We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid Best Western Hungaria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hungaria City Center
Ranked #133 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 18 July 2010

I use Best Western from my time to time when travelling in Central Europe.
Recently stayed in Best Western Hungaria and must express my disatisfaction most specially with the unfriendly service provided at the bar, reception, etc. and the state of the facilities.
The hotel boasts a 4 stars rating but it does not deserve it because:
a. rooms are in poor shape
b. quality of cleaning is really bad
c. breakfast is plain horrible.
d. customer service is non existent. Was treated during my stay like a tourist that had paid a cheap "3 day Budapest package".
My previous experiences with Best Western had been good but this last was so bad that I am certainly switching my business to another hotel chain.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank capur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

944 - 950 of 2,106 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2010

Awful hotel in a sketchy area near the railroad station. Grumpy doormen will yell at you if you put your feet on their 1970s Archie Bunker furniture. What a joke. This communist-era building, like most of Pest, needs to be torn down. Lots of crime in the area including a prositute outside the hotel's front door who asked me for sex 3 times in 2 nights. Stay away from this dump.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank louishar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Myself and a friend stayed at the Best Western Hotel Hungaria for four nights in late June. The location of the hotel is first class as it is near bus stops and the metro. It is also near the railway station and as a result the neighbourhood attracts alot of undesirables.

The staff in the hotel were most helpful. They were happy to give advice about good restaurants etc. The advice was always good. At breakfast a hugh variety of very good food was provided.

The hotel is very big but the rooms are very good but did lack a mini-bar and tea or coffee making facilities. Room service was excellent.

Overall we were happy with our stay and found it very good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IStephano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night with by bf in end of May. We wanted the hotel next to the central railway station, and this hotel was perfect for that.

It's a bit far from the center, but the double-decker tourist bus stops right in front of the hotel.
Make sure you sign up for Best Western Rewards membership - you get miles or bonus points for your stay, and on our arrival we were allowed to have early check-in and a bigger room (2 room suite actually) for free just because I was a member of Best Western rewards!
Hotel staff was very friendly. The lobby was full of people all the time, but that didn't bother us as we didn't go there to stay in the hotel. Perhaps its not the best place for family with kids, but for us it was just right.
Room was spacious and clean! We got a corner suite with 2 rooms - living room and bedroom. The rooms had this Soviet Union vibe, but were ok for 1 night. TV had German, English, Italian and Spanish channels. And in our suite we had one TV in each room.
Breakfast was great! Lots of hot and cold dishes, I think it would satisfy any customer. Not sure how good the restaurant is, we decided to go out to the bar around the corner to watch the WC game (hotel restaurant didnt have TV).

All in all a very nice stay, I would def recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alinochka20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Anything special but an average hotel with no problems. Its location is super, near to railway, bus, subway.
Otilla at Reception was very helpful.
Good service, great value.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
Thank anitaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We have stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We were impressed by the personel especially the Front Desk staff were very helpful and polite. The Housekeeping ladies don't speak any languages but they are also nice and friendly.
The breakfast is huge and the the room was comfortable.
We were afraid first of this giant hotel, but the staff make it a good 4 star hotel.
I suggest it to everybody

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leonard5535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Check what you pay for at this very average hotel in a poor location. I can deal with the 2 star quality and the poor location but add to the mix the miserable, surly front desk staff and things deterioate rapidly. Apparently they run a bizzare booking policy of charging your card when you book direct, then re-crediting your card and charging once again on check-out. This was explained to me by a surley female receptionist who was obviously looking for an arguement, it's confusing, once we didn't have breakfast inculded, then we received an apology and had breakfast included, then again we didn't, then upon checkout I was lectured to by the surley female, who was obvioulsy having a bad day, regarding their policy or charging, crediting and re-charging credit cards, god knows what we paid for but whatever it is it was not worth it. We could not get away fast enough.
Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank allanmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternHungaria, Front Office Manager at Hotel Hungaria City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2010

Dear Sir,

Let me start by thanking you for writing about your experiences at Best Western Hotel Hungaria.

I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying.

However, I would need more detailed information in order to find out what exactly happened and to whom you exactly talked to. (your name, date of arrival and departure)

You can be definitely sure that you have not been charged more than the roomrate declared on the Internet sites.

Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

Your sincerelly,

Gabor Erdos
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Danubius Hotel Arena
#116 of 334 in Budapest
1,407 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Baross City Hotel
Baross City Hotel
#125 of 334 in Budapest
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
#135 of 334 in Budapest
876 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
#63 of 334 in Budapest
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hungaria City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hungaria City Center

Address: Rakoczi ut 90, Budapest 1074, Hungary (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Hungaria)
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#88 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £36 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Hungaria City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hungaria City Center – with an illustrious history stretching beyond 100 years – is renowned for the high standard of its services and its excellent location. The hotel is an ideal base both for tourists and business visitors, with Budapest’s main attractions within easy reach on the M2 and M4 metro lines or by bus from just outside the hotel, and Keleti train station just a few minutes’ walk away. With large and flexible meeting rooms, it is a popular conference venue, and regularly hosts events for up to several hundred guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Hungaria City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hungaria
Best Western Budapest
Budapest Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing