visiting Budapest and Four Seasons Gresham Palace is highly appreciated. I was so happy to read that you felt extremely well in our Hotel and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay as well as managed to discover so much of what our hotel has to offer. I am sure many who plan to visit us will find your review a valuable source of information.

Your positive feedback is much appreciated as is your continued support of Four Seasons Hotels & Resorts. Thank you again for taking the time to share your personal Four Seasons experience in Budapest with all the travelers around the world and hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I recently visited Budapest and spent 4 nights at the Four Seasons hotel; There is no better way of appreciating all of what this city has to offer whilst staying in this stunning hotel; Location is the best especially if you stay in a room facing the river and Buda. The facilities are elegant and services can't be faulted; Staff would spare no efforts to please and assist in any way possible;
If there is something I wish could be looked into it is possibly the quality of coffee served at breakfast ( a bit watery for my taste) and the orange juice somewhat too acidic ...Other than that..it is truly one of the very best hotel I recently stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you so much for your generous feedback regarding your recent stay at Four Seasons Gresham Palace. I am thrilled that you felt your stay was spotless in our hotel and I appreciate your kind words regarding the excellent service you received from our staff.

We have also taken good note of your comment regarding the taste of the coffee brand we use and the orange juice were not what you expected. Be assured we will look into it.

I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Four Seasons Gresham Palace.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

First of all would like to thank you for the greatest experience I had in the gorgeous old and beautiful building where you feel like you re spending every minute and every corner somewhere in a little secret place....throughout the lobby to the lounge bar having great little snack and canapés...I'm not a breakfast person but the outside little terrace is great for me in the mornings for coffee...nice bedding and sheets in the rooms very comfy pillows.
The spa and gym is fantastic...like especially the little nuts and dried plums.
This hotel is highly appreciated by foreign delegations during my stay but frankly never had any waiting time nor any problems....because of the staff s efficiency.
Definitely will be back super soon....this is a great city with a charming loveable hotel.

Room Tip: Defo river(Danube) view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skfmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
It was a real pleasure to read your comments regarding your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace Budapest and to note that you enjoyed all aspects of your time with us: such as the comfort of our beds, the morning coffee on the outside terrace of our Gresham Restaurant, the snacks and canapés in the lobby lounge, our spa and gym facilities and amenities.

Thank you so much for highlighting our employees’ efficiency; it is great to learn they have done their best to ensure your satisfaction.

Kindest regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 334 in Budapest
975 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,356 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#18 of 334 in Budapest
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,737 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 334 in Budapest
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Address: Szechenyi Istvan ter 5 - 6, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Budapest
#2 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#2 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#3 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Gresham Palace Budapest
Four Seasons Budapest
Budapest Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing