We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hungaria City Center
Ranked #129 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 21 April 2010

Stayed in this hotel for a weekend. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel is not too far from a large shopping centre and close to a Metro stop so great location. The breakfast was really good and a there was a wide variety of options to choose from. There are also restaurants in the hotel if you want to get dinner. Staff are friendly and helpful. Only real gripe was that the bar in the lobby was very very expensive. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay again considering it was great value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnyTipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,089 - 1,095 of 2,386 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2010

We only stayed here because of it's proximity to the Budapest Eat Train Station but it was really fun. Nice coffee, good breakfast -extensive European style and very comfortable rooms. I think they may have refurbished as our rooms were very red and white! General 3 star amenities. No fuss and no problems. Next time I'd probably stay somewhere more upscale - near the shops although this wasnt far...but this was fine. The shop in the lobby was great value - it sold all the traditional Hungarian souvenirs but quality items for good prices!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiraBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Just returned from the Best Western Hungaria where I stayed with a group of friends for a long weekend in Budapest. The hotel was pretty much exactly as you would expect from this chain and served our purposes exactly. The rooms were clean and the staff friendly and knowledgeable. The location was ideal being close to transport links and "central" areas of Budapest. The breakfast buffet was excellent with an enormous choice (including chilli !). The rooms had mini-bars but strangely no tea or coffee despite the presence of a kettle and cups! Didn't use the restaurant so can't comment but have no reason to suspect that it wouldn't be fine. Good price ....Just what we needed.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandDMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

This Hotel was perfect to suit our needs and so cheap for what you get

The reception staff were a pleaseant, knowlegble about the area and keen to assist. We were especially glad when they offered early check in at 10:00 following a long train ride overnight.

Free WiFI which is always a bonus worked well (typing this review on it now!)

The room was clean spacious and had a great view of the station and streets

In short definatly worth the 4 star rating

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NauticatUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

This hotel was nice enough for what we were looking for. It was close to public transit and the rooms were comfortable and clean. One of the best things about this hotel was the breakfast buffet. They had just about everything you could want. We had dinner in the hotel also which was very good. As far as that we spent the rest of our time outside our hotel. 2 suggestions about traveling to Budapest 1. try to go when they have their Christmas festival 2. GO TO THE BATHS. They were great after a long day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Stayed for 4 nights as from 2nd December.
Liked the locatio, the clean&comfortable room, the atitude of the stuff and especialy the very good breakfest ! Worth to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pazitush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2009

Our group consisted of 8 adults. It is not a super luxury hotel. It was clean, the guest staff were courteous and helpful. The breakfast was included in our package an was very very good. Plenty of choices. The breakfast dining area was spotless. It is convenient to public transit. If you walk to the Danube its about 30 minutes. It can get noisy if your room is on the street side. The hotel restaurant was excellent. Good food, great service.

If you are expecting $500-$600 a night accommodations, this isn't it. I thought it was a marvelous place. Make sure you take in the thermal baths. Bring a bathing suit, and take a towel from your hotel room as the towel you rent at the spa won't do the trick.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DriftwoodB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Zugló
Danubius Hotel Arena
Danubius Hotel Arena
#113 of 336 in Budapest
1,638 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#118 of 336 in Budapest
597 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
Hotel Erzsebet City Center
#72 of 336 in Budapest
2,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Danubius Hotel Helia
#69 of 336 in Budapest
2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hungaria City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hungaria City Center

Address: Rakoczi ut 90, Budapest 1074, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria)
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £31 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hungaria City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hungaria City Center – with an illustrious history stretching beyond 100 years – is renowned for the high standard of its services and its excellent location. The hotel is an ideal base both for tourists and business visitors, with Budapest’s main attractions within easy reach on the M2 and M4 metro lines or by bus from just outside the hotel, and Keleti train station just a few minutes’ walk away. With large and flexible meeting rooms, it is a popular conference venue, and regularly hosts events for up to several hundred guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hungaria City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hungaria
Best Western Budapest
Budapest Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing