We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Post-Card view of the Chain Bridge and the Danube River, Budapest, Hungary. Fantastic for all entertainment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Ranked #3 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Riffa, Bahrain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Post-Card view of the Chain Bridge and the Danube River, Budapest, Hungary. Fantastic for all entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed for our 20th wedding anniversary. Romantic, ultimate luxury and location. Beautiful architecture and décor. Superb service and food. Upgrade for a suite overlooking the Danube. Definitely worth it! Oh yes, and the bed was ridiculous comfortable.

Room Tip: Upgrade for a suite overlooking the Danube. Breathtaking during the day and romantic in the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JubailKSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Warm congratulations for your 20th Wedding Anniversary! It is great that you have selected the Gresham Palace for such a special occasion, this way giving us the opportunity to contribute to your anniversary celebrations. Our aim is to provide an unforgettable experience for each and every one of our guests and I am happy to know that we succeeded in your case.

Kindest regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,986
    198
    40
    13
    9
See reviews for
370
1,040
115
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

This is an amazing place to stay. It is elegance itself. It couldn't be more perfect in position. It is however the most expensive place we have ever stayed and not the very best! I know you are paying for the four season name and the position, but over £2000 for a 3 night stay which doesn't include any food we were a little disappointed. Yes we had a view of the Danube but the room itself wasn't that great. We were very lucky to be able to afford to stay there and the staff are lovely.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words posted online regarding your recent stay with us. I was happy to read that overall you were satisfied with the location and the elegance of our hotel’s décor, as well as with our staff.

Although your feedback was mainly positive, I was concerned, however, to learn that you felt like you did not receive good value for you money spent in our hotel, as you thought your room was not as great as you would have expected and the package you selected did not include breakfast in the rate. Please be assured that we take our guests’ feedback very seriously as it is our greatest tool for improving our facilities and services in order to best serve the needs of our clients.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace Budapest in the near future.

Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
near London, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had stayed in one Four Seasons before in Canada, and the Gresham Palace
confirmed their unparalleled standard. Service and staff delightful, nothing too much trouble, the odd small error (eg a missing bathrobe) remedied with profuse apologies.
Gorgeous room, and they took great trouble to allocate one that fitted our pre-arrival request for a quiet location. Elegant decor, great condition (though I would expect a coffee maker as standard in such a well-equipped room/hotel).
Restaurant also outstanding. Try and take in their "Power Lunch" fixed price menu, and make sure you have one of their signature lemonades. Gorgeous - so gorgeous I didn't bother with wine!
The building is one of Budapest's finest, a turn of the century beauty facing the famous chain bridge and Danube. Touch of art nouveau but converted tastefully - open, spacious, etc. Hard to fault!
BTW, lovely, though small, infinity pool in their spa on the top floor. A quiet but refreshing way to start the day, and with the best appointed changing facilities I've had anywhere!

Room Tip: You pay more for a front-of-hotel view of the Danube and the Buda, but it facesthe main feed road to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for choosing Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace for your recent visit to Budapest. It is a great honour to read that we were able to affirm the unparalleled service standard you experienced before at one of our sister hotels in Canada.

It was a great pleasure to read that you found the hotel building amazing; your room as quite as you required, and at the same time elegant and comfortable. I was also trilled to note that you were pleased with the quality of our “Power Lunch” menu as well as you enjoyed an indulging spa experience, highlighting our well appointed changing facilities.

Please also be assured that we have taken good note of your comment regarding a coffee maker in the guest room. Your recommendation is highly appreciated and will be highly considered. In the meantime we would be glad to make a note in our reservation system of your preference for a coffee machine for the future if you consider. Feel free to contact my assistant Andrea Fekete, at andrea.fekete@fourseasons.com who would be glad to assist you with this request.

My greatest joy is to read that you received on outstanding service from our staff. It is truly because of our wonderful employees that we enjoy the reputation that we have earned as a company, worldwide.

Looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

.. it's hard getting up in the morning. Never been to Budapest before so lots to see, so you might understand why this can be a problem. My wife also had a complaint that it was to nice. And I agree that there is a limit to how nice a hotel should be. Gresham Palace is to nice.

If I were to compare Gresham Palace to other 5-star hotels i've stayed at one thing that stands out is the personlized service. If you speak with either the consierge or the doorman they will it seems remember you. The doormen often greeted me with my last name which startled me at first, and the consierge would ask me how I enjoyed the restaurant the other day. You feel like more than "just another customer". I wish i'd tipped more.

Now this is a really high-end hotel. It's really beautieful, impeccable service and really expensive. Now what I usually worry about in these circumstances is "fitting in", or "not standing out". And for most part of my holiday i'll be out sight-seeing, taking pictures and just walking about. So this means comfortable clothes. I want to dress like a slob, but I also want a very good hotel were I feel comfortable. The best thing here about Gresham Palace is that it is also a tourist attraction so it'll be all sorts of people in the lobby at any given time during the day, which makes the hotel seem less stiff than it actually is, and I can blend in with my camera and sneakers.

The hotel also has a spa which we used for half a day. We had a 75 minute massage which was heaven and also reasonably priced. After the massage me and my wife wanted to have a swim in the pool, but we haden't brought swim clothes. I sent my wife to buy some for us in the spa lobby, but be careful it was very expensive. I think it cost us 70 000 HUF and it was the cheaper of the swimming clothes. A lot for 15 minutes in the pool. They do I belive have exposable swimming clothes. Overall the spa was excellent, with a pool, hot-tub, steam-room and sauna. Dried fruit and drinks like iced water with lemon, tea etc.

Our room was originally one of the smaller rooms, but upon arrival we upgraded to a bigger one with a view of the chain bridge. So when I say our view from the room was outstanding this will probably not apply for all rooms. But if you want to impress your spouse or lover i'd recommend an upgrade.

If I were to point out anything negative about Gresham Palace it would be the price. It is very expensive compared to other 5-star hotels in Budapest. However you will get what you pay for. And what your paying for is that little extra.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view over the Danube!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanfear23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
I am pleased to know that you have enjoyed the beauty of our building and quality of our hospitality. It was so nice of you to take the time to detail all the elements that made your time at the Four Seasons Gresham Palace so enjoyable.

It makes me so proud to learn that your recent experience in our hotel was especially enhanced by the service extended to you by our Concierge and Door Men team. Your kind remark regarding the personalized service in our Hotel that sets it apart is much appreciated and very motivating for us to continue delivering the highest level of service and a customized guest experience. It is true, our staff put a great deal of thought into how they care for our guests and it is very encouraging when their efforts are so recognized.

I regret however, that you felt this experience was quite expensive, highlighting that the some items like the swim suites you missed to bring with you on your trip were quite costly; but I am glad and thankful that overall you felt you did receive good value for your money in our hotel and you would highly recommend us to the travellers’ world.

Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is situated in a great location for Budapest sight seeing, spa fab and great afternoon tea with amazing china made especially for the royal wedding with beautiful butterflies lush❤️ right by the river great view friendly staff lovely food what's not to like ?

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Poppymay1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your praising comments regarding your recent stay at Four Seasons Gresham Palace. I was so happy to read that you had a wonderful and memorable stay with us.

I especially appreciate your feedback in relation to the Herend afternoon tea, since we have just recently launched this special promotion in association with this great Hungarian brand and I am glad you were one of the first guests who could enjoy this wonderful experience.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willisau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

After few days in Budapest, my decision to save the best for last was paid-off. This Four Seasons hotel is exactly the same like others... Very typical THE Four Seasons. It never goes wrong when you choose to stay at Four Seasons. They give you only the best experience during your stay and surely you'll promise to yourself that you'll come back. If you intend to stay at the Four Seasons, please maximize your stay. Great hotel to relax and enjoy the great food.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 289Didi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for your most generous feedback!

It is so gratifying to read your recognizing words and your praise of our service quality. Please be assured that we highly value your patronage and thank you for being such a loyal fan of Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts!

We would be thrilled to have you back anytime in the future.

Kind regards,


Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

The hotel is in a great location to see many of the major sights in Budapest and then come back to a relaxing, elegant room. The concierge the great help and advice, in fact, all the staff was most helpful and courteous!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara9082014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesGiacometti, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
I was delighted to read that you were pleased with our facilities, location and services and you had a memorable stay.

Thank you for pointing out the efficient and attentive service provided by our staff, especially by our Concierges, whom you thought were helpful, knowledgeable and spot-on. It will be a great pleasure sharing your compliments with them.

Sincerely,

Yves Giacometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,590 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#24 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,212 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Address: Szechenyi Istvan ter 5 - 6, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Budapest
#2 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#2 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Family Hotel in Budapest
#3 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Prestigia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Gresham Palace Budapest
Four Seasons Budapest
Budapest Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing