We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unusual Stay. Beware of the dogs.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hungaria City Center
Ranked #131 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
scotland
Level Contributor
177 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Unusual Stay. Beware of the dogs.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Our hotel was changed at the last minute , by Newmarket Holidays , from the modern Marriott to the old world style Hotel Hungaria. The hotel is very close to the central station but there is a massive dig going on all around for the new tram line making the area difficult to negotiate on foot and it is not a very salubrious area at night. I liked the lobby area and the rooms were comfortable with free wifi.Loved the beautiful restaurant . We ate there both nights . Older male waiters were very pleasant. Meals were good and inexpensive .There was a group of musicians serenading tables , very entertaining Next morning, as well as the usual breakfast fare there was spaghetti, fabulous french toast, chips and other surprising options.Huge selection ,which kept the varied nationalities happy.There was also a delicious selection of desserts!! The most unusual thing was that there was a plethora of dogs staying at the hotel.Every shape and size from miniature poodles to great danes. Apparently there was a big dog show on. Some people had three or four dogs with them Now personally I was entertained . I love dogs but some people are afraid of dogs or are allergic to them and this is the last thing they would have expected to find in a 4 star hotel, I imagine . Some of the tour group were horrified by the hygiene element and one does wonder what could happen in the rooms. I know they were going to complain to Nrwmarket and we should have been warned. Also there was clearly heard barking from rooms late at night and in the morning . Not sure how management coped with this.Better than stag parties I suppose.I didn't negotiate the bus which travelled the one long street to the river as I wasn't sure where to buy tickets or the price so I walked. Took about 20 minutes. On the whole I really enjoyed staying at this hotel which had a lot of personality and good staff.

Room Tip: Ask where the dogs are staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annebryceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thank you for publishing your opinion regarding your recent stay at our property.
We are glad to hear that you were satisfied in our hotel. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We inform you that during your stay there was a World Dog Show in Budapest and we had guests coming and participating on that event. There are usually no or only a very few dogs in our hotel. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Sincerely,
Bela Csapo
Front Office Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    570
    458
    176
    105
See reviews for
278
469
122
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

the installations is good but old, the room carpet is dirty, the breakfast is paid apart and is weak, we reserved no smoking room, they gave us a smoking room, the bathroom has a bathtub and curtain is very bad, it glues on the body, the price is high for that, the walls is very thin, there are noise all around.

Helpful?
2 Thank Lock_schmal
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay in our hotel.
It helps us a lot receiving the opinions of our distinguished guests, with this experiences we can improve our services further.
The installations are not brand new but we keep them in order and clean. We provide American/buffet style breakfast with wide range of different cold and hot dishes, the great majority of our guests are very satisfied with it. I have to mention that we serve any special requests as well with pleasure. 80% of our rooms are no-smokers, that's why I think it should be a misunderstanding or lack of information if You haven't received the requested one. Since our hotel is close to a main road there are some rooms facing to the street where there is a big traffic. Mostly our rooms are facing to the backyard where there is no view but they are quiet.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
With best regards
Béla Csapó
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Tbilisi, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

The hotel is very old! Old furniture, and sheets, carpets, curtains and towels. The breakfast area smells horrible, could eat anything (by the way found a HAIR in salad), the coffee is horrible (you have to do it yourself with packet of Nescafe!). It's too noise, could not sleep as you hear everything from the streets. Spa and wellness center "Bora -Bora" is nothing like it is described. never recommend to visit it!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ketevania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for your comment the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Yours sincerely,
Bela Csapo
Front Office Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi, Dushet'is Raioni, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Relatively old and not renovated, the only advantage of the hotel is the location - very close to the city center. With the terrible breakfast - awful smell in the breakfast area, hair in the salad. The whole army of people eating together like in a public cafeteria. Rooms are very dusty and get ready for a terrible insomnia, the windows are absolutely unable to filter any noise from the street. Staff and reception was very kind but it was unable to change the overall experience. Definitely never next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for for your comment regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Yours sincerely,
Bela Csapo
Front Office Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qiryat Yam, Hefa, Israel
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Not so bad. Breakfast was good (for me). Rooms are clean. You have Wi-Fi.
Service was good also. If you wanna stay, don't take 4 or 5 floor, cause each of them is half-floor.
If you are going to Metro - go to Blaha Luzha - more safety.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for your comment. We are glad to hear that you had good experiences in our hotel. You are always welcome here.
Best regards
Béla Csapó
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

Old and not renovated, felt quite depressing and not cheap (at least the rack rate i paid). Location not very good or safe, only plus is that it us very near to the train station. Room quite dirty. Staff at the reception was correct.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderer188057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our hotel, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
We can ensure that we want to keep our property in the best possible shape and we do our best to serve all of our distinguished guest.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Sincerely,
Bela Csapo
Front Office Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed there for a summer vacation. Excellent location, close to the center and the old town. Standard breakfast that repeated it self every day...there is no diversity to choose from. all in all, The hotel is quite outdated and the same for rooms. the staff was very freindly and nice, helpfull.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ofer1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Thank you for your opinion regarding your stay in our property.
We agree that the centre of the the town is easy to reach from our hotel but the old town is on the other side of the river. We provide buffet breakfast every morning and I don't think there is no diversity to choose from the wide range of different kind of cold and hot dishes. I don't know in how many rooms have you been here but please be informed that we have our rooms mostly facing not to the street but to the backyard.
We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with our staff's services and we ensure you you are always welcome here in our hotel.
Best regards
Béla Csapó
FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Danubius Hotel Arena
#127 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
#117 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Golden Park Hotel
#239 of 342 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
#61 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
District I / Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
#115 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hungaria City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hungaria City Center

Property: Hotel Hungaria City Center
Address: Rakoczi ut 90, Budapest 1074, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria)
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hungaria City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hungaria City Center – with an illustrious history stretching beyond 100 years – is renowned for the high standard of its services and its excellent location. The hotel is an ideal base both for tourists and business visitors, with Budapest’s main attractions within easy reach on the M2 and M4 metro lines or by bus from just outside the hotel, and Keleti train station just a few minutes’ walk away. With large and flexible meeting rooms, it is a popular conference venue, and regularly hosts events for up to several hundred guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hungaria City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hungaria
Best Western Budapest
Budapest Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing