We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, beautiful nouveau art style hôtel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Ranked #3 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent, beautiful nouveau art style hôtel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

One of the better hotels we have ever stayed in! Nice building, outstanding service, and optimal location. Except for a slow and unreliable Wi-Fi, we have no complaints. We can recommend the hotel for a nice and relaxing stay in Budapest with the most interesting sights within walking distance. The concierge was extremely helpful and gave useful advice for making the best out of our holiday.

Room Tip: If you want to have contact with this beautiful city, you should ask for a room with a view to the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yngvar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am so glad that you were impressed with the beauty and the location of our building and the professional service offered to you by our staff, highlighting our Concierges whom you have found particularly helpful and knowledgeable. It was nice to learn that they greatly contributed to truly memorable experience in Budapest. I will take great pleasure in sharing your compliments with all of them.

Please also be assured that we have taken a good note of your comment regarding the speed of the Wifi Internet service we provide to our guests.

I hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Four Seasons Gresham Palace.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,986
    198
    40
    13
    9
See reviews for
370
1,040
115
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Amazing hotel and great staff. The hotel building is lovely and the room is too but it is on the small side considering the prestige of the hotel, which zapped the WOW away.

In room decor is 8/10, let down only by the "after thought" TV and the 1980s telephone. The level of attention to detail by staff is near perfect; the hotel designer on the other hand has clearly forgot about it. Perhaps these things doesn't matter, no one stay in the hotel to watch TV or make long phone calls, but the little things matter!

The pool and spa is not as impressive as near by hotels but it is just about right.

Despite the improvements above, It is definitely the place to stay in town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for choosing Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace for your recent visit to Budapest. I would like to thank you personally for taking the time to share your experience and your general impression of our Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you found the Hotel building amazing and thank you for mentioning that you received an outstanding service from our staff. However we took a good note of your comments in relation to the size of your room, as well as of the pool and the spa area. We also thank you for your remarks in regards to our TV sets and phones, which you considered outdated.

Concerning the size of some of our rooms, we were facing some challenges during the renovations of this historical building. Restrictions applied to any modification of the original features and spaces, however the graceful result usually compensates for the few shortcomings in the eyes of most of our guests. The pool and the spa were created as an addition to the building, on the top floor, and as you can imagine installing such modern facilities in an old building is not without creating some challenges due to the physical restrictions.

We admit that our TVs in some of the rooms are still outmoded; therefore we are planning to replace all of them starting from April with up-to-date TV sets and modern technology. We would like to thank you for your comments in relation to our phones as well; it is true they were installed in 2004 at the opening of the hotel with the technology available at that time.

We appreciate your feedback and I sincerely hope that you will grant us another opportunity to welcome you back to Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace should you travel to Budapest any time in the future.

Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

This is a spectacular hotel in every sense of the word. The staff were superb! They greeted you by name, were always cheerful and helped to make our stay all the more special. We stayed in a room with only a partial view of the river, but would recommend upgrading to the direct river view, due to the breathtaking images just outside of the hotel. The chain bridge and castle are only a few minutes walk from the property. We found plenty of restaurants around the hotel that were exquisite (Rezkakas and Onyx were two of our favorites). This hotel lives up to its divine reputation and we will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
I was thrilled to read your lovely description of your stay with us at Four Seasons Gresham Palace. Thank you for your nice remarks about the Hotel facilities and for complimenting our staff. There is nothing more motivating for us than receiving feedback like yours to continue providing services beyond our guests’ expectations.

It was also great to learn that although your room had only a partial view to the Danube River, you were so fascinated by the stunning views to the Chain Bridge and the Castle Area that you are highly recommending an upgrade to a Danube View room to all travelers who would be planning to stay at the Gresham Palace.

I was pleased to read that you liked the city of Budapest and found our hotel a perfect location to stay at.

You are always welcome to return to Four Seasons Gresham Palace!

Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I had a fantastic stay at the Four Seasons Budapest!

A large number of Hotels are being promoted as 5 star hotels while at check out you are left thinking that your experience was not in line with your expectations.

At the Four Seasons Budapest, you get what you expect from a luxury hotel!

The hotel is beautiful, the service is of top quality!

In the hotel industry it is difficult to find staff that can really provide an appropriate service to the luxury segment. In this hotel the staff is extremely well trained and pays attention to all the little details. The most impressive is that the quality is delivered with consistency across the various departments.

I highly recommend this hotel and look forward to my next stay at the Gresham Palace. I will make sure to visit more Four Seasons Hotels in the future!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your generous feedback about our Hotel posted on Tripadvisor a couple of days ago. It is great to learn that you had such a memorable experience.

Please also allow me to thank you for your recognition of our staff for their efforts in making you both feel so pampered and special. We do consider ourselves fortunate to have such talented employees and it is truly because of them that we enjoy the fine reputation we have achieved, nonetheless, it is most meaningful hearing it from our guests.

We hope we can have you back soon.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

It's true, I'm sixteen, but wouldn't that just make my argument stronger? I went to Budapest with my Grandparents and roomed with my cousins (both sixteen), and we could not have been more content. The building is beautiful, the beds are unbelievably comfortable, and it's in the perfect location for a nice walk. Amazing hotel.

Room Tip: Really, any room in this hotel is a good room. Pricier rooms are of course going to be nicer, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin-Blumenstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
It is so gratifying to read your feedback regarding your experience at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace Budapest last year, especially to learn that you still cherish great memories of your stay with us since September.

It is a great honor to learn that you consider our beautiful palace one of the most amazing hotels in the world you have stayed at so far! This is particularly appealing hearing this from a sincere, instinctive and experienced 16 years-old traveler.

Looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We mainly saw the facade (day and night) and briefly walked through the imposing metallic gate doorways to see the inside - though we were 'chased' away as there was a big Turkish diplomatic delegation with plenty of burly guards!!

Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

I have stayed in a number of the "so called" best hotels in the world but I must say that the four nights I have spent here were absolutely superb. Wonderful and friendly staff, clean and very tidy room, what more could you wish for? Excellent value for money in a lovely city. If I was to stay in Budapest again, I would not even consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinandandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
I am delighted to note that you enjoyed your time with us so much that if one day you were to return to Budapest, you would only consider staying with us again.

I really appreciate your positive feedback about our employee’s friendliness. I am extremely proud that our staff repeatedly provided personal and attentive service. It is a great feeling to learn from you we succeeded to create a memorable and unforgettable experience!

Kind regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,590 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#24 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,212 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Address: Szechenyi Istvan ter 5 - 6, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Budapest
#2 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#2 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Family Hotel in Budapest
#3 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Ebookers, Prestigia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Gresham Palace Budapest
Four Seasons Budapest
Budapest Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing