We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Budapest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Ranked #3 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best in Budapest”
Reviewed 23 October 2008

Four Seasons Budapest is pretty much exactly what you would expect. It is the best hotel in the city, in the best location. The rooms are great, the service is first class, and the views of the bridge are stunning.

Now, if your expectations are realistic, you know that it is not going to be quite the same as Four Seasons in Paris or Tokyo. And yes, it costs twice as much as Sofitel next door. If value is important to you, you shouldn't stay at Four Seasons Budapest. Then again, if value is important to you, you shouldn't stay at any Four Seasons anywhere. :-)

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Hopstop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,020
    204
    40
    13
    9
See reviews for
380
1,055
115
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2008

be blown away from the moment you enter the lobby, and keep enjoying the luxury till check out. nothin but compliments in both service and facilities to this great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank brennaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2008

I had a wonderful stay in this hotel - the architecture and decor alone make this hotel fabulous to stay in. Add the excellent service and every conceviable travellers need anticipated/taken care of, and there are few better hotels to stay in.
Nice touches for either the frequent business traveller or tourist included L'Occitane bathroom products (and generous quantities of them), dvd player and a great alarm clock (no red numbers glowing here!). The rooms are also sound-proof, and have an entry way that separates the bedroom area from the hall - as a result, it was one of the quietest rooms I have stayed in.
Only criticism is the exorbitant price of room service and breakfast - but as there are plenty of other places to eat just around the hotel, those costs can be avoided.

  • Liked — Stunning decor and architecture. Well-appointed rooms
  • Disliked — Massively over-priced room service/mini bar/breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biztraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2008

This is a lovely hotel in a picturesque spot at the foot of the Pest side of the Chain Bridge. Building is the picture of understated elegance. Rooms are spacious and uxoriously appointed with L'Occitane products. Staff are friendly and helpful. The gym is nicely outfitted and the pool/spa area is a perfect spot to relax after a long day hoofing it over the cobblestones.

My only complaint is that our rooms entryway had a mildewy odor. I mentioned this to the front desk and they sent someone up to correct the problem while we were out for the day. They assured me it was corrected but when I returned, the odor was still there. It was a relatively minor point and I'm sure the hotel would have switched my room if I had insisted upon it but I felt that for a hotel of this caliber, I expected more. Both that the room had been booked and that they allowed us to continue our stay with this issue indicates a level of service that is below what I've experienced at other Four Seasons - particularly in comparison with the absolutely amazing service we received in Paris at the same chain.

That said, this was a relatively small problem and everything else was quite pleasant.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Mildew smell
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank StefR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2008

I am a regular visitor to Budapest and have stayed in a number of different hotels over the years. The Gresham was recommended by a friend who said it was amazing.
Although I agree that it is a fantastic hotel with staff who cannot be faulted, it is exorbitantly expensive and no better than the Kempinski, where I have stayed on several previous occasions. Indeed, I feel that the latter is slightly better located geographically and has a more homely and less sterile feel to it.

  • Liked — architecture and decor
  • Disliked — cost
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gabk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

You will not find a more beautiful hotel than this, the decor, service and food were all of the same standard you would find in a top U.S hotel. The spa has a large gym, indoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna, the bedrooms are spacious with L'Occitance toiletries and a DVD player in the room.
Perfect location overlooking the bridge and castle, 5 min walk to Parliament building or main shopping street, no need to use public transport at all. The hotel offers fixed price taxis to the airport for 5,500 Ft which seemed good value. The staff were all excellent, very friendly, remembered you by name each time they saw you. I have no hesitation in fully recomending this hotel, without doubt the best place to stay in Budapest.

  • Liked — Real 5* luxury
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2008

We booked this hotel through Amex Platinum service and got upgraded to a Danube Deluxe Room with direct views of the Danube; from the airport pickup to apologies for having our coffee arriving a bit late during breakfast and, subsequently free drinks at the bar, everything was outstanding - a true Four Seasons experience. It was not cheap at all but if you can afford it, I would not book another hotel while in town. Definitely, will go back!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stud66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,636 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#6 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#25 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,248 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Address: Szechenyi Istvan ter 5 - 6, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Budapest
#2 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#2 Family Hotel in Budapest
#3 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Gresham Palace Budapest
Four Seasons Budapest
Budapest Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing