We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must see while in Budapest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gellert Hill and Statue

Gellert Hill and Statue
Book In Advance
More Info
US$104.41*
and up
Private Communist Budapest Tour
Ranked #16 of 438 things to do in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The best views of Budapest and the Danube River are from this hill, which also features the imposing fortress, the Citadella, at its summit.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Must see while in Budapest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

As we were nearing our final day we decided to check off all the sightseeing we still had to do. Gellert hill was one of the last things, getting here when it was getting dark it was quite a steep climb to get to the statue. But once we were there, the view was breathtaking, seeing all the lights of the city from atop was one a romantic and beautfull thing to see. Go here for the view defintly, its worth the climb.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,483
    1,572
    439
    49
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Worth a wander”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Great view, bit of a walk but plenty of benches & you can always get buses up too. Interesting museum at the top along with stalls & wine refreshments

Helpful?
Thank JimmyJazzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Jihomoravsky Kraj, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Go there for a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Nice (long) walk from the very bottom of the hill, we made several stops on many viewpoints along the way. At the very top of the hill is great monument and a Citadele, but there is not much to see from outside (well a couple of howitzers), just go there for the view.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pavel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
159 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“it's the view again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

No doubt the views that gellert hill offers are beautiful and breathtaking in the evening!
No meter when you visit the place as long as you do it in the evening time you should expect a magnificent view of the Danube with beautifully lighted buildings all along the river side.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zvikagol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
185 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Not the hill, but the CAVE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

So you've walked over the Danube and had a look inside the Gellert Hotel at the stained glass panel on the staircase; then wandered through the great hall of the baths, and perhaps taken a dip. Now just over the road and on the side of Gellert Hill is something...but what is it. Go up and take a look. This is no ordinary church, but one built into the back of a cave by the Pauline order of monks. Pay your 500huf (400 if your a student or over 62), pick up your guided talk and let the atmosphere and history flow over you. This place is quite emotive. It is a gem but not publicised by the tourism board. Much more moving than the posh gilt and gold churches around Buda and Pest. Don't miss it - we may have been church and castled out by our travels but this place will stick in our memories.
There is wheelchair access to the main cave and church but one small area that cannot be accessed - however the commentary covers that bit very well.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank phinaeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gellert Hill and Statue also viewed

 

Been to Gellert Hill and Statue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing