We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second best four seasons i've stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Ranked #3 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2008

this used to be my favorite four seasons which has only recently been over taken by the one in florence....but the four seasons budapest is seriously jaw droppingly beautiful. i was completely smitten as i got out of the car and see this wonderfully beautiful beautiful building right before the chain bridge. and the lobby is as impressive, so is the cafe, the room and the spa. what i like about the room was that it's not stereoptypically standard four seasons and has a character of its own. i arrived at the four seasons budapest right after the four seasons prague which was quite forgettable to be honest. the staff was excellent as well and it truly made my stay in budapest a memorable one.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rubyyao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,933 - 1,939 of 2,481 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2008

Four Seasons Budapest is pretty much exactly what you would expect. It is the best hotel in the city, in the best location. The rooms are great, the service is first class, and the views of the bridge are stunning.

Now, if your expectations are realistic, you know that it is not going to be quite the same as Four Seasons in Paris or Tokyo. And yes, it costs twice as much as Sofitel next door. If value is important to you, you shouldn't stay at Four Seasons Budapest. Then again, if value is important to you, you shouldn't stay at any Four Seasons anywhere. :-)

Stayed: September 2008
1  Thank Hopstop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

be blown away from the moment you enter the lobby, and keep enjoying the luxury till check out. nothin but compliments in both service and facilities to this great hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank brennaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2008

I had a wonderful stay in this hotel - the architecture and decor alone make this hotel fabulous to stay in. Add the excellent service and every conceviable travellers need anticipated/taken care of, and there are few better hotels to stay in.
Nice touches for either the frequent business traveller or tourist included L'Occitane bathroom products (and generous quantities of them), dvd player and a great alarm clock (no red numbers glowing here!). The rooms are also sound-proof, and have an entry way that separates the bedroom area from the hall - as a result, it was one of the quietest rooms I have stayed in.
Only criticism is the exorbitant price of room service and breakfast - but as there are plenty of other places to eat just around the hotel, those costs can be avoided.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biztraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2008

This is a lovely hotel in a picturesque spot at the foot of the Pest side of the Chain Bridge. Building is the picture of understated elegance. Rooms are spacious and uxoriously appointed with L'Occitane products. Staff are friendly and helpful. The gym is nicely outfitted and the pool/spa area is a perfect spot to relax after a long day hoofing it over the cobblestones.

My only complaint is that our rooms entryway had a mildewy odor. I mentioned this to the front desk and they sent someone up to correct the problem while we were out for the day. They assured me it was corrected but when I returned, the odor was still there. It was a relatively minor point and I'm sure the hotel would have switched my room if I had insisted upon it but I felt that for a hotel of this caliber, I expected more. Both that the room had been booked and that they allowed us to continue our stay with this issue indicates a level of service that is below what I've experienced at other Four Seasons - particularly in comparison with the absolutely amazing service we received in Paris at the same chain.

That said, this was a relatively small problem and everything else was quite pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank StefR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2008

I am a regular visitor to Budapest and have stayed in a number of different hotels over the years. The Gresham was recommended by a friend who said it was amazing.
Although I agree that it is a fantastic hotel with staff who cannot be faulted, it is exorbitantly expensive and no better than the Kempinski, where I have stayed on several previous occasions. Indeed, I feel that the latter is slightly better located geographically and has a more homely and less sterile feel to it.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gabk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2008

You will not find a more beautiful hotel than this, the decor, service and food were all of the same standard you would find in a top U.S hotel. The spa has a large gym, indoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna, the bedrooms are spacious with L'Occitance toiletries and a DVD player in the room.
Perfect location overlooking the bridge and castle, 5 min walk to Parliament building or main shopping street, no need to use public transport at all. The hotel offers fixed price taxis to the airport for 5,500 Ft which seemed good value. The staff were all excellent, very friendly, remembered you by name each time they saw you. I have no hesitation in fully recomending this hotel, without doubt the best place to stay in Budapest.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,443 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace

Address: Szechenyi Istvan ter 5 - 6, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Budapest
#2 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#2 Family Hotel in Budapest
#2 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#3 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £344 - £617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ebookers, Odigeo, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Gresham Palace Budapest
Four Seasons Budapest
Budapest Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing