We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing ,avoidable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hungaria City Center
Ranked #132 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Disappointing ,avoidable!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 9 nights from Oct 11th to Oct 20th Oct 2013 with a group of 30 people.Each one of us was disappointed.The room had practically no air conditioning & was so warm that we had to open the windows to sleep.The house keeping was below average .The carpets were dirty & the hotel looked dated & worn out.The Staff were courteous .The food at the breakfast & lunch buffet was repetitive but the service was efficient.The hotel is walking distance from Keleti(East Station) which is its biggest advantage.However the neighborhood is shady.Arena mall is also walking distance from the hotel .This mall has good stores,Starbucks & IMAX. The hotel is relatively far from the Danube (roughly 25 to 30 min walk) & the main walking shopping street as well as from the tourist spots of Castle hill etc.The hotel seems popular with group tourist .If I visit Budapest again I will not stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street or else the loud ambulance sirens will keep you awake the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drkaditya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for commenting regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Yours sincerely,
Bela Csapo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    642
    521
    192
    121
See reviews for
305
506
140
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

stayed one night on a business trip. the room looked old, worn down and stank. the whole hotel looked like frozen in time maybe 30-40 years ago. The breakfast was a total chaos, too many guests, not enough staff. the coffee was terrible, not drinkable, did not taste like coffee. Wi-Fi was too slow, sometimes non-existent. the whole hotel needs urgent refurbishment.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sellocello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for commenting regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Yours sincerely,
Bela Csapo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

At the square with metro and long distance railway station (Keleti Palyaudvar) it's probably the best choice for your stay in Budapest. Rooms are clean and just big enough (the one at the main streets maybe a bit noisy, but that's Pest!), excellent selection of food at buffet breakfast and dinner, only drinks are a bit overpriced, but there are many opportunities to have nice evening with some drinks in any pub in vicinity.
Recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 24LiZa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your nice comment regarding your recent stay in our hotel.
We ar very happy to hear that you were satisfied with us and have the hope that you will return soon.
You're always welcome here.
With best regards
Béla Csapó
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in a junior suite. To our surprise, the suite was large, well appointed and had a great view. The TVs were the old CRT but nevertheless did the job. The reception staff were very courteous and helpful. House keeper - very good.

Good directions are required to get to the hotel from Keleti train station. We arrived at the station in a downpour at night and although the hotel is only 500 yards away, you can't see it in the dark. For starters, the hotel should light up their Best Western sign. However, when you exit the station at the main exit on the West side, you can't miss the Burger King sign at your 1 o'clock position. Head towards that and keep going West. You are going in the right direction. You will cross under an underpass. Look up, you are there.

Our only complaint and the reason I didn't give the hotel 5 stars is the lousy internet. Unlike the other Best Westerns we have stayed at in the last 10 days, they have a 3rd party provider. Every time you cease a session, which is slow, you have to go thru the procedure of logging in and it is a slow and frustrating procedure. For a hotel that caters to tour buses etc., getting fast and reliable internet should be a priority. Dump wires.hu. Fix the internet and we will be back next time in Budapest.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 258Dreams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay in our property.
We are happy to receive the information that you were mostly satisfied with our hotel.
Regarding the internet: it can happen that there are lot of guests using continously the service, that's why it can slow down sometimes since it hasn't got an unlimited capacity. Nevertheless your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Please return to us soon.
With best regards
Béla Csapó
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 days and we were given a very big suite. The suite was spacious and
and clean. Being on the 6th floor was good because street noise was reduced. You can still
hear ambulance and police sirens but not too loud. Money exchange is only a few meters
away and the big train station is within a walking distance. We did not eat at all in any of the
hotel restaurants. From our observation, this hotel is popular with big tour groups. The Hop On, Hop Off bus stop is right in front of the hotel which is very convenient. There are no good
restaurants nearby that we saw. We had no issues with the location but it may not be ideal
for others. Staff were very nice and helpful. They arranged for pick-up and drop off at the
airport.

Room Tip: Room 601 is a suite and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linrabCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
This is our great pleasure receiving your kind opinion regarding your recent stay in our hotel.
We can ensure you - and all of our distinguished guests - that we do our best to make everyone's stay comfortable and enjoyable.
Please visit us again soon.
With best regards
Béla Csapó
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wherever
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Internet

Most of the time it was non-existent and it was very poor when it was “working”. So, if internet is important to you give the hotel a miss.

Railway Station

The only time I use this hotel is if I am arriving or leaving from Keleti station. The station forecourt is still a total mess of construction for the new metro. This is taking longer than the pyramids to build! Will it ever be finished?

Lobby

As ever, the lobby was full of bodies! This time wrestlers from Kazakhstan, Georgia etc. Not really a problem as you can pass through them between lift and outside door.

Room

I had the best room I have had here - #601. It is on the corner with a view towards the railway station. With the windows closed the traffic noise is acceptable. There is a large living area and separate bedroom.


Value-for-Money

At €98 without breakfast it is pricey for what it is – although, as I said, the room was great. If you need a place quickly on arrival by train it is OK – otherwise the Parliament is a much better bet for a BW hotel here.

Room Tip: Room 601 was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for your opinion regarding your recent stay at our property.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. You've been here in a very crowded period, that's why our hotel had lot of guests using all of our services (lobby breakfast, internet, etc.). We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.
Yours sincerely,
Bela Csapo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We were two couples spending 5 days at the hotel which is good located with its " own " bus station in front of his entrance.
All other parameters were negative : low level of cleaning, the worse breakfast we ever had (we entered the breakfast only once and didn't return to a second chance), not happy to support front desk team ( asking to loan two towers for external usage was negatively answered etc...), no flexibility for late departure
Defiantly not equal to its cost !!!
We will never visit again for sure and hope you will learn from our experience as well

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ezra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Our hotel is not brand new but we keep it in a good shape and clean. We provide buffet style breakfast with wide range of different kind of food and we think - and we realize it from the guest comments - that this is convenient mostly for our guests. If anybody has any special request we are more than happy to fulfill it. Telling the truth you were here at a very crowdy period that's why it could happen that the restaurant was a little bit messy in the mornings. If you mean the towel loaning, we are kindly asking the guests to use them in the hotel, not outside. Our flexibility regarding the late check out in the time of full occupancy is unfortunately limited, it's hard to explain to the arriving guests that they can't take their rooms in time because the departing guests is in their room yet. We have a strict check out policy with flexibility, we accept individual reasons if the have any chance to serve the other paying guests in the meantime.
However we can ensure you that your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Yours sincerely,
Bela Csapo
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Danubius Hotel Arena
#113 of 334 in Budapest
1,170 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
#123 of 334 in Budapest
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Star City Hotel
Star City Hotel
#128 of 334 in Budapest
336 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
#61 of 334 in Budapest
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hungaria City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hungaria City Center

Property: Hotel Hungaria City Center
Address: Rakoczi ut 90, Budapest 1074, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria)
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hungaria City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hungaria City Center – with an illustrious history stretching beyond 100 years – is renowned for the high standard of its services and its excellent location. The hotel is an ideal base both for tourists and business visitors, with Budapest’s main attractions within easy reach on the M2 and M4 metro lines or by bus from just outside the hotel, and Keleti train station just a few minutes’ walk away. With large and flexible meeting rooms, it is a popular conference venue, and regularly hosts events for up to several hundred guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hungaria City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hungaria
Best Western Budapest
Budapest Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing