We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Citadel
Moonlight Tour
14 Reviews
from US$116.82
More Info
from US$10.62
More Info
from US$17.70
More Info
from US$31.86
More Info
Reviews (2,055)
Filter reviews
2,055 results
Traveller rating
985
727
271
47
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
985
727
271
47
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews highest point statue of liberty hop on hop off bus worth the effort worth the climb gellert hotel buda side the river beautiful city visiting budapest fisherman's bastion ciutadella hike liberation souvenirs statues wwii
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
470 - 475 of 2,055 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2016

it's a tough, steep walk up from the Erzsebet bridge, but worth it to see the Gellert statue first then up to the Citadella (or Budapest's Statue of Liberty).

The statue itself is quite impressive, but the views over to Pest were stunning and well worth the walk alone.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank paulcninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

It's a long walk up too this place. 1 way by a lot off stairs with quite a few spots too stop and take some pics. The other is by some walking tracks that are about 5 times as long but a lot less stressful too your legs. The view from the top is amazing. And we'll worth the effort.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Manus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

This was my 4th time in Budapest and the first time I went to Citadel on foot. I went on previous ocassion by bus, and since I remembered the view was spectacular, I decided to go again, but this time I hiked. And I didn't regret it. If you start your hike from Elisabeth (Erszebet) bridge, you'll see a wonderful waterfall on your way where you can take lovely photos. The forest is so calm and energizing as you are reaching the top. And the view!!! Amazing! Be sure to bring water since it's super pricy on the stands once you reach the top. When it comes to historical part, in case you don't enter, there is a huge board in both Hungarian and English explaining the entire history of Citadel. So if you are into a little hike and a spectacular view, this is the place for you!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Mitra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Amazing pictures could be taken from the Citadel. You see all buda and pest side from one point. Food and souvenirs are pricey here but u can just go up for some relaxing time in the area.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Liliana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Beautiful monument & incredible views. Its at the top of a pretty steep hill & I went up on a boiling hot morning & was blown away by the place initially.
I was however appalled to find out that a small bottle of mineral water was being sold for twice the price of the beer up there.
On a day as hot as that, it's a pricing policy s cynical, it is almost robbery.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank MattH675
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews