We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Ranked #3 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This stylish hotel with lovely architectural features is in an excellent location in the Pest part of the city. It is maintained to a very high degree the rooms are spotless and very comfortable. The staff are friendly and efficient and nothing is to much trouble for them.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

I would like to thank you for your feedback posted on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace.

I was very happy to read that you were impressed with our stunning Palace and its location and that you were pleased with the services provided by our staff. It has always been our aim to hire employees with a positive attitude who are able to embrace the Four Seasons philosophy and share our common values. I was delighted to learn from you that we succeeded.

Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,487 - 1,493 of 2,600 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is my favorite Four Season's, by far the most beautiful architecture, the lobby is stunning. Add to that, a gorgeous suite overlooking the Danube, and the view of Castle Hill, lit up, it is absolutely MAGIC. I would recommend this to anyone who is willing to pay for a first class hotel experience.

Room Tip: 3rd floor suite (or any room) overlooking the Danube
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your generous feedback regarding your recent visit to Four Seasons Gresham Palace. I was delighted to see that you were pleased with the architecture, the view and the décor of our building and that your stay with us was such a memorable experience.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Beautifully located, in a nicely restored old Art Deco building, with usual excellency of Four Season interior, amenities and great service. By far the best hotel in town, and with amazing view of Buda hill on other side of Danube.

Room Tip: Try to ask for outside rooms
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Scipion-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel and the memories will linger. Staying here was like taking a step back in time to a more elegant era. We felt very special and privileged. The Four Seasons Gresham Palace was more expensive than our other hotels on this trip but oh so worth it. And it was by no means the largest room we stayed in. The property was beautiful and immaculately maintained (no scuff marks on the walls here - glimpsed the painter quietly going about what I assumed was regular maintenance). The staff were professional and beautifully attired (the chambermaids and doormen looked like a characters from central casting). We stayed in a river view room (essential) with a balcony (not so essential in December! but lovely nonetheless - rooms with balconies are on the fourth floor). Because of all of this, the fire alarm, when we were sleeping in on our first morning, was totally forgiven.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MollyDooker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is without doubt the most beautiful and glamorous hotel in Budapest right next to the Danube with wonderful views across to the castle. The old Gresham palace has been beautifully restored. The Art Deco style is elegant and understated. Service and comfort in the hotel are true to the Four Seasons hotel style -very very good.

I had a business rate and a room to an inner courtyard without views. However, I still found the room spacious, with a great bathroom, quiet and would come back any time.

Breakfast is relaxing and generous in the beautiful restaurant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarinGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a very special hotel. When you walk in, you feel as if you waking into a palace. Amazing location, over looking the Danube river, and over buda hills, great service and great breakfast. If you're going to Budapest, this is the place to stay. Loved it.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Yafa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We were here for two nights and Budapest and normally stay at Sofitel's and decided to try the Four Seasons. This place will not disappoint. From the minute you walk in, you are treated like royalty by the staff. The only difficulty is if you drive yourself, the hotel is kind of tricky to find ((entryway) which looks more like an entry into a garage underground parking or sidewalk but it is the drive into the hotel.

The staff greet you at the door and immediately you know you are at an excellent hotel. Inside, the hotel is lined with marble floor to ceiling and is top of the line, well maintained, well outfitted, and tastefully decorated. The front desk staff gave us a choice of rooms and upgrades and went so far as to take us to see the rooms. We opted to upgrade to a suite from a Gresham room and were not disappointed. Our room was on the first floor with a beautiful view out across the Danube and looking at the castle. There can be a little noise on this side of the hotel as the road in front is busy - if you keep the windows open. If you close them, you can't hear anything.

Our room was very large with a couch, two comfortable sitting chairs, dining table with four chairs, work desk, king sized bed, annd two closets. The bathroom is outfffitted with a tub and separate shower as well as L'Occitane products. We were also treated to little gifts of chocolates and peppermints from the hotel along with fresh popcorn and cold sodas. While these gifts aren't much for the hotel to pay, they show they care.

The staff is very friendly and could not do enough for us. They had excellent tips for eating, sight seeing and shopping. They take this hotel to the next level.

The hotel is of a baroque style with old world charm. I would say probably 15 foot ceilings, well lighted, and very well decorated. I also like the two bay windows that we could sit in and look out at Budapest. Downstairs they have plenty of seating to enjoy the hotel and a glass of wine.

The work out facility is top notch and the pool is simply amazing with the disappearing edge. Bring your trunks as you will enjoy a dip in the pool after walking all day (yes it is heated).

The food is very, very good here and quite honestly isn't any more than at any other top hotel. I have heard people complain of the prices, but you will pay $30 USD for breakfast at the Ritz, Sofitel, or any other top hotel. If you don't want to pay it, go to a different place to eat.

I would suggest getting the breakfast deal with the hotel as it more than pays for itself.

Around the corner not five minutes from the hotel is an excellent Italian restaurant that is very comfortable and right out of Italy called Momma Trattoria. About ten minutes down you willfind another one that is a top 10 listing and well worth it. There are also plenty of other local fare choices within minutes of the hotel. There is also a nice outdoor running route the hotel provides for guests for those who like their exercise in fresh air. There is also a pharmacy about two minutes away out the hotel to the left and across from the Sofitel that is very convenient and out tothe left and another left and up about four blocks or so you will find two local grocery stores (small city like grocery stores). You are also just minutes (left anthen left again) from some nice antique shops and the rest of the city. Under 10 minutes and you are at the castle with a nice stroll across the bridge.

My only complaint is too many Americans at the hotel (yes, I am an American). It sort of takes away from the local ambience, but then again, everyone at the hotel working speaks near perfect English. This hotel is well worth the little extra you may pay over another hotel, but what you are getting makes it worth it. A little pampering now and then makes life worthwhile. I will definitely be back to this hotel and will look for more Four Seasons in the future. This was to be a one time Christmas treat and turned out to be a loyalty switch for us to another brand.

I also commend the two front desk girls (I know one's name was Sofia, not sure of the other) who were incredible. They personify what the Four Seasons brand is - class, friendliness, and making the guest feel important yet comfortable. They are both great employees (as are the others we came in contact with, all excellent).

The hotel reminded me of the Hotel Villa Medici in Florence, one of our favorites we have stayed at which also had comfortable class and excellent employees. We loved it here, I can't say enough about our stay and this hotel.

Room Tip: We liked the first floor, very convenient. To get away from outside noise, you may want to opt for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmoonesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#29 of 336 in Budapest
3,570 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#19 of 336 in Budapest
7,625 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
5,035 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 336 in Budapest
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace

Address: Szechenyi Istvan ter 5 - 6, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Budapest
#2 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#2 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#3 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £312 - £521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Gresham Palace Budapest
Four Seasons Budapest
Budapest Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing