We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the heart of Budapest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Ranked #3 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Luxury in the heart of Budapest”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

One of the nicer hotels we have stayed at in Europe! The lobby is gorgeous and quite elegant. The front desk and concierge staff were extremely professional and helpful ---they set up all of our dinners!

The lobby piano bar was a great addition for a before dinner stop. The spa / fitness center was wonderful (great equipment, accessible and wonderful massages!). The massages were pricey but not unexpected!

Our room (407) had a SPECTACULAR view of the Chain Bridge, Buda and the Danube! The daytime AND nighttime views were spectacular!

The room itself was nice--very nice bathroom--but nothing terribly special.

This was a wonderful hotel with first rate service! We enjoyed staying on the Pest side of the river as there was much more to so there!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CMSCLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us at the Four Seasons Gresham Palace Budapest.

I really appreciate your positive feedback in relation to our hotel’s beauty and elegance. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were well looked after by our employees, especially our reception and concierge staff. Indeed, we have long known our employees are eager to ensure our guests a true Four Seasons experience. We are also delighted that you found our Spa and fitness facilities a great atmosphere for peaceful relaxation.

We are very proud that our building’s atmosphere and facilities, the gorgeous view and the service you received from us prompted you to write.

We appreciate your patronage and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again whenever your travels take you to Budapest.

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,116
    213
    43
    14
    9
See reviews for
405
1,110
121
343
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Bloomfield
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

One of the most beautiful hotels we have ever stayed at. Great location across from the famous chain bridge and walking distance to other sights and restaurants. Rooms were spacious and very well appointed. Only 1 device was allowed to use wifi in the room but lobby was available to others. Would highly suggest this hotel to everyone

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
I appreciate your generous feedback you posted on Tripadvisor some days ago. I am so glad that you were impressed with our beautiful building, its location and your accommodation.

Thank you so much for recommending our hotel for all travelers worldwide.

Kind regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The building itself is breathtaking, the bar itself is beautiful inside, location is excellent. The service was fine too, nothing too much, they were OK. Obviously it is quite pricy, but it is expected when you go to an elegant place like this. Drinks were great, nice piano background music. Good for a business chat or a friendly catch-up drink before heading out for some clubbing. Strict dress code if you don't want to feel weird :) I don't think it is such a good place for families with very young kids as the bar is rather sophisticated and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herincsmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Your praising comments regarding your recent stay at Four Seasons Gresham Palace are very much appreciated. It was great to read that you liked the location, as well as the architecture of the Palace and that you consider you received a good value for the money spent in our hotel.

I hope that we will have an opportunity of welcoming you back to Four Seasons Gresham Palace very soon.

Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockwall, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I've been to Budapest 10 + times in the past 6 years. Always went to FS to have drinks at the bar and enjoyed dinner at Pave a couple times, but never stayed there. Decided to give it a try this time and was, really, under whelmed. It's a great, beautiful hotel, but for the price, highly overstated. Our 3 night stay, river view room was USD $2599; there were no incidental room charges. Our room. 309, had a partially blocked view from a tree in the park across the street. I don't blame FS for this. Our curtains did not open smoothly; there were no drape cords. In fact, the curtains came off the valance twice, replaced by housekeeping later in the day. For this price hotel, one would clearly expect motorized curtains. Also, the bath amenities are cheap, L'Occitane products available at any low-mid range mall in the US. Again, for the price point, one would expect Bulgari or Hermes; think Ritz Carlton.
We arrived 45 minutes prior to the 4:00 check in (not bad considering we came from far away Texas) and our room was not ready. We were told the property was " fully committed." We were, however offered an upgrade for "only" 250 Euro more/night. This took the room rate well over $1000/night. Fully committed or not, the additional 250 Euro would have guaranteed an immediately available room, we were told. Was the hotel really that committed? Apparently not for an additional cost. We also denied the invite for drinks at the bar while we waited, noting drinks here were average $20+ each. We didn't come here to pinch pennies, but we certainly didn't come here to get screwed, either.
The hotel is equipped with many nice touches, among which include beautiful staff, attentive service, excellent concierge recommendations, and comfortable beds. I believe, however, the prices are unjustified. I've stayed other FS across the world and in far superior hotels in both Europe and Asia for less money and plenty more amenities. Where was the B&O stereo system, the Jacuzzi bath, the heated bathroom floors, the bidet, the heated toilet seat, the daily newspaper? I like these amenities and expect them for a price. Next time, I'll no doubt hang my hat and wallet at the Intercontinental a block down the street. It has far superior views, much larger rooms, higher floors and service to match at a fraction of the cost.
When I travel, I'm reminded of the old adage, "Quality is remembered long after price is forgotten." Unfortunately, I"ll be reminded of the price again next month when I get my Amex statement; the quality, however, won't be remembered.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drroady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write and post a review of your impression of your recent stay with us at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace Budapest.

I am sorry that you left the Four Seasons Hotel not feeling like you had a pleasant stay, mainly due to the fact that you found our accommodation and restaurant prices excessively high, and additionally you were lacking some amenities that you received in other superior hotels. I realize that our room categories and the layout of our accommodations may not be as large as the equivalent rooms or suites in some other hotels, but this is due to the historic nature of the Gresham Palace.

I am really sorry that you left the Four Seasons Hotel with disappointment. Our goal is to ensure that each and every guest leaves with a feeling of satisfaction from their visit, although unfortunately in your case obviously we were not able to achieve this.

We have taken good notes of your comments though and if you would like to discuss your concerns any further feel free to contact my office at your convenience at the following e-mail address: yves.giacometti@foursaesons.com.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future and to have the opportunity to restore your confidence in us.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Awesome Hotel. Location is excellent and service is impeccable. They are also very well prepared to handle families. In addition to cribs, they provided kids products and robes and sent some cookies and candies for the kids. They also didnt complain about any running around by the kids and the doorman were very alert about potential kids running out. The Spa is also very good, but you might want to book in adavance since they are quite busy most of the times.

Room Tip: High floor facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ankur1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you so much for your generous feedback. I was delighted to read your kind words and I am glad that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, especially highlighting our staff’s efforts to impress and spoil the little ones as well, with small attentions and surprises.

Once again, thank you for posting your praising review on Tripadvisor and it is my sincere hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back to Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace Budapest in the future.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We spent four nights here. The hotel is beautiful -- great location, beautiful lobby, beautiful rooms and a very nice spa area with a pool, sauna, jacuzzi, etc..

The hotel is easily the nicest hotel in the city and worth it. Prior to coming to Budapest, we also considered places like the Sofitel, Intercontinental and Kempinski, but we're so glad we sprung for the Four Seasons. Sofitel and Intercontinental are also on the river, but the buildings are modern and ugly. Kempinski is on a busy shopping road. Particularly in a city with so many beautiful buildings, it was nice to be able to stay in one of them (and a very historic one at that).

Our only complaints were minor -- the standard rooms are small, and the concierge could have been better. We asked the concierge for help figuring out good day trips outside of the city, and they gave us a guide for generic bus tours. To visit the memento park, they suggested a kitschy tour on a Travant. It was only after reading the Rick Steeves guidebook that we learned there were personal guides available. I was surprised that at an exclusive hotel like the Four Seasons, they wouldn't understand that travellers would prefer smaller, more authentic and personal experiences. To ensure that you get the most out of your Budapest trip, pick up a copy of the Rick Steeves guidebook. I've never used one, but his walking tours were amazing, and he's got a few names of guides that he has personally used.

Room Tip: Get a room with a river view. You may also want to ask for a room away from the elevators. While the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ykwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you so much for choosing Four Seasons Gresham Palace for your recent stay in Budapest. I was delighted to read that you took great pleasure in the décor and architecture of the Palace, the result of a careful restoration of this beautiful building.

Your comments are valuable for us as you know Four Seasons has built its reputation by means of positive guest comments and strengthen our service through guest feedback. While we were delighted to learn that you did enjoy our hotel, in particular our hotel’s architecture and our Spa facilities and services, we noted your slight criticism in relation to the size of our standard room and our Concierge’ tour recommendation. Unfortunately those are some of the challenges we encountered with renovations and restorations of a historical building. We were facing restrictions regarding any modification of the original spaces.

Also be assured that our Concierge will consider reviewing their guided tour recommendations in order to offer a personal, more authentic experience.

Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The location of the hotel is wonderful, just beside the Chain Bridge so close to Buda and it's many sights and also within walking distance of everything in Pest. The lobby is spacious and decorated in art deco style. Rooms are generous in size and service is everything you would expect from the Four Seasons - genuinely friendly staff who are eager to help and advise. The breakfast will keep you going well beyond lunch time. We didn't eat either lunch or dinner there but the menus promise a great experience. The Spa on the 5th floor is very well equipped with everything you could want, If you can get a front facing room with view of Buda you'll be in heaven!

Room Tip: Get a front facing one if you can - they are bigger and the view is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
It is great pleasure reading your review on Tripadvisor in relation to your recent visit to Four Seasons Gresham Palace. I appreciate your passionate words about our beautifully restored Palace Hotel.

Although it is always nice to read positive comments on our hotel’s facilities, public spaces, cuisine and amenities, still the biggest pleasure is learning about our staff’s courteousness and helpfulness.

I am very happy to learn that our staff were true Four Seasons ambassadors who greatly contributed to your memorable experience in our hotel.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 334 in Budapest
1,029 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,786 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#19 of 334 in Budapest
342 reviews
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 334 in Budapest
1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Address: Szechenyi Istvan ter 5 - 6, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Budapest
#2 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#3 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Gresham Palace Budapest
Four Seasons Budapest
Budapest Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing