We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4 stars hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hungaria City Center
Ranked #128 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Great and good looking hotel from the outside and in the lobby. With a good location. I was in a single room which was very small and narrow, fortunately only for one night. The room was dark, he looked old and poorly maintained, needs repair.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svetoslav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for commenting regarding your recent stay in our property.
In the name of our staff please receive our apology for not exceeding your expectations. The single room is only for one person that's why its size is not big but hopefully its comfortable for one guest. We are selling two bedded rooms for single use as well, next time it would be a solution for your request.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Béla Csapó
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

982 - 988 of 2,425 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Best Western Hungaria hotel is well located, very near to Keleti railway station.Metro station is very near, also a big shopping mall Arena Plaza.
I have seen three types of the rooms: Imperial suite is wonderful, big and with grat view, and it is situated on the first floor. On the same floor, they are very bad and small rooms without deposit box. But if you are persistant you might get a better room with two bathrooms also on the first floor.
Hotel is clean, breakfast is OK early in the morning when you can find and take fresh cakes.

Room Tip: Ask for Imperial suite, you will not regret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xenya734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your opinion regarding your recent stay in our property.
We're glad that you were satisfied mostly with our services. Just for your information: we have several types of rooms on the first floor and on the other floors from the single rooms to the suites but no one of them have two bathrooms. We have some Junior Suites in which you find a bathroom and separate toilet. For those guest who don't have safety deposit box in their room we recommend to use the safe service at the Reception (both are free of charge and available 24/7).
I hope you'll return soon to us.
With best regards
Béla Csapó
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

We had stayed for 4 days, the hotel is two subway stops from the center of the city (from the hotel to the center on foot is about 40 minutes). unfortunately my boyfriend got sick and we ordered by phone (like written in the brochure of the hotel) a free heater for having a cup of hot tea.. the man on the phone answered in a very rude way : "sorry we're too busy " he did hang off the phone... the room was nothing special.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Martina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay in our hotel. We are awfully sorry if you had this bad experience with us. I absolutely agree that this answer from one of our staff is unacceptable, telling the truth it never happened here before. That's why it would be a great help for us if you could give us some more information: when and where have you called regarding your request. It would help us to avoid such kind of very uncomfortable situation. Your opinion is important to us and I would be very grateful if you could give me more details about the thing happened. It would enable us to improve our services as well.
With best regards
Béla Csapó
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Busy hotel that looks a little tired. We were put in a smoking room by mistake but survived with the windows open. Small clean suite, comfortable bed and all the facilities you would expect. Good service that lacked the personal touch. Location was close to most things we needed to see - right next to the fabulous Keleti Railway Stations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay in our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you were mostly satisfied with us.
Please return to us soon to us.
With best ergards
Béla Csapó
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We expected much more of the Best Western 4* but it turned out to be our most dissapointing hotel staying. In spite of the fact that the street is outlined with beautiful buildings, the neighborhood looked absolutely depressing due to the trash which was everywhere and was never cleaned up. The hotel corridors and elevators smell bad. The only facility that we could enjoy in our room was the teapot and a couple of tea-bags. The bathroom badly needed improvements.The WiFi was rather slow with a rather complicated access. The room was quite spacious, but looked really worn-out. The most ridiculous thing about it was the remote TV control which was wired to a heavy metal ball placed next to the outdated TV - evidently so that not to be stolen by guests ;-))).
And what was absolutely disgusting it was the staff attitude! Though we had paid for the room immediately upon booking it online, while checking in we were told (not asked but TOLD IN THE IMPERATIVE!) to leave a €50 deposit which we were supposed to get back when checking out. We were a bit puzzled as we had never ever faced such a requirement before but left the money anyway. When checking out, I expected the receptionist to give our money back but he suddenly stopped understanding my English and pretended that had no idea what I was talking about. In the end, he gave the €50 back just after my husband interfered. When doing that he made some comments in the Hungarian language addressing his colleague which, of course, we were not able to understand but anyway it sounded resentful, rude and non-professional. All in all, I don't recommend Best Western Budapest to anyone!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Irina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for commenting regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
I sincerely regret that you were told and not asked to give us some guarantee for the possible incidental charges in harmony with our credit policy. There should have been some communication problems at the check-out as well: please be sure that we didn't want to keep your deposit left if you hadn't got anything to pay. I do apologize for that uncomfortable situation and I can ensure you that we don't want to cheat anybody and we never want to be rude or unpolite with our distinguished guests.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Sincerely,
Bela Csapo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed (couple) at the hotel for 4 nights, staff is very polite and helpful. Rooms are clean, though not much of a variety of food options at breakfast but it tasty anyway.Location is great, a metro station is on the other side of the road. Recommended!

1  Thank IlyaChe
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Thank you for your comment regarding your stay in our hotel.
We were happay to receive your positive opinion.
We are waiting for your next visit.
With best regards
Béla Csapó
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 9 nights from Oct 11th to Oct 20th Oct 2013 with a group of 30 people.Each one of us was disappointed.The room had practically no air conditioning & was so warm that we had to open the windows to sleep.The house keeping was below average .The carpets were dirty & the hotel looked dated & worn out.The Staff were courteous .The food at the breakfast & lunch buffet was repetitive but the service was efficient.The hotel is walking distance from Keleti(East Station) which is its biggest advantage.However the neighborhood is shady.Arena mall is also walking distance from the hotel .This mall has good stores,Starbucks & IMAX. The hotel is relatively far from the Danube (roughly 25 to 30 min walk) & the main walking shopping street as well as from the tourist spots of Castle hill etc.The hotel seems popular with group tourist .If I visit Budapest again I will not stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main street or else the loud ambulance sirens will keep you awake the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank drkaditya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BelaCsapo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for commenting regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Yours sincerely,
Bela Csapo
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Zugló
Danubius Hotel Arena
Danubius Hotel Arena
#112 of 336 in Budapest
1,717 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#119 of 336 in Budapest
603 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
#70 of 336 in Budapest
2,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Danubius Hotel Helia
#68 of 336 in Budapest
2,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hungaria City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hungaria City Center

Address: Rakoczi ut 90, Budapest 1074, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria)
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £32 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hungaria City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hungaria City Center – with an illustrious history stretching beyond 100 years – is renowned for the high standard of its services and its excellent location. The hotel is an ideal base both for tourists and business visitors, with Budapest’s main attractions within easy reach on the M2 and M4 metro lines or by bus from just outside the hotel, and Keleti train station just a few minutes’ walk away. With large and flexible meeting rooms, it is a popular conference venue, and regularly hosts events for up to several hundred guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Hungaria City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hungaria
Best Western Budapest
Budapest Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing